We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Nearby Hotels
The Broadoak Hotel(Ashton-under-Lyne)
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne(Ashton-under-Lyne)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Barton Villa(Dukinfield)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 64
US$ 61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 85
US$ 77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Victoria Hotel(Chadderton)
US$ 58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
247Hotel(Oldham)
US$ 54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,031)
Filter reviews
2,031 results
Traveller rating
687
701
369
170
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
701
369
170
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper deckleisure facilitiesleisure parkparty nightsky tvnice hotelclub roomtram stopgreat facilitieswet roomwalk in showersteam roomthe vervebusiness tripvictory pubwould stay againcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,890 - 1,895 of 2,031 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The crazy, stripey decor is suddenly beginning to look dated and is anything but relaxing. The food was poor, especially if you are even vaguely trying to be healthy. The beds look uninviting with very small pillows and a dog eared Village chain magazine thrown on them for you to read. (When I saw it I thought that somebody must have been using my room already). The bathrooms only offer an all in one body and hair wash so unless you want your hair to look like straw - take your own. The air coditioning is noisy and inefficient and you can't leave the window open because of the noise from the motorway. The only thing to recommend it were the staff. They are friendly, efficient and trying very hard under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the fron and on the left hand side as you look at the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bishybarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this hotel in April 2012. We arrived 90mins too early however the helpful front of house staff were happy to let us have our room straight away.
Really impressed with the main foyer, Bar, Verve Grill, Starbucks and entrance to Gym all easily accessible from here.
Our room on the 2nd floor was 'compact and bijou'(please excuse my spelling), which we didn't mind other than we had no wardrobes, cupboards or drawers! One open rail and the head board which helpfully had to double as a shelf. Not the end of the world really but a few drawers at least please? Although we generally prefer a bath the walk in wet room shower was very good.
This weekend was exceptionally busy as there were the usual Friday / Saturday night events + the Grand National event and a youth rugby tournament all impacting, which on the whole, the Hotel I felt coped well. We managed to enjoy the Gym and the use of the Pool, spa steam and sauna. The pool was a good size with relaxing sun beds for use. Of course the steam and sauna rooms were not massive but did the job. The Gym was particular big and very well equipped, very impressed, if I lived around here this would certainly be my regular Gym.
As this was a vist to see various family we only used the Verve Grill for our two breakfast mornings. The good news is that the food was very good, everything you want from a fully equipped buffet breakfast, however the staff on both mornings seemed over stretched. There needed someone in control to oversee what was going on, our second breakfast we were shown to our table and never had further contact with anyone. We eventually chased someone down to deliver a pot of tea - not too much to do as everything else is self service.
Would we come back - yes, I think the vibrant style associated with this hotel along with the many activities on offer make this a great choice - I will be optimistic that staffing issues will improve for our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterW092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I booked in on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal this weekend. We arrived and thought it looked fantastic, and the staff on reception were very helpful and we were looking forward to a very nice stay. We first used the leisure facilities which are brilliant, nice big steam room and sauna but found the jaccuzzi a bit lame and wimpy to be honest. The changing rooms are very good, if a little confusing as every corner looks exactly the same but are very smart.

We next went to the bar area where we had some drinks and asked about local entertainment. The lad behind the bar was very helpful and we opted to stay in the hotel for the evening as we had already booked the meal for 8:30pm. We arrived at the Verve restaurant promptly at 8:30 only to be told that there were no free tables and they would need to clear some (despite us being able to see at least 5 empty laid tables, We returned 20 minutes later to be told that they still weren't ready so had another 10 minutes wait in the lobby area, the same empty tables were still empty at this point so we weren't very happy. When we finally got in there wasn't a great choice for Vegetarians, however the waiter was very helpful and advised of another dish the kitchen could put together. My wife ordered the mushrooms only to be told they would have to use different mushrooms that were served on a bread based as the ones they use had run out. When this arrived it was the most ridiculously tiny starter we had ever seen. 3 very small mushrooms with garlic and breadcrumbs on a huge 14" plate, with no bread base. I ordered the salmon fishcake which I was very pleased with and had goats cheese salad while my wife had the veggie pasta meal they had prepared. Both were very average, Desert was cheesecake - a very no-nonsense affair served with little more than the waiter's good grace (he was fantastic).

After our meal we went back to the bar for drinks and liquour coffees, very nice but took 10 minutes to make.

when we returned to the room we noticed a smell in the air and tracked it down to a wet patch next to the bed, which had quite clearly been recently vomited on and cleaned. It was a little late by this time and we didn't want to cause a fuss so we just covered it with a towel and did our best to try and ignore it. The night was quite noisy, we were placed next to a lift with a banging door, just the luck of the draw I guess. My only other complaint about noise was the buzzing from the light control unit next to the bed. The face plate was also coming away from the wall which I thought was a bit tatty.

Morning came, and I had a look at the menu for the food we had and have to say I was seriously shocked at the prices they are asking for what we were served. The meal I had I would value at roughly £12- £15. It was sub-standard, nothing special and messily put together, yet would have cost nearly £30 each if we had paid full price.

Then we went down to breakfast. You guessed it - more waiting for a table despite plenty of empty ones on view. When we were finally let in we were pointed to a table, not offered coffee, asked if we had ate there before or told the breakfast situation. As we looked dumbly around we saw the buffet tables and went first for the toast. The toaster machine takes on average 3-4 attempts to toast the bread, warming it a little each time, so there ends up with quite a queue for this. I then went to look for some jam. If you're staying at this hotel I hope you like apricot jam, because they have buckets of the stuff and nothing else. We didn't have any of the danish pastries but went for the cooked breakfast buffet. There were only a small number of serving spoons here and the same spoons and ladles were being used for both black pudding, sausage and bacon and then going into the vegetarian dishes with eggs, sauteed potatoes etc - we had to ask for another ladle and then pick out the bits of black pudding from the food, Also half the salt and pepper pots don't work. We ended up leaving it and sat down to flag a member of staff to ask for our coffee which should have been offered when we arrived. We then tried to add milk - the milk jug on our table was also empty. Any of these things on their own we would overlook with a smile, but after a while it becomes a real annoyance, so we left an went to Starbucks. Checking out was easy and no fuss.

All in all, the venue is superb in appearance but some of the staff need a lot more training, the restaurant needs to run smoother and the food needs drastically improving from its current below Wetherspoon standard. All in all, what could have been a very nice night away ended up being a bit of a disappointment, and I'm still trying to get rid of the smell of vomit lingering in my nostrils.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aisforandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamsVAM, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Ashton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at De Vere Village Manchester Ashton. I am very sorry to hear of your dissapointment with the Verve Grill and I am keen to look into the matter further for you as I certainly don't want this to be your lasting impression of De Vere Village Manchester Ashton. We take all guest feedback very seriously here at the hotel as it is key to the sucess of delivering a great experience for our guests. If you could be so kind as to email me directly with the finer details of your stay I can certainly follow this up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Williams
Senior General Manager for De Vere Village Hotels
Tel: 0844 980 0017
Email: mark.williams@village-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have stayed in this hotel before and we had aways thought it to be a good hotel. Well, what a difference 12 months can make. We booked a one night special rate, dinner bed and breakfast that was incredible value for money. However that is the only good point about the hotel in 12 months it has changed beyond measure. The food in the restaraunt was of a very poor standard. Food was being returned at an alarming rate by fellow diners. As for the nights sleep it was constantly disturbed by drunk and rowdy guests slamming doors, shouting in corridors, our sleep was constantly disturbed until 5 am when the hotel finally fell quiet. Unsurprisingly the breakfast was of the same poor standard as the diner the previous evening.
Hard over cooked food and the continental choice consisted of stale and soggy pastries. A very dissapointing stay and a very dissapointing hotel that has gone down hill. Oh, there was a
very understanding and embarrassed receptionist who tried to made amends by offering a complimentary bottle of wine. Her proffesionalism and that of many of the staff is obviously holding this hotel together.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamsVAM, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Ashton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guset,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at De Vere Village Manchester Ashton. I'm very surprised to hear of you dissapointment of the food standards in Verve Grill, I have looked into this matter with our Head Chef and Restaurant Manger and they haven't had any meals returned to the kitchen from Diners throughout the month, may I ask that you contact myself directly in order for me to look into this matter further.

I am extremely sorry that you were disturbed during the night, we have had very busy weekends with up to two hundred and fifty residents staying in the hotel on any one night. Our guests stay at the hotel for many different reasons and at weekends it is often to celebrate an occassion. I can assure you that regular floor walks are carried out to ensure disturbance is kept to a minimal.

Thank you for your kind comments about the Jackie the receptionist you spoke with upon your departure and the staff you spoke with throughout your stay. If i can be of any further assistance please do contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Mark Williams
Senior General Manager for De Vere Village Hotels
Tel: 0844 980 0017
Email: mark.williams@village-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a review of the leisure facilities and the eating areas.
We have now been leisure club members since Nov 2011, we have found the gym to be an excellent standard with fantastic classes including the likes of Spin, Zumba, body pump and my personal favourite circuit training, anybody who is staying at the hotel can go on the classes.
The pool area is nicely kept with plenty of room in both the sauna and steam room.
We have eaten at both the Victory pub and the Verve restaurants and found them to be very pleasant experiances with a good choice on the menus.
All staff members have been very friendly from the moment we joined, Village Ashton should be very proud of the hard work they all do.
We will be staying overnight sometime later this year so will give a review of the accomadation then.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamsVAM, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Ashton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of the leisure club at De Vere Village Manchester Ashton.

It's great to hear a review from a leisure club member and also great to hear that you have enjoyed meals in the Victory Pub and the Verve Grill.

I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on the Lee Martin the leisure club manager and his team as I'm sure they will be delighted to hear them.

Kind Regards

Mark Williams
Senior General Manager
Village Hotels
Tel: 0844 980 0017
Email: mark.williams@village-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews