We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

Amazing place, lovely walk inside the walls. The village of Montagnana is a very interesting place... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2018
giuseppecincin
,
Rosyth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Well-preserved medieval walls

Beautiful walls from the 1300s which surround completely the little village. Worth visiting, in... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
marcellos375
,
Ferrara, Italy
Read all 413 reviews
  
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
256
141
15
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
141
15
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walls city village century restaurants veneto secret castle sunday duomo
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

When I came the first time over here I was so surprised to discover such a beautiful historical location.....and every time I come back I am always more impressed of what our ancient predecessors were able to built....my question is only one....why are not we able to keep and safeguard them with care and pride?

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank nutsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Massive city walls but sadly a little neglected. Walked around the inside and found the houses built into the walls very interesting. Impressive in pictures - take your camera! Well worth a visit if in the area and a sense of medieval history is your thing!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank HahnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We have visited this event taking place the 1st Sunday in September. We spent the whole day in a medieval environment, market, inhabitants, activities, etc
The city with its walls is the perfect place to make a jump into the past. After the market we have joined the Palio which lasted from 14.30 till 19.30, giving you the right time to relax, walk and get the ready for the "incendio" to commemorate when the city was taken. A must be!!!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Historic city with immense historic walls. Streets in very bad condition tough. Free city wifi network that actually works!!!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank stevevancompernolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

The walls of Montagnana were built after the fall of the Roman Empire to defend the city from various tribes of barbarians amongst whom the Longobards. The present walls date to Medieval times. They have 24 towers and four large gates. The entire complex is in pristine state of conservation and well worth a stop if you are visiting the region of Veneto. Montagnana lies near Padova and not far from Vicenza.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Luisella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews