We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
177
156
69
44
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
156
69
44
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomumbrella barwine barsteam roomhotel creditski holidayski schoolmetal staircaseboot roomthe ski hire shopself service restauranthotel barice roomsoupdessert buffethooks to hangstandard rooms are
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Considering this hotel is supposed to be a ski hotel, it is not set up for skiers at all. The hotel looks stylish and is in a great location ten minutes walk from Passo Tonale (but close to the glacier and lifts). The restaurant and restaurant staff is /are lovely. Great food.

However, my takeaway memory of this hotel is that our room was cold, the radiators didn't work, we couldn't get anything dry ( as snow conditions were wet) and despite reporting this three times to reception, they insisted the radiators in our room were working. Totally frustrating because they were not. They did not come on once all week.

Each room has a ski locker, but the locker room was freezing cold. No attempt to heat it, so if your stuff went into the locker wet at night, it came out wet. When we queried where we might dry anything at all given that the radiators in our room didn't work, we were seriously told that the hotel didn't have anywhere to dry ski stuff.

The spa area looked lovely but the air temperature was cold. I'd have had a massage or treatment, but it was too cold to hang around. Not bad though on balance. Nice little pool.

We booked a Crystal ski holiday at short notice and despite booking a room for 2-3 people, we got a basic double (Crystal rep said it was because the hotel was busy). The room was very clean, but basic. Really short on storage space and nowhere to hang ski clothes or put bathroom items.

We didn't pay the full price so can't complain too much, but I wouldn't recommend the hotel. It has a lot going for it but is let down by basic things like poor maintenance, being cold, reception staff being polite but ineffective/fobbing you off.

Finally as animal lovers, we were not happy to see a lovely little exotic bird held in a cage on reception. Surely a big company like Thomson should exert some pressure on issues like this,

We have booked many holidays with Crystal but are growing tired of the lack of customer service or assistance with any in resort issues. They seem only interested in selling trips. Transfers ok. We will be changing ski company next year or booking independently.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Food, Service, Rooms, facilities, closeness to the slopes, politeness of staff really brilliant, We could not fault single thing. I could not go without mentioning our friendly sommelier "Georgo", He really made our evening Dinner both in terms of entertainment and his excellent choice of wines which were not over the top price wise but great recommendations all the same. Thanks Georgo form all the gang.

Room Tip: Choose the Delux rooms they are located at the quietest end of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Davekerr1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The good bits.....

The hotel staff are friendly and speak good English.
The breakfast is buffet style and there is plenty of choice
Evening Meal is buffet style and also a choice of a starter and main meal, all of good quality.
The boot room is conveniently located in the hotel for easy access to the slopes.
There is free water in the fridge in all rooms.

The NOT so good bits....

On arrival to our standard room Number 305 we found there to be mould in the bathroom with nowhere to put toiletries or towels so the hotel staff had left the towels on the bidet. There was water damage to the ceiling in the bathroom and dirt in the light bulbs.
The hair dryer is fixed to the wall and needs a towel wedging under it to keep it going as it turns off every 20 seconds.
No kettle or tea making facilities, or blankets in the room. The room temperature is okay but a little chilly at night. The temperature is controlled in reception so take some PJ'S if you feel the cold. The radiators in the room work for 2 hours in the morning only.
Nowhere to hang your jacket, there is no coat hooks, we had to hang ours on the handles of the wardrobe. Not a problem in warm dry conditions but could be in peak season.
There were holes in the bedding, pen marks on one duvet and staining on the pillow. We asked to get these changed and the hotel did their best.
Wellbeing centre has nice staff, but facilities are lacking. The hot tub is not a hot tub at 32 degrees nobody used it. The steam room had no steam, but the sauna could get warm it just takes a while.

Overall, the hotel is nice, but standard rooms are a massive let down. We arrived thinking we had paid for a standard room in a 5 star hotel, we have had better in 3 star accommodation. If you get a late deal and don't pay lots you'll be fairly happy.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Par... G, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Madame


Thank you for your review, we will do our best possible to improve .

We are pleased your enjoyed the our food and our staff and the location. As it regards the room, except for the inconvenients happened immediately resolved, you have chosen a standard room, comfortable and with tipical mountain furniture, our chambermaid provided to clean better the room and to give you the boiler, in the bathroom there is the radiator for the towels, toiletries and our guests have at their disposal the wardrobe for hang the clothes.

With reference to the wellness area, there is the regulation imposing the 32 degrees maximum in the tube,, and all the temperatures of the sauna and steam.

It is up to our guests to choose a deluxe or suite room, upgrading it. The rooms are well descripted and there are photos on the website from which you reserved. Standard rooms are cheaper but they have all comforts.


Anyway,if you will come back and stay in a deluxe or suite it will be our pleasure upgrade the room and welcome you as our special guests


Maria Teresa Schillaci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We booked to stay here through Crystal Ski and like some others, after having read the reviews on here, we were having serious doubts about staying in the hotel. However we were very pleasantly surprised. Reception are very helpful - with the check-in/check out procedures being easy and quick. As with any hotel, you do need to leave your credit card information so that any extras (such as wine in the restaurant) can be charged to your room (this being another issue raised by a fellow Reviewer). The TV in the room has plenty of English channels (you may need to change the language settings on the TV to ensure they are set to English) We had a standard room which although a little small for a hotel of this caliber it was perfectly comfortable with the water in the mini fridge restocked daily. If there is one issue I have with the room, its the air conditioning. Our room was far too hot but we couldn't change the air conditioning settings using the controls in the room. Instead we had to contact Reception to turn it up or down. This was somewhat frustrating at times. Turning to the person complaining about children not being allowed in the pool after 4.30. This is clearly marked throughout the hotel and, as a couple, it was a lovely being able come back from a day of skiing and being to relax in the peace and quiet. Another person complained about the cost of wine in the restaurant. Yes, the wine is expensive but having stayed in various 4* and 5* hotels before the price is about average. I would definitely stay in this hotel again but perhaps look to upgrade to a deluxe room - just for the additional space and a balcony, if nothing else.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room, if only for the additional space
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronnoc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Having just stayed at the paradiso for a week skiing in paso tonale - I'd like to just make one comment which I think is pertinent to the other negative issues left in the 1 and 2 star comments

Whether paradiso is a 5 star or not is largely dependent on your experience of the worlds greatest hotels - personally as a ski hotel I found it pretty adequate on all the basics - it's not Amandari or the Burj - but it's ok for the money - although all the critical reports of other guests are basically true

The big issue is when the large issues arise - there is no one in the hotel who can move mountains - there is no visible senior management presence at key times of the day - i.e. Breakfast and dinner - the staff are great at the small things - changing towels and stocking water etc - and I felt they cared appropriately - they did their job well

The issue I had was a 30 strong group of Danes who for a whole week were drunk ,massively loud , boorish , and , rude , at dinner - and late at night at 2am - despite - 3 sets of guests complaining about this - there was no one senior enough in the hotel who would tell them to show some courtesy to their fellow guests it was like a children's canteen - absolute bedlam - the response we met was a sweet smile shrug of the shoulders and " yes they very drunk " - even though the hotel continued to serve them alcohol when they could hardly stand - not a senior management exec in sight - certainly not the lady who may reply to this mail

Of course horrible and badly behaving fellow guests are not the fault of the hotel - we just got unlucky sharing the same week as the Danish contingent from hell but .....

In my view the greatness of a hotel is its culture and teamwork led by strong visible management - the reason paradiso will never be world class is it doesn't have effective leadership and care for ALL its guests

Mr Mead

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank bigfraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel Par... G, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Mr Mead

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenient but it did not depends on the hotel. Those guests are adults and we cannot forbidden them to have wine or cocktails. We immediately called the local manager of this group, in fact the last night they had a good behaviour.
Our Restaurant Manager also changed your table far from the group , in order this people do not bother you.

We thank you once again for having chosen us and hope you have enjoyed your stay except from Danish group :)

We will wait for welcome you next season again

Maria Teresa Schillaci



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews