We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
333
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
11
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

A place that we loved to be in, with unique atmosphere, typical Tuscany. For whom that wants to be in Tuscany and feel Tuscany can arrive to this place. And the most important and meaningful thing is Ousmane that mysteriously feels his guests and grant them what they need at that moment. His is a special man.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Palazzo Brandano is a true gem of a hotel, tucked into a charming small village in Tuscany. We had a wonderful three-night stay here recently. Based on the previous reviews we'd read, we were anticipating that it might be the highlight of our 2.5 week anniversary-and-birthday trip, and it was! Ousmane and Linda were gracious, warm and thoughtful and really strove to make everyone's stay as lovely as possible. They really outdid themselves with a special cake and bottle of wine for my birthday. Since it wasn't completely full while we were there, we received an upgrade to beautiful suite, as well. But I can tell you from seeing Ousmane entertain a toddler with tricks and hugs and "beijos", and hearing him greet a newlywed couple, that it is the philosophy of Palazzo Brandano to make each and every guest feel special.

If you want to stay close to "home", Palazzo Brandano is a comfortable place to relax and read, enjoy later afternoon tea or a drink, or just stroll around the village. If you need suggestions for an itinerary, they will gladly assist, making calls, reservations, etc. We had a car and took day trips to Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Sant'Antimo -- all about 30-40 minutes away. But at the end of the day, it was sheer delight to return to Brandano.

There are so many places on our travel wish list that we rarely visit the same place twice, but I am sure we will return to PB.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milgreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Ousmane and his staff, especially Linda, could not have been nicer and more helpful. They treated us like family and provided us with the warmest of welcomes. We didn't arrive back from an emergency trip to Rome until 2am, and Linda was up waiting for us. A kindness that was so appreciated.
The Palazzo is beautiful with spectacular rooms, views, gardens and meals. Upon arrival we were greated by the 3 tenors singing and an evening glass of wine on the terrace where we watched a magnificent sunset over the hills and olive groves of Tuscany. We enjoyed dinner at Palazzo Brandano which was gourmet and exquisitely prepared and served.
Petroio is a darling little town and, after being in Rome, Florence and Sienne, it was a welcome breath of fresh air and a pure Italian experience void of millions of tourists.
Ousmane told us of an Olive Festival in the neighboring town of Trequanda. We loved the festival where we met the local Italians selling olive oil and cheeses. Ousmane was happy to help us in every way.
I would return to Palazzo Brandano in a heart beat. I miss Ousmane and Linda and feel honored to have met them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Our story is so much like the others: We drove diagonally from the Rome airport through Tuscany, beginning along the coast road around noon, and by 5:00 (17:00) we had approached the end of our patience for hairpin turns taken at 30 kpm, and we still had miles to go as darkness fell. We had reservations at Palazzo Brandano, and now needed to find it. A sign for Petroio popped up, my wife (and navigator) said "turn," and we entered a road through a medieval city that rapidly narrowed to the width of our car (an Alfa Romeo Giulietta, by the way, which performed famously for a week!). At a loss, we forged ahead through the narrows, knowing we were on the right road and hoping to find the right house number. A light ahead, an open door: I rolled down my window to ask directions and an elegant Africa man said, "Mr. H.... ? Deliverance! He walked our car to a parking space, lugged our luggage (for a 2.5 month trip), and advised the kitchen to start cooking. Hospitality personified!

There is nothing new to say: superb food, expertly selected wine (name the price and Ourmane will find something delicious), thoughtful gestures and gifts (such as a bite to each in the living room while awaiting dinner). The palazzo is elegantly understated and comfortably furnished: you will be welcome and happy to sit or stretch out anywhere. Ousmane is a witty and worldly host, and a thoughtful and informed conversational partner (ask him about Senegal and the circumstances and prospects of Africa in the global system). He never intrudes but is always there.

The building and setting are from another age, and they will transport you there. Petroio is small, but the area around is great for walking and musing, and will put you in touch with earlier times and human experiences.

In sum, for a peaceful time, warm hospitality, and rejuvenation, a visit to Palazzo Brandano is beyond compare.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejhArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Florence airport for our dream vacation with pouring rain and a cold, windy day and was greeted at the hertz car rental place by a nasty rep who put me in tears. I just wanted to hop a plane back to America. Needless to say when we finally arrived through the rain to PB we were so upset and I just cried. Well Linda, an angel, immediately gave us a glass of wine and a platter of cheese and salami and bread. She just was so kind. The next morning we met Ousmane and what everyone has written about him is true. He realized that we were not going to do well driving around Tuscany so he became our personal tour guide for the next 2 days and planned wonderful things for us to do . He made our 4 cold not good weather days very special. If it wasn't for him I don't think we would have liked it as much. The room was very nice. The views beautiful. Thank you Ousmane, Linda and Lorena for your very kind hospitality. You really made us feel at home. Nancy and Richard

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nance725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews