We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
130
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river family holiday rod host villa views knowledge delight path locals
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed a couple of times at the wonderful Villa Rosalena, once self-catering with a group of friends, and the second time as a couple to celebrate my birthday. We LOVE it there! It is ideally situated for taking it easy or venturing further afield. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and quiet. And what a view....WOW! Rod and Caroline are excellent hosts and they will go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Our stay here has been nothing short of perfect. Rod is an attentive warm and carin host who never got tired of our endless questions. With the villas stunning views and a host who goes out o his way to help I would not hesitate in recommending this place. The steps are steep however the reward of he view makes it all worthwhile

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view en booking
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jules-1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

My family stayed at Villa Rosalena on a self catering basis for 4 weeks from 5 September to 2 October 2016. Up to 8 family members and friends (including a baby) stayed each week (14 in total over the 4 weeks) and all enjoyed the stay immensely. The villa is very clean, spacious and comfortable and easily accommodated us all. The views from the villa are wonderful and Rod Swail the proprietor was unfailingly kind and helpful, providing advice on places to visit and good restaurants nearby. This holiday had been a dream of mine for many years and I am very glad we chose Villa Rosalena. I thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing holiday with family and friends.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gemma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

A great place to stay in many ways - well situated, immaculately clean, knowledgeable and accommodating host, comfortable rooms, great choice of outdoor spaces to sit, relax and bbq. Villa Rosalena did not disappoint when we stayed here for a week with another family and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed at Villa Rosalena for our holiday this year and it was fantastic. We were two families (7 people) and it was just perfect for us. The bedrooms were spacious and all had an ensuite bathroom. The inside living space was great & especially the large dining room which could easily accommodate us for the few meals we ate in the villa. The outside space we used loads - from the seating on balcony area, to the great spaces by the pool and the separate BBQ area. The area around the villa is also great with loads of different places to visit using either a car or the train from the nearby station. There are some fabulous restaurants within walking distance or a short car ride. Rod (the owner) was so helpful and could not have been nicer. The only negative is the 62 steps up and so its not suitable for those with small children or with any mobility issues, but if you want a villa in a great location for a larger group, then this is the place for you.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews