We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christine...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Steve&Denise's wonderful house. The views are amazing, the house is very homely and has everything you need - we especially loved the kitchen! The location is perfect as well, very quiet village but you can easily get everywhere. We could have easily stayed for a lot longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Wow! - What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home and your appreciation of our house and views. We are pleased you enjoyed preparing local produce from our rustic kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freediveh...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic location”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Steve and Denise are excellent hosts and the Contented Tuscan is a wonderfully equipped villa with some stunning views to enjoy with the mountains and the valley in front of you while you enjoy breakfast on the terrace.

The property is located in a quiet village called Guzzano, a short ten minute drive from Bagni Di Lucca which is a decent sized town with places to eat and to pick up provisions. When driving there it is best to set your sat nav for Bagni di Lucca otherwise you may find any number of locations for Guzzano appearing and then like us, you will end up in the wrong place.

Inside the rooms are spacious and stylishly decorated. The kitchen is superbly equipped with everything you need to sample the local produce. Outside the garden is beautiful and there is a wide variety of seating. There was just the two of us on this trip but the villa would comfortably accommodate two couples.

Overall a great location and I would like to thank Steve and Denise for a memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, location and how well equipped it was.
Liked least: Tended to roll together in the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review – we are so glad you both enjoyed your stay here and the super spring weather played its part in ensuring your holiday was memorable one. We hope to see you again. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in beautiful home”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed a two week stay in this beautiful house in a delightful location in the Tuscan mountains. Guzzano is a small village about 10 mins drive up from Bagni di Lucca along a windy road so recommend a small car. There are no shops in the village but there is a supermarket in Bagni and a small store in a neighbouring village that you can walk to. Steve and Denise were amazing hosts who welcomed us on arrival with drinks on the patio and gave us lots of information on the house and area. They live in the lower part of the house but you wouldn't know they are there - unless you need them, in which case they were so helpful. We were provided with a generous welcome hamper which was perfect until we could stock up for our stay.
The house has been lovingly restored and furnished in Tuscan style but with every modern equipment you would need. The house is full of interesting collectables and antiques Steve and Denise have arranged thoughtfully. The gardens are beautiful with lots of patio pots and a large table for Al fresco dining and a plunge pool, all overlooking view of the opposite mountains. We were content to relax there and enjoy the weather, the view, the quiet and watch the activity of the different birds flying around. It was hard to move away from such a relaxing place but we did enjoy trips to Lucca, Abetone and Barga as well as walks in the surrounding area. Also were lucky enough to see the Giro Italia cycle race go through nearby and absorb the excitement and atmosphere of the event. We would highly recommend a stay here as a good base for the area and a delightful house and hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
What a super review – it was a pleasure to have you as our first guests of the summer season. We are so pleased you enjoyed our villa as a place to unwind and then use as a base to plan your sightseeing trips from. Thank you too for your kind comments on our welcome hamper – we feel it important that after what is normally a long day, our guests feel comfortable that they can start their holiday on arrival and not need to drive out to stock up at a supermarket on your first day.
Thanks again for your kind words and we would love to welcome you back to our tranquil part of Tuscany soon. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Tuscan house”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this gorgeous Tuscan house in September. They have mixed boutique hotel quality and style with a real home feel. Everything is just amazing quality with lots of really nice, clever touches. The house is nestled right in the Tuscan hills and the view is breathtaking. The pool and terrace are perfect for relaxing with a bottle of wine! The local town has all you need and it's a perfect base for exploring the region. Steve and Denise are brilliant hosts, discreet but knowledgable and nothing is too much trouble. I really didn't want to go home. We will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review – what a super way to end our first season renting our holiday home. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our villa. The September weather played its part – Tuscany can be such a great place to visit after the heat of August has subsided. Thanks again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorjb
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly authentic Tuscan delight”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Many thanks to Steve & Denise for making our holiday such a wonderful experience. The villa is a perfect combination of quality and style in a superb location overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside and rolling hills.

The house has been expertly and lovingly restored with all of the original features retained. One of the most striking aspects of this property is the high standard of equipment and décor not normally found in a holiday home. The furnishings are totally in keeping with the local area and create a wonderfully warm and cosy atmosphere. All the rooms and en suite bathrooms were spotlessly clean and fresh on arrival. The garden has a sheltered terrace area with a large table and chairs for al fresco dining. The pool area is well equipped with plenty of chairs, sun loungers etc.. and towels are provided. The whole area is complemented by a selection of interesting and colourful potted plants.

It is clear that Steve and Denise have gone out of their way to guarantee a carefree and enjoyable holiday experience. They greeted us on arrival with welcome drinks on the terrace and a cosy introduction to the house and local facilities. After this they discreetly retreated to their own part of the house on the bottom floor and left us in complete privacy. As with previous guests the local taxi driver Marco was recommended to us and he was a real gem. He is kind, helpful and chatty with good English. Although we had a car it was great to be able to eat and drink out and have Marco drive us home. We had a superb meal at the Buca Do Baldabo restaurant with top quality home cooked food and freshly made pasta dishes to choose from. We also enjoyed a lovely meal at Ristorante Del Sonno in Bagni Di Lucca (seasonally available and locally sourced truffles and mushrooms a speciality).

The villa is well situated for a trip to Florence – best by train from Lucca as the parking near the station is easy. The walled city of Lucca is well worth a visit and we had a very pleasant lunch at Ristorante Giglio.

Thanks again to Steve & Denise for providing us with a great opportunity to enjoy such a lovely part of Italy in a quality traditional Tuscan property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your comments on the décor of our home. Sourcing antique items for the house and garden is a joy and is great to know our guests feel we got it right. We will pass on your kind comments to Marco, his taxi service is being well received by our guests – as you say, he is a gentleman. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the very near future Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing