We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood but also good meat dishes”
Review of O Buraco

O Buraco
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Portonovo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Galician restaurant, premium seafood. Located in the port area of ​​Porto-Novo, Restaurante O Buraco is a loving, family atmosphere where you can enjoy home cooking, our 35 years opening can confirm this. Enjoy a Rice Risotto with Scallops and Lobster, spectacular!
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Good restaurants with pleasant service, worth a visit it also has a very nice view, note they open after nine

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Gerardthehague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We ate here last summer (3 times in ten days) and this year was the first place we went for lunch. (twice during our 6 day stay). Great menu, great food, delightful owner - nothing had changed. As always we ate on the terrace and had wonderful meals.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

As you might expect from a place just around the corner from the local fish market, this has superb seafood at reasonable prices. The house albarino is not a fancy wine, but bursting with flavour and a perfect accompaniment. Plus welcoming and efficient service. We tried most of the top rated places nearby and this was our favorite.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ianw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The best restaurant we used in Portonovo. Were attracted by other TA reviews and they were spot on.Park in the free parking at the port and walk to the roundabout, just across the road is O Buraco.
Being very close to the port the authentic smell of fresh seafood is right outside. Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Navajas, Zamburinas, Pulpo, Pimientos de Padron, MIxed salad was a great start - the razor clams were amazing so highly recommended if never tried these. The mains of sole, cod and hake were exceptional and cooked perfectly. My hake was the best I have had, including many times in other parts of Spain, and definitely returning for more before we head home. Local albarino wine to have with it - very important !
The freshest seafood and at very reasonable prices. Was €160 for 6 people including beers and wine. For amazing seafood, don't try anywhere else in Portonovo, go here first.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PieEater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teronacarballa, Director General at O Buraco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinion. Nos hace sentir muy valorados.esperamos su visita de nuevo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

This little restaurant is tucked away on the coast road and takes a little bit of finding, but it is well worth it. It is very much a family run place, and when we arrived quite early the staff were tucking into their lunch. Always a good sign when the staff eat on their own restaurant. Little English spoken but the staff, particularly the matriarch, were very helpful in explaining things to us. Seaford is a speciality here and there was a large display of fresh product as you entered including some great looking crab. I particularly enjoyed the octopus starter I had, but there is meat - my wife had an enormous steak. One thing I would say is that I think a lot of the dishes look expensive, but they are really designed to share between a group or family. Overall a really good place to eat and we really felt at home.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simont348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2017

Hi, many thanks for your review. We were pleased with your visit. If you come back to Portonovo we will be happy to see you again. You will be welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Buraco also viewed

Sanxenxo, Province of Pontevedra
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
 
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
Sanxenxo, Province of Pontevedra
 
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
Portonovo, Sanxenxo
 

Been to O Buraco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing