We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Comfortable Property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chloe's Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Heacham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ecr2014
Ripley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not bad, but not good either!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

On paper this bungalow would seem to be an ideal holiday rental for a family, or dog owner. However what the description doesn't tell you is that the only entrance to the lovely big conservatory is through the main bedroom -not convenient when you want to let dogs out early in the morning, and you aren't the one sleeping in the main bedroom! There is no door on the kitchen, so if that is where your dogs normally sleep, be prepared for them wandering the hallway! The mattresses in the smaller room are appalling, every spring digs in you. If you want to sit in the conservatory wait for a nice day because the heater doesn't work, and the electric fire in the living room is decorative only! It should have been nice, but was actually just a bit disappointing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Phone numbers of the caretaker, who is local, are provided should any problem arise so they can be dealt with during your stay.
Response to comments:
• If you want to let dogs out in the morning there is a side gate to the garden – sleeping guests do not need to be disturbed.
• A stair gate will be provided for the kitchen.
• We will check the mattresses again but have had no previous complaints.
• The heater fuse in the conservatory blew and has been replaced (the caretaker could have resolved this on the day if a call had been made).
• The electric fire was checked and confirmed as working prior to your arrival and is still working!
The cleaner took 6 hours to clean the property following your stay – usually a two hour job. The kitchen and windows (paw marks in particular) were awful. The rotting cabbage left in the kitchen was not appreciated – nor was the clearing of your dog’s mess from both gardens.
These matters have been reported to the holiday company who on the strength of this have decided to take a deposit in future from all guests.
We provide a feedback form for all guests. These comments are at odds with all of our previous guests comments which totals over 70 with many guests returning two or even three times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Comfortable Property”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely clean property. Very warm and comfortable. It was nice to have beds made and towels supplied! Owners had left milk in fridge and some chocolate shortcakes- such a nice touch, thank you. We were lucky to have such nice sunny weather, which made the lovely conservatory a nice place to sit and read! This Bungalow is also dog friendly, and our chocolate Labrador enjoyed her stay. We would certainly recommend this property to family and friends. Ann S

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite location, close to the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Glad that the little extras are appreciated,thank you for your kind response.
John and Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Superb very clean and modern well equipped and dog friendly in nice location ideal for Hunstanton and the surrounding area everything you could want a great Holiday was had will be back again Many Thanks Andy,Annette and Max the Dog

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was superb
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Your comments are very kind although we continue to try improving as we are only as good as our last review.
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanPrice...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really well appointed bungalow in a lovely village and ideal for West/North Norfolk discovery.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a Monday to Friday break at Chloe's retreat and can honesty say it exceeded our expectations.
A modest looking place from the outside but very well appointed within. Everything was clean and tidy, a nice little welcome of a box of chocolate fudge and some milk in the fridge. Excellent value.
We managed to convince our 13 & 11 year old daughters to walk to the beach, headed for south beach, 25 minutes later and we were having a hot chocolate in the Cafe there and nice stroll along to north beach and back home again.
We would recommend staying here with a small family, board games are available and plenty of seating with the lounge and the conservatory area.
Pubs, chip shop, curry house and Chinese all within walking distance, along with a Tesco metro just around the corner.
We managed to cram quite a lot in over our stay but I would highly recommend a trip to Wells-Next-Sea, what a great place, the sunshine helped but a lovely walk around the town and then out to the lifeboat launch at the start of the harbour inlet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thanks for your kind observations ,we will pass them on to our housekeeper .
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn s
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, clean, well appointed holiday bungalow, with everything provided you can possibly think of.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We went to Norfolk for a traditional family holiday with my two teenage children and two cocker spaniels. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful, the photographs of the bungalow do not do it justice. It was spotlessly clean and included everything you could possibly wish for. Every time I needed to make a query with the owner, it was dealt with very promptly and efficiently.

The bungalow itself was very well appointed, and was a walkable distance away from the beach, and the beach allowed dogs onto it at any time of the year, which is quite unusual in my experience. So my two dogs were in doggy heaven. The garden of the bungalow was totally secure, and my two escape artists could find no way out so it passed a very thorough test! This gave me plenty of peace of mind and made the holiday nice and relaxing because I didnt have to worry about what they were up to.

The kids aged 14 and 17 were both happy too. There were no less than 3 televisions in the bungalow, and my son took along a play station which kept him quiet! So there was no arguments about what they wanted to watch on the TV. There were plenty of board games which they took advantage of, books and dvds as well.

There were two local convenience stores which were within an easily walkable distance, which stocked everything we needed. There was also a very nice fish and chip shop too which we can highly recommend!

We visited Wells, Sherringham, Cromer and Hunstanton whilst we were on holiday. The bungalow was ideally located for us.

From my point of view, being the one who had to use the facilities in the kitchen, the pots and utensils were all lovely, and very clean. There were plenty provided. The microwave was very useful, and also the freezer was much bigger than what I am used to on a holiday usually it is just a box at the top of the fridge, this was a proper freezer, with plenty of room for storing enough for a family of four for a week. I cant think of anything which I needed which wasnt provided.

My husband really enjoyed relaxing in the conservatory which is the biggest one I have ever seen, it opens out onto the garden so we could sit there and just chill out with a lovely view, as the garden itself is lovely. I enjoyed taking my coffee up to the quiet corner and sitting at the table to do my cross word or read. It is very peaceful and was lovely just to chill out.

The bathroom, which I have read another review on, was again very clean. The shower itself had no pressure problems and was very powerful. There was no sign of any mould/mildew at all. Towels were provided which made for more space in the suitcases as I didnt have to pack any. Also bedding was included so that also saved space. The bedding was again lovely and very clean. They had even provided tea towels, like I said they had thought of everything.

I have been singing the praises of this bungalow to many family and friends, and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else. I will be booking to stay there again next year. We had a lovely week this year weather wise, but I am sure if the weather was bad we would have enjoyed it just as much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Very nice review, but it doesn't appear online .Could you please check. Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing