We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
128
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza night olive oil san gimignano huge smile cipresso apartment park area chianti area family business tuscan countryside sitting room beautiful farmhouse nice pool the kitchen two weeks one bedroom apartment lisa wednesday
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We chose this beautiful place based on the evaluation on Tripadvisor. We have to agree with everything stated below in reviews.
Lisa and her nice family are very friendly and helpful. Accomodation is stylish and location of the house is in a beautiful and peaceful place.
Do not miss Welcome dinner and Pizza party!
Ales, Misa a Sara, Ciliegio, July 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shootat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed in Podere Casanova from June 15 to 25 with our 3 young children (ages 5, 3 and 1). It could not have been better. Booked it based on the fab reviews and the cute movies the owner Lisa placed on her Facebook page and was still very impressed!

We stayed in appartment Ginestra. Very clean, spacious, the kitchen well equipped. Nice bathroom. Ginestra is a fun appartment since it's located in its own little building. This adds to the privacy, which we are fond of. We BBQ'd often in the little private terrace with stone BBQ (which every appt. gets). The washer & dryer are situated right next to the appartment, which was nice.

The pool was simply amazing. Very beautiful. Great pool beds. Awesome view of Tuscan hills & many olive trees while splashing around. The kids loved it!

Podere Casanova also hosts a pizza party (which the kids LOVED!) and a welcome buffet.
Great food, great pizza! We loved the white wine, which is made of grapes of this farm.

Lisa and her family are really nice, friendly and thoughtful. Lisa was always happy to provide us with anything we asked/ needed and was super fun with the kids. She also was really helpful with questions about attractions, maps & transport.

If you travel with young kids, I'm sure they'll love the little playground, the hills to run around, the goats to look at.

The location could not be better. It's a gorgeous part of Tuscany, right in the heart of Chianti. Excellent location to have day trips.. We made (half) day trips to Pisa, Siena, San Giminano, Florence, St. Galgano abby. Montelupe, a nearby town, often has festivals.

This agriturismo is a true gem. Will definitely return one day.

Thank you Lisa & family for our wonderful stay! We loved meeting you and hope to see you all again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineInEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We loved our stay here. It is nestled in the chianti hills which is beautiful in its own right but also a great jumping off point for travel to numerous Tuscan towns. If you want to travel to Florence there is a quick drive to a tram with free parking. The tram is €1.20 and will drop you off right at the Florence train station.

I can't say enough about Lisa and her family that run the place. Just wonderfully nice people. They are helpful if you need anything including recommendations on what to do or where to eat.

They have a pizza party every few days which you should definitely stay for. Also don't skip drinking some of their homemade wine and eating their olive oil.

All of this for a great price. It is great for singles, couples, and travelers with kids. You can choose to stay and relax all day or use it as a home vase for Tuscan travel.

We had a great time and you will too.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Podere Casanova during a 3 week driving tour of Europe with our twin 3 year old boys. We had a fantastic time and it is a great place to stay for any family with children.

The directions they give you to reach Podere Casanova are good and it was one the the few places in Italy we didn't get lost trying to find! When we arrived Lisa was very friendly and went out of her way to be helpful - offering us a drink, giving us maps and recommendations. Our apartment was very clean and quiet. We had our own little garden area which had amazing views and would eat breakfast there each morning. If we had wanted to we could have eaten all our meals outside as there was also a BBQ. It was very useful to have access to a washing machine and tumble drier (the only place we stayed to offer this) - which is in a separate block open 24hr.

One of the reasons we choose to stay at Podere Casanova was because of some of the activites on offer. We planned so that we were there for Wednesday night which is pizza night and it was one of the highlights of our stay in Italy. The whole Italian family was there as well as other guests and it was a lovely atmosphere, the food was delicious and great value. The pizza was cooked in a traditional outdoor pizza oven and the best bit was the boys got to make their own pizza which they loved. On another day Lisa also took us to visit a ceramic factory free of charge where the boys got to make their own pots which was great fun and we managed to get them home to England without breaking them! There is also an outdoor pool but we were so busy that we did not get a chance to use it.

Whilst staying at Podere Casanova we also found it easy to visit Florence, Pisa and Lucca and is an ideal spot for touring if you have a car.

When we arrived back in England Lisa had emailed a little movie of videos and photos she had taken during our stay - which is not only a lovely memory but a reflection of how important it is to the family that you have a good stay. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this as a great place to stay in Tuscany!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gilestl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We were very happy to know the formula of agriturism since it was our first time and the family that runs Podere Casanova. Lisa is very helpful and the welcome dinner fabulous! It gives the occasion to meet the other guests and other nationalities. The pizza-evening was quite a big experience and surprise too! The breathtaking view from the swimming pool over the surrounding hills with olive gardens and vineyards gives you a relaxing feeling after the visit to the different beautiful but hot towns! It's a quiet and relaxing place far away from busier cities. Lisa's father is a friendly man who renovated the farm houses himself and who bakes the pizzas. We wery very happy to have met them! The Podere Casanova really is a place to recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MuizenHowhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews