We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !”
Review of The Down Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Down Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great !”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Yes we have just returned from our Christmas party this has been the 4th year there and it
just gets better. It has become so popular with us that this year we had 3 seperate parties on
three days and already people are booking for next year. Food great, staff lovely, atmosphere
perfect. The entertainer Paul Birch was the icing on the cake
Haven't actually stayed in hotel but I'm sure its very nice

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudleyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    64
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
104
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Superb food and efficient staff helped make an 80th birthday party for 40 including several small children, a memorable day. The staff were very helpful in making things happen exactly as we planned, serving drinks at the tables for the wines but ready poured for the champagne, rustling up a knife for the birthday cake and a lighter for the candles and even wrapping the remnants of the cake in cling-film for us to take away. I would certainly recommend The Down and hope to use it again for any similar function we plan.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanberis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The word 'Inn' denotes Traditional Hospitality and never was it more apt than at The Down Inn, Bridgnorth. From the moment we walked in to the bar area and was greeted with a genuinely warm welcome to the time we left two days later, we were made to feel like royalty by all concerned. As very weary travellers making our way home to Snowdonia from the south of England, having attended the funeral of a very dear friend, it is impossible to relay how much this was appreciated.
a) The staff were wonderfully accommodating.
b) Our room was absolutely beautiful, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
c) The food, at the risk of seeming disingenuous, was delicious. Top quality produce, plentiful and most reasonably priced, all served with a friendly smile.
Being in the trade ourselves we feel suitably qualified to recommend The Down Inn to anyone seeking both quality AND value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celtiaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We held our wedding reception here and i have to say it was the best decision we made.The staff were great on the day and could not do enough for us.Our small party of 30 all commented on the fantastic venue and how good the staff were.The food was excellent and the chef even catered for 2 special requests at short notice on the day. The accomodation was great and good value.The breakfast was just as good as the food we had the night before.I really can not speak highly enough of The Down and would recommend it to everyone.
Thank you to all the staff who worked hard on the day to make it special for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviejay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stayed here with a group of family, we basically booked the hotel for the weekend for a special occasion.
The website looked a bit dull when I looked, but I was very very very very happy with everything.
Check in was smooth with a warm welcome and we all settled in,
The rooms main rooms were large and spacious with a very comfortable bed. Rooms also came with a kettle and plenty of refreshments. Some things didn't work as well as they could have, but that was only a light and there were others, and the tv have a little extra noise coming not coming from the programme, weird motor thing!
The free wireless wasn't working completely while we were there, but you could sit in the hall to get a feed so we weren't prevented from using it, and I believe it is being fixed this week.
Bathrooms have towels and toiletries provided and have baths, not just showers, they are a little small but do the job!
The pub itself is a classic. The food is wonderful according to the family, but for me as a vegetarian there wasn't wide range which would be nice, although I do understand profit margins! I also trust that it is good quality beer!
The pub is about 5 minutes drive from Bridgnorth which is also a lovely place.
I cannot recommend this place as much as I'd like too, but it is certainly safe to say, I loved my stay, as did the rest of the family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
8.9 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.0 km away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 29 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.8 km away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
The Coach House, Bridgnorth
#7 of 29 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.9 km away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 29 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
4.7 km away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Down Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Down Inn

Property: The Down Inn
Address: The Down | Ludlow Road, Bridgnorth WV16 6UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,529 - ₹ 7,886
Hotel Class:4 star — The Down Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Down Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Down Hotel Bridgnorth
The Down Inn Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing