We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
60
61
16
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
61
16
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay here againlovely hotelbacon and eggsborderferrygardenfridgesurfers
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here on a cycling tour and would recommend it. It is very quirky but nice with its clear flooring on the upper floors(very unusual!) staff exceptionally helpful and keen to help when the translations were difficult. It was quite a walk into the town so we ate in the hotel restaurant, which was very good and reasonably priced, but quite limited and one of the few places that didn't offer a daily menu. It was also the same menu for lunch.
The room was small and basic but had everything we could need and was air conditioned. The window was very high so couldn't see out of it which was a shame.
The hotel boasts a swimming pool which was small but serviceable and VERY cold!
We didn't know we could get down to the beach across the road so a little information in
the room on what was around would be useful.
We caught the ferry to Santander which we would certainly recommend even if you just fancy a boat ride a return crossing was about 4€.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the last 2 nights of our holiday. The room was large and comfortable with a good supply of toiletries and necessities in the bathroom. The reception staff spoke English, although it was a little more difficult in the restaurant. On our first evening we followed the recommendation of the waiter, my husband wanted vegetarian and we managed to explain this and the meal was delicious. On the second evening we used our phone/wi-fi to translate the menu which we found most useful. The location is excellent, a short walk from the beach and the town.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Once disembarked from the ferry this hotel is a twenty minute car journey round the bay. Looks quaint from the outside but once inside you look up at glass mezzanine walkways to the rooms which is breathtaking. The reception was small but welcoming,the decor in Spanish style. Although some staff had difficulty in conversing they did their best and some translated via a mobile phone. The restaurant meals were good and above average. Bedrooms were ensuite clean and tidy we had one with a balcony. The hotel is situated on the edge of Somo village,it is about 200 metres to the beach via a track across the road,a little steep towards the end but a wonderful beach especially for surfing good clean sand and safe for children. Excellent hotel for 1 to 3 nights has its own outside swimming pool or use as a base for surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are popular
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mabel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Friendly efficient staff, clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast buffet. Relaxed atmosphere throughout hotel. Cafeteria offers good value snacks and drinks but restaurant menu lacked variety. Somo beach is first class and less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Cheap and frequent passenger ferry to Santander city. Good base to tour Cantabria.
Travelled with my wife in late August and enjoyed good (not too hot) weather. Highlight of the holiday was a trip to the Guggenhiem Museum in Bilbao which was only about 1 hour drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

They tell you it is a short walk through the woods to the beach. It is more like challenge to see if you a physically up to climbing over tree roots, jumping across holes in the trail and then when you think you are at the end of the trail. You are, it drops down so severely we couldn't go further and that is when we went back up and got in the car and drove to the beach. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are nice and being on the top of a hill you get a nice breeze and can sleep with your windows open. The staff is very friendly and polite. The breakfast as per usual in the hotels we stayed in was terrific. The US hotels could learn from them. There is a lovely pool in the back of the hotel. The food we had was, as per all the places we ate in Spain, very good. Service was a little slow but we weren't going anywhere after our meal.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DONTFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews