We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mountview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
US$ 219
US$ 128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 213
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$ 208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Craiglynne Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 121
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ben Mhor Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Arms Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Garth Hotel & Restaurant(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balciuin B&B(Nethy Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
28
14
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
14
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird watchingcooked to perfectionmini busesgood selection of winesbird speciesguided birdingsoufflefamily homemountain haresurrounding area ispacked lunchbirdwatchersbreakloungescotlandcomfortsnow
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Had a meal for 4 on Saturday night. We are from the city and it's difficult enough to find top quality food and service there like we found here at the Mountview. The staff are highly trained and the food was truly exceptional. I would highly recommend trying this place out for food!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank katherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We booked The Mountview Hotel for a special occasion and could not have been more pleased with the service we received. No question was too much bother when booking. Upon arrival we were shown into a gorgeous warm lounge and sat beside an open fire enjoying our drinks and perusing the menu. Our three courses were delicious. Would particularly recommend the scallops for starter and the vegetarian lasagna for main. After dessert, the staff surprised the bday girl with a rendition of happy birthday and a beautifully decorated dish with small chocolates and tablet. As if that wasn't enough, the hotel arranged for a staff member to drive us all home in the hotel minibus to save us having to book a taxi from another village. It really was 5* service and we will be recommending it to everyone we know who will be visiting this area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This hotel could not be better situated, on a small rise not far from the little village of Nethy Bridge. It is small to medium size but the staff and ambiance make up more than enough.All of the rooms are en-suite, comfortable and very quiet. There is a small bar for any drinks, only bottled beer but a good selection of wines and spirits including many of the local single malts. The drinks are all extra to the cost and can be quite expensive but most people may only have a couple at the most.
The food is of an excellent quality from multi choice breakfast to the sumptuous dinners, the dinners are also multi choice.Much of the food is locally sourced and is prepared and cooked to perfection.
Any visitors either birdwatchers ,hotel guests or diners, I am sure really enjoy their stay at the Mountview, as many of the guests have been visiting year after year.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor at the front enjoy the best views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlanTheWalkingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

I visited the restaurant of this Hotel with relations who live in the lovely village of Nethy Bridge. It is only a five minute walk out of the village and sitting on a hill commands a panoramic view of the lovely countryside of the area. There is plenty of parking for those who travel to it. We had booked an evening meal as the Hotel can be very busy as it is a favourite stopover for the bird watching fraternity. It is a lovely local stone built building, with the welcoming appeal of a family home. Very clean and cosy and tastefully decorated we had pre dinner drinks in a lovely bright lounge area with views overlooking the mountains and glen. .A good selection of wines, spirits or bottled beers, some local brews, settled us in to a very friendly ambience and we selected our food from a good sized menu of mainly Scottish fayre and local produce. The meal was excellent. Cheese souffles were mouth watering starters, and as mains we ordered fish pie for two of us and rump steak was the other order. Well the fish pies were tasty and fulsome but I was a bit in awe of the handsome thick rump steak presented to my brother in law. Product of a local farm it was cooked to perfection and tender, juicy and lovely texture of quality beef. I know this because I demanded a taste, it looked so so good (and was). We finished off with desserts and coffee/teas. Top quality fayre in lovely surroundings and with very friendly and efficient service a visit here is to be recommended.
As a Hotel a stay here would appeal to me as it seems to be a perfect base to enjoy the outdoor activities of this wonderful area. The residents we observed certainly seemed to be thoroughly enjoying their stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommak2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is often busy hosting those on bird watching holidays. We attended a three day, four night, bird watching holiday. For a number of reasons it was excellent and deserves five stars. First of all, the hotel is open for visitors other than those attending bird watching holidays and the restaurant is certainly open to anyone wishing to dine there. I must try to keep this review focusing on the hotel as not all will stay for the same reason as I. The hotel is in a beautiful part of Scotland and sits on the top of a small hill, giving it panoramic views over the surrounding area. The rooms in the hotel are nice and comfortable, some, including ours, have excellent views. If you book in advance, ask for a room with a view over the front of the hotel towards Aviemore. Some smaller rooms are in the attic, so headroom can be a little restricted. The TV in our room was quite small, but you really don't go to Nethy Bridge to watch television! The surrounding area is excellent for walking, running, cycling, photography, skiing, camping... the list is endless! The nearest town with a supermarket is Aviemore, approximately a 15 minute drive away. The nearest local shop is a small but well stocked Spar shop, 5 minutes walk away in Nethy Bridge village centre. If you love the outdoors, you will thoroughly enjoy this area and the hotel is perfectly located. Nice food too. The bird watching holiday was first class, but this is a hotel review.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SgtCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews