We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, well run.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torres de Somo
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Somo
Reviewed 11 August 2015

They tell you it is a short walk through the woods to the beach. It is more like challenge to see if you a physically up to climbing over tree roots, jumping across holes in the trail and then when you think you are at the end of the trail. You are, it drops down so severely we couldn't go further and that is when we went back up and got in the car and drove to the beach. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are nice and being on the top of a hill you get a nice breeze and can sleep with your windows open. The staff is very friendly and polite. The breakfast as per usual in the hotels we stayed in was terrific. The US hotels could learn from them. There is a lovely pool in the back of the hotel. The food we had was, as per all the places we ate in Spain, very good. Service was a little slow but we weren't going anywhere after our meal.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DONTFAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2014

Managed to get 2 nights here at short notice, after a nearby place had proved a disaster.
Very friendly staff, nice room, easy parking, quiet and a great breakfast.
Hotel also has a lovely covered conservatory where you can enjoy a glass of wine.
Would give the hotel 5 stars but, whilst it was not a problem for us, it is a good 20 minute walk out of Somo up a steep hill - this would clearly not suit everyone.
Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Can't think there's any problem as we were on the road side but traffic is very light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GasheadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torresdesomo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Torres de Somo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014

From the time we arrived until our departure, four weeks later, the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It would be invidious to single out any particular person since all the staff were welcoming and cheery, however the bar and restaurant staff went 'the extra mile' to provide a great experience. The kindness they showed to the disabled lady in our party was especially praiseworthy.
We spent a lot of time in the hotel, since we did not bring a car. The public areas were very comfortable and we were never made to feel 'in the way'. The bedrooms were comfortable, although the position of the mirror in one room and the rather unnecessary writing desk are minor criticisms. Mosquitos were a problem until we plugged in repellants. We slept much better after that. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day.
Meal times suited us perfectly, particularly the late breakfasts. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with a variety of cereals and fruits, and eggs were provided to order. We didn't have evening meals every night but when we did they were excellent, although the wine list was rather limited. The charming chef was happy to stray from the set menus and cook us meals to order (given notice); the paella he cooked for me was superb, and the tapas selection was amazing. The dining area is largely glazed and has views out into the back garden, and the glass doors are movable to allow plenty of air into the room.
The hotel is very popular with locals and it was great fun chatting to them, even when we had communications problems ! Although the hotel is located 'out of town' it is only a short walk into Somo (easier going downhill into town than back to the hotel !!). Although only a short distance away from the sandy beach, it needs the agility of a mountain goat to clamber down the dunes !!
Overall, a lovely holiday in a very Spanish part of the country, with plenty of lasting memories.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torresdesomo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Torres de Somo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We hope to see you next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for 26 nights June/July, Myself, Partner and Disabled Mum. We had such a wonderful time. The owner must be very proud to have such an efficient, loyal and friendly team working at the Hotel. It is a charming, small Hotel, extremely clean (the ladies work very hard) and lovely, quirky artefacts throughout the hotel. Everyone, without exception, were very kind and helpful to us. Good breakfasts with lovely lady serving us fresh orange juice each morning. She always remembered the little things, like a big plate and small cutlery for Mum. As well as a huge continental spread there is also fried/scrambled eggs and bacon if required. When the Hotel was busy we had to have breakfast in the basement Dining Room (a bit claustrophobic), which was not as nice as in the Restaurant itself where you can have the doors open, but that can't be helped. We had a very nice, relaxing stay and did not want to leave. The area itself is very hilly and I would say that it is impossible with a wheelchair to go out to the village (we had to leave Mum behind in the Hotel). But it is nice just to stay in the Hotel anyway.

Just a few constructive criticisms:-

I would like to see a better selection of White Wine. It was a case of "this one or this one" and they were cheap supermarket wines (3 euros) selling for 12 euros in the bar and 16 euros in the restaurant (there really should not be any difference in price from bar to restaurant and for that price, it should be better quality wine).

Also, the sunbeds around the pool are very uncomfortable and some mattress type covers should be provided to give a bit of padding (and some small plastic tables for personal belongings).

The beds in the rooms are still being made up with sheets and blankets, this is very old fashioned and a lot of back breaking work for the cleaning ladies tucking all the sides in, only for us to rip the whole lot out when we go to bed. Duvets/Continental Quilts is really the way to go.

I would suggest that the tiling on the outside bar area is replaced, as when wet, it is extremely slippery and dangerous, as I found to my cost when I fell over on them (and some staff had slipped and nearly fallen). In the meantime, when it rains a warning barrier should be put up to stop people walking on that area.

As I say, just a few constructive criticisms. If these few things were addressed it would make the Hotel just perfect.
This is one of the loveliest Hotels that I have stayed in. Nice gardens and peaceful surroundings. Thank you to all of the team for making our stay such a happy one and we certainly hope to visit you again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimmyLedZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torresdesomo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Torres de Somo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.
We hope to see you next summer.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

lovely hotel, very helpful and pleasant staff, good breakfast , bacon and eggs as well as continental breakfast,
I thought the restaurant food was good but not up to the price paid for it, we eat out mostly, plenty of places all around to eat.
wonderful spot to stay if you want to explore the northern coast area
and you like it away from the hustle and bustle of the big city Santander,

fantastic mountain zoo close by approx 30k/m called Parque de la Naturaleza de Cabárceno
worth a trip just for the views alone at the very top of the park.
and further away approx 75k/m a cable car ride up to the mountain top at Fuente de is fantastic

I liked the place, and we would go back again

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper and we moved rooms away from the lift not overly noisy but annoying to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somo
0.8 km away
Hotel Bemon Playa
Hotel Bemon Playa
#3 of 3 in Somo
96 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Estrella del Alemar
7.7 km away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#11 of 32 in Santander
855 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,268 reviews
17.3 km away
Gran Hotel Liber & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torres de Somo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torres de Somo

Address: Barrio Arna s/n, 39140 Somo, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Somo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Somo
Price Range: ₹ 5,886 - ₹ 7,567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torres de Somo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Torres de Somo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing