We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
119
217
122
77
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
217
122
77
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air france main building a bit overpriced our room was spacious nice toiletries mobility issues hotel is lovely very nice experience private beach nice pool breakfast buffet is ti punch lovely beach nice view gosier french guadeloupe
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The Auberge de la Vieille Tour is an older property but kept up fairly well. It was built on a former sugar mill and the mill’s tower is included in the main building (there must be great views from the tower however it is used exclusively for hotel offices and guests cannot go up). The property consists of several low building spilling down a hillside to their beach and pool. A breakfast buffet is included but it is unremarkable. Dinners are good but a bit overpriced. We had a wonderful stay and didn’t see a better hotel on the island. The Air France crews stay here. One caution, there are a lot of steps and steep paths. This is not a location for those with mobility issues.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVT971, Directeur général at Auberge de la Vieille Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

dear Customer
All the team thanks you for expressing us your opinion. Placed on one cliff, the access to the beach is possible by the staircase but you have the possibility of reaching it by paths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Stayed there for a night, for business.
Received a warm welcome from the staff at the front desk, and check-in was quick.

The room itself is quite basic, by Guadeloupe's standards, this is a four stars hotel, but in many places, it would more likely be a three stars.

Breakfast is OK, with average food, but a stunning view of the sea

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVT971, Directeur général at Auberge de la Vieille Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you for expressing us your opinion .the classification of the hotel is for the French standards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

A classic old resort by all outward appearances, Auberge is actually rather tired and did not meet our standards for room comfort or dining. The shower leaked and caused puddles on the bathroom floor that worked their way into the bedroom. We were told it was the result of settling and couldn’t be fixed. And there are a lot of stairs down to the rooms (we had three flights) and back up to the main reception. The pool is ancient and we didn’t find it appealing. As for dining, do not eat dinner at the restaurant. We dined twice there and that was two times too many. Oddly, however, Room service is unexpectedly good. We gave this 3 circles because the staff was great and tried hard to satisfy, the breakfast was excellent and the view was very nice. It is convenient to the airport, too.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank oulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVT971, Directeur général at Auberge de la Vieille Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018


dear customer
We are sorry not to have known how to answer your wait
The cooking of the head is crossed from fresh products. Your opinion interests us because we watch to propose delicious dishes to our customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night, courtesy of Air France, as my onward flight got cancelled. Beautiful place! Very friendly staff, good food, pool, gorgeous beach, nice pool, big spacious room (suite?) facing the sea. If I ever come this way again, I would like to stay again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Ann_CatherineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVT971, Directeur général at Auberge de la Vieille Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Customer,

It is a pleasure to welcome you and to make you spend a pleasant stay
The whole team thank you for your opinion we will be happy to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

There are not a lot of good options for Guadeloupe so that hotel remains a good option .
Although you can see that the time passed and they have the same style like decades before .
All rooms have a sea view and the restaurant is small with a limited menu card . The private beach is nice with sun beds but not a lot of sun umbrellas. The swimming pool clean but no glam.
If you want some peaceful days it's ok but there is no ambient in this hotel .
Rooms are ok , clean and some have a Nespresso coffee machine.All have balconies but you can see that the rooms are little bit old fashioned .
If you can't speak French ,like all over the island it will be difficult for your detailed communication.
Reception tries it's best .
If you want to travel to Guadeloupe it's a good choice , even if it's a bit overpriced. But if you want to avoid bad surprises according to your taste and perception of vacation then just look for another island .

Date of stay: February 2018
2  Thank GEORGEinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVT971, Directeur général at Auberge de la Vieille Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018


Dear Customer

thank your for an accurate opinion of your stay
Our hotel receive a lot of business clientele and leisure clientele often comes this rest, so twice a week we propose two musical animation. However around the hotel there is a casino, bars with animation and a jazz cabaret. This is a charming hotel of crèole type rather quiet and discreet. There are all places on the islands of Guadeloupe that offer animation every night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews