We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
7
10
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
10
4
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We have toured all over Europe staying in various apartments and this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a negative review. First some positives, the area is stunning, nearby Siena is absolutely beautiful and the building we stayed in (the 2 person barn style apartment) was spacious and had views to die for from the upstairs bedroom. That's pretty much where it ends though, as the lack of customer focus was unbelievable. All of the apartments lacked amenities, with no oven/grill in the basic kitchens (apart from ours which did have one, which didn't work and when we raised the issue there was no attempt to fix it we were simply informed that it didn't work!) and no electric kettles. In the 4 person apartment with no kitchen, one of the double beds was an old fold out bed which was simply unfit for purpose. My brother sat on it on the first day and one of the slats snapped (on further inspection it already had parcel tape holding it together) the owner attempted to tape it again (!) unsurprisingly it broke again and no further attempt to fix or replace it was made! Fortunately, two of their party were young children as the bed could not be used for the rest of the week. We had booked the entire place due to a family wedding at a nearby property, and we had some family visit one day and were immediately told we weren't allowed visitors and that we weren't allowed to jump into the pool for some reason.
The whole week seemed like we were intruding on the owners and after asking for a small discount (€100) due to the issues raised and ending up with being told we should be paying extra for breaking the 'bed', we left a day early. The worst service we've ever experienced anywhere!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jp D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Although the place itself is nice the cranky owner really spoiled our stay here. She didn't speak any English so it was hard to communicate but that was not the worst part. Whenever we would ask something she would react very cranky so we didn't feel very welcome. The rooms are big though and the swimming pool excellent. We paid for a room with breakfast but never received the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlLovingAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at Agriturismo Podernuovo several times in 2013 & 2014 for wedding planning in the surrounding area. We have always had a warm welcome from the owner & her daughter. While they only speak a little English, they are very pleasant, kind and always happy to help.
The accommodation itself is fairly basic but clean & nice. The villa is situated on top of a hill, surrounded by beautiful countryside with nice towns nearby.
Dinner can be cooked for you at the villa which is very tasty and made using fresh local produce. Breakfast can also be provided but is a little more basic (as is the case with most places in Italy!).
If you're after a nice inexpensive place to stay to explore Tuscany Agriturismo Podernuovo is a great choice!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank matty54l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Not sure why the Italian reviews are so poor. Firstly the map is inaccurate as this lodging is South of Asciano. We booked through UK agent who gave us excellent directions and it is true that there is no signpost as you approach. That said the property sits on top of a hill and is visible for miles.

Very friendly welcome from owners and their grown up children. We stayed in the separate two storey converted hayloft. Very spacious for 2 people. The swimming pool is giant paddling pool style but cleaned regularly and long and deep enough for a swim.

We are seasoned self-caterers and take everything we need even down to tiny bottles of washing up liquid. We don't even expect a tea pot but this had one. You need to buy toilet rolls but there is a supermarket in Asciano. It was therefore clean, spacious and excellent for our needs with a well equipped kitchen.

Lovely fresh tomatoes were given to us by the owners and 4 little ducklings go for a passiagata most days.

We had no problems with hot water! We can't comment on the food as the Italian reviewers have done as we cooked our own or ate at the many good restaurants in the area. Nor can we complain of the price as we prepaid what we consider to be reasonable. So we give the place the thumbs up. Only downside was the fact that you can't walk into a town but we knew that in advance and the views from the tower-like building are to die for.

Ideally situated between Asciano and Trequanda. The former has an excellent restaurant in town called La Mancia as well a bakery and small stores, a fantastic pizzaria/bar La Tranquilla 1 km out of town. In Trequanda the IL Conte Matto restaurant is wonderful for a more expensive treat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xmaspresent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews