We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We spent 5 nights in Salo du Parc. The hotel looks like a concrete bunker built into a hillside on the shore of lake Garda. You enter from the street into Floor 3. All rooms have views of the lake, but floors 2 and 1 have not windows on the street side. Floor 1 is the bar and restaurant, but Floor 2 has guest accommodation which feels like it is in a basement even though there are windows on the lake side. The hallway is depressing and the rooms are dark.
We arrived in the evening with a reservation for a double room and were given a suite because there were no more vacant rooms. Wonderful - NOT! The suite was an enormous room on Floor 2 with a king and two single beds in it. The room reeked of air freshener in an attempt to cover up the smell of damp. It was obvious by the damaged floor boards that there had been a serious leak in the room at some stage. We had two bathrooms, both very dark. We informed the desk that a light had blown over the basin in one bathroom; it was never replaced.
At night, we listened to the sound of waste water from the rooms above dribbling down an outside drain pile. This was enhanced by the drone of the hotel's airconditioning plant, also just outside our room. Because we were at ground level, we had no view of the mountains, and our very limited view of the lake was mostly obstructed by a single, large bush in front of our patio. After three nights, we asked to change rooms, and were given a room on the top floor (the hotel was no longer fully booked). Although this was a great improvement in term of noise, smell and view, we found that the shower flooded the entire bathroom and made the marble floor extremely slippery. An attempt to pull the shower curtain shut, the entire curtain rod fell into the bathtub. and yes, the shower was over a deep tub, rendering it unsuitable for someone with mobility problems.
The restaurant service was friendly and very efficient and the breakfast was excellent. The clientele are mostly Austrian/German, and the hotel caters to their expectations of a good breakfast. The service at the front desk was rather abrupt and unfriendly, except for a young fellow named Milan, who was very helpful.
This hotel is tired and not very well maintained. It needs some serious attention to spruce it up. We will not return.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the fourth floor. Avoid the 'basement' (second floor). Fifth floor rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emila D, Proprietario at Salo' du Parc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I do apologize if you did not have a good experience with Hotel Salò du Parc.
We are pleased that you ejoyed breakfast and dinner.

The Hotel entrance is located on the 2nd floor not on the 3rd. We have bar, restaurant and swimming pool at the ground floor which is floor 0.

Regarding the room on the 1st floor, it is true the corridor is a little bit dark, however ALL ROOMS have a lake view. In order to build all rooms with a lake view we had to bild the corridors overlooking the back or the street.

All our rooms are quite big and spacious. We thought that giving you a suite instead of a normal comfort room would have been appreciate. We made a mistake.
There are some trees and plants in the garden, however we cannot cut alle them down, some of them in particularly because they are secular trees.

We are doing our best to keep the hotel well maintained, sometimes it is not that easy.

Best Regards
Emilia Dolcini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Salo' du Parc Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Salo du Parc early in June. We picked up our hire car at Verona Airport and found that the number 503 was written on the side window in marker pen, when we arrived at the hotel and were given our key it was for room 503! Spooky or what?

I had hoped to stay in Sirmione but there were no available rooms at the time of booking. When I tried the hotels in Salo I obviously looked at all the reviews and so knew that the Salo du Parc was only just in the top ten, we were, therefore, hoping that it might not be as bad as some other reviews had made out!

First impressions were that it was very clean and nicely presented and this was true of the whole of our stay. The receptionist, when we arrived, spoke good English and all the other receptionists we spoke to were helpful and gave good advice on our days out. Our room was at the very top of the hotel with a pleasant view out over the lake and no sign of the bins! There didn't seem to be many people staying during the week we were there and so it was very, very quiet. The room was well decorated and the bathroom was totally tiled with two enormous mirrors, not in the least dated like other reviewers have stated. The only disadvantage of two enormous mirrors is that you can inspect your body while sitting on the loo, in the bath etc. Now this must be wonderful if you are a 20 year old dolly bird but if you are an old man with a beer gut and bald spot it's not quite as exciting! The beds were comfortable and we both slept really well. On the last morning I was woken up by the sound of someone weeing and thought my daughter had got up early but then heard her snoring from her bed across the room. I was beginning to wonder what was going on but then heard a muted flush and footsteps from next door so it may well not be so quiet when it is busy.

Breakfast was fine especially as we could sit outside and watch the boats on the lake and the ducks in the garden. We gave the ducks a few crusts until we got some disapproving looks from the Breakfast Consultant (waiter!) who shood them away with his tray. I don't think he had much of a sense of humour because I would have quite happily given them a bowl of cereal but didn't dare!

While we enjoyed our stay at Lake Garda I wouldn't bother again. My favourite place in Europe is Lake Achensee in Austria and the wonderful Hotel Wiesenhof which is busy, friendly and a far more relaxed location (Number 1 in Pertisau). The Lake Garda area is too busy, there is too much traffic and too many speed cameras. If you go to Venice, which we did, go on the train from Desenzano. If the car park is full go half way along and turn left into some empty side streets with no parking restrictions. Also worth a trip is the car ferry from Maderno to Torri and then drive up the lake to Malcesine which is another lovely old town and has a revolving cable car up the mountain. Staff at reception have all the details. If you do go to Venice, don't drink anything for 24 hours before you go as the loos cost 1.50 a go with no reduction for a nine year old. For a family of four it could cost you nearly 20 euros just to keep your bladders empty!

Finally, the car parking. We weren't warned that it was restricted and I hadn't got that far in other reviews. There are a dozen or so small spaces outside the hotel but it costs 10 euros per day. When the total cost for four nights at the hotel is over £500 I reckon it's a bit greedy not to include free parking. Why do people insist on persisting with this sort of petty charge when it could easily lose them custom? If I had noticed this before I booked I would have gone elsewhere and they would have lost our business. When I stay at a hotel parking is often a priority. My own cars are all collectors items in one way or another and when I am in one of them I chose the hotel by its car parking rather than by the hotel itself. This might seem a bit odd but they are all valuable to me and I see it as a priority. This time we were in a hire car and so it was not as important but the lack of spaces and the charging is a factor to bear in mind.

Room Tip: Top floor looking out over the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 911euf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emila D, Proprietario at Salo' du Parc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for coming at Hotel Salò du Parc. We are glad that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us.

We know that the parking spaces we have right outside the hotel are not that big, However we also have spaces in a garege just right opposite to the hotel and an agreement with a public parking place which costs exactly the same as ours.

Regarding the costs of the parking place is an affordable and reasonable price which is 10 euro per day. Unfotunately every parking space in Salò is on payment since it is quite hard to find it.



Best Regards
Emilia Dolcini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Salo du Parc isn't a bad hotel, but definitely not a four star, and as has been mentioned previously, it is looking very tired. There are positives - it is in a superb location with wonderful views. We booked a deluxe room and it was very spacious with a good sized bathroom and good sized balcony with the most amazing view. The housekeeping staff came every day and the room was immaculate. The hotel offers free wi-fi which was great, we used the internet every day and had no problems at all. We didn't use the pool, but in addition to this it also has a sun area right on the edge of the lake which was lovely. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than at breakfast, but the dining room, and adjoining seating areas, in and out were lovely. The negatives are a bit general, but there was nothing really inspiring about the hotel. The staff are ok, but not particularly friendly or overhelpful - at breakfast one day for example there were no tables left outside on a glorious day - nobody offered to make one up for us or other guests and it wasn't busy. The breakfast itself was adequate, but quite a limited choice - we have certainly seen a much wider and superior choice of everything on offer in 3 star establishments. The hotel bar is supposed to be open until eleven, but on at least 2 occasions when we returned at about 10:40 for a night cap, the bar was already closed up and the 24 hour room service seemed put out that they were being asked to provide drinks at the unearthly hour of 10:45pm! Our neighbours in the next room had booked half board and told us they had to pick their dinner choices the night before! In a four star? Come on! The hotel looks like it needs a good spring clean externally - the balconies have no flowers in the planters, unless they are old dead ones, and the side of the hotel overlooking the lake would benefit hugely from a good lick of paint! It was a treat to get up early every morning and sit on the balcony overlooking the lake, but it was also the time to see that the person employed to clean the outside areas only came every other day - and it did need doing every day! It's the little extras that wouldn't cost much either in time or money that would make this hotel special, and at the moment they are unfortunately missing. On another note, Salo itself is probably the most beautiful place on the whole of Lake Garda, we will definitely be returning to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emila D, Proprietario at Salo' du Parc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Salò du Parc.
We are pleased to read something about your exprience.

I do apologize for breakfast time, when you did not find an outside table. We will take note of your suggestion regarding the breakfast buffet in order for us to improve it.

Regarding the painting we repaint the hotel when we have a chance to do that, not always is possible due to many factors.

Concerning the gardening, we clean and tyde up the garden every day at early morning when the guest supposed to be asleep, it needs to be done in order to keep it in a good conditions, I am really sorry if you felt that a little bit annoying for you.

Best Regards
Emilia Dolcini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Awful service, no spa, extra charges, do not stay here!

We booked for one night in a double comfort lake view room, our booking was confirmed as a double room but we were put in a twin room. We called reception to ask about the room and the unhelpful moody woman at reception said that seeing she was the only one working she could not make up a double room for us. Surely this should have been explained when we were checking in?

The hotel was chosen due to the location (which is good) and the fact they have a spa, to confirm this hotel DOES NOT have a spa, they have a therapist (not permanent in the hotel) who does treatments who was not available the day we arrived or the next day so don't get your hopes up. There is a sauna and jacuzzi, the staff did not seem very willing for us to use these facilities saying the sauna took 45 minutes to warm up and closed at 6pm. I asked for the sauna to be put on seeing we had enough time and asked if we could go in the jacuzzi after. The young guy on reception who is new had taken over by this point and he didnt know how to use the jacuzzi, after some time finding keys we discovered that there was no water in it anyway.

On checking out we were given a bill for the sauna, no additional charges were confirmed with us at all and when we stated this the young guy shrugged and pushed the bill towards us. The staff that we experienced at this hotel did not seem to be helpful, attentive or polite. Paying for a double room and getting a twin with no explanation, expecting a spa, paying extra for parking and then an extra charge which wasn't made clear for the sauna, this hotel provides poor service for the cost per room so spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emila D, receptionist at Salo' du Parc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize if you spent an unpleasent stay in Hotel Salo' du Parc.

You have booked a double room for 1 night and you arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon,quite a bit before than your reservation.

You have booked a double room, however we need to know that at least before your arrival in order to make it double. We have the majority of twin rooms and we usually arrange the double beds at early morning or the day before.

The Hotels doesn'thave a SPA and this is stated in every web site and catalogue. We only offer a service like sauna, and massages upon request or reservation and for this service of course there is a charge.

The sauna usually close at 6.00 pm for safety reason, in that case we thought it was nice to let the sauna open a little bit longer for you.

Best Regards
Sara Pernbrunner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were planing our vacation on lake Garda so our hotel will be in a central location but also allows us to have quite and relaxing moments on the lake. Hotel Salo' du Parc met these expectations. We were staying in a double deluxe room on the 4th floor viewing the lake; the room was spacious, clean and the view from the balcony was absolutely stunning! The location of the hotel is very good- right at the end of Salo's lovely promenade so your'e close to all restaurants etc. but also very quiet and calm so you don't hear any noise. The staff was also very helpful and kind to answer all our questions about the surrounding area , especially Sarah from the reception desk and Emilia the hotel manager. Breakfast is standard and satisfying. The only disadvantage I would mention will be the 10 euro parking fee per day, in my opinion a 4 star hotel should allow its guests free parking service. Overall we would recommend this hotel and would be happy to visit it again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floor will guarantee an unforgettable lake view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisaVilshansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emila D, Direttore at Salo' du Parc Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Dear Ms. Vilshansky,

Thank you very much for your comment. We really appreciate that.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you liked the place and the hotel.

Regarding the parking place, I undestand your point. However we had to do something like that since we do not have many parking slots available and sometimes we have to offer the garage opposite to the hotel wich the price over there is 10 euro per day (24hours). Based on that we adopted the policy to reserve the parking place for our guest but at the same time to charge it just to make no difference between the guest who parks in the public parking place and the ones who parks at the hotel.

Thank you very much indeed and we look forward to see you next time.

Yours Sincrely
Emilia Dolcini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salo
1.2 km away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
232 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#7 of 16 in Salo
227 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Duomo Salo
Hotel Duomo Salo
#13 of 16 in Salo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,182 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 16 in Salo
355 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Ristorante Panoramica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salo' du Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salo' du Parc Hotel

Address: Via Cure del Lino 1, 25087, Salo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salo
Price Range: ₹ 11,281 - ₹ 32,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salo' du Parc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel salo du parc is a modern building facing direct the lake with a beautiful park with swimming pool and a private dock. L'hotel distance few minuts from the historical center of salo. All the rooms have lake view and balcony. The rooms have different size and they are on a different floor and then they have different prices. At the hotel there is a paid parking just bihind the hotel and also in front of it there is a big parking with a convention with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salo' du Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salo' Du Parc Hotel Lake Garda
Hotel Salo Du Parc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing