We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
205
257
109
62
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
257
109
62
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view bay of naples sant agata the bus american lady attic room last minute deal bar terrace air con sister hotel half board top floor restaurant staff reception area traditional hotel an upgrade great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I have just returned home and have read some of the recent reviews. Myself and some of the other guests I met had absolutely no complaints about the food. The menu was varied and was clearly designed to offer variety. Staff were very attentive and put themselves out to make your stay as comfortable as possible The hotel is 'traditional' in style and consequently the rooms are not modern, or minimalistic in style. This means though that you are staying in an Italian hotel oozing with charm and character! The views from the hotel pool area are outstanding with Vesuvious taking central position in the background.

The hotel is close to the centre of Sant Agata and this is an added advantage. It's only a short walk into the village with a variety of shops and restaurants, including a Michelin star restaurant. This was a most relaxing holiday with many opportunities to visit Sorrento and the surrounding area. The hotel shuttle bus is free during the week with a small charge for evening departures. This was well used by guests and the booking system worked very well. Local excursions of note include the local mini train (best to book in advance) and a trip to a local farm, with lunch included.

Thank you Jaccarino for a most happy and memorable stay!!!

Room Tip: pool view ideally but fine without
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186394Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We came to the Jaccarino for a week 5th-12th sept on our honeymoon unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations our view was stunning from our balcony (we had prebooked and paid for this) if you want a view you have to book in advance as many people wanted to move rooms and weren't able to. Very pretty typical Italian style hotel. Sorrento is 25 mins bus journey from the hotel further out than we expected there is a shuttle bus but you have to book on it and it is not very frequent (there is none between 12.30 and 5.30 and none at all on a sunday) driver is lovely though. If you are staying here you pretty much have to plan everything in advance. Restaurant staff are really friendly. Reception staff however totally different. All but one (laura) were rude and ignorant, spoke over you in Italian or totally ignored you answering the phone.
The hotel were aware it was our honeymoon ahead of coming as we had exchanged emails with the manager however we were told once to "have a nice holiday "and that was it. The special things that were meant to be in our room never materialised and when our Thomson Rep Ana found out she discussed with hotel 3 times she tried to get someone to find out why nothing had been done and she too ws ignored and apologised to us . Sorrento is lovely , we did 4x4 vesuvius trip and capri , capri was expensive and best part was the boat trip around but this was an extra 16 euros each on top of the trip we'd already paid.
Rep Ana lovely woman for thomson couldn't have been more helpful and friendly to us and provided a great service.
Little village behind the hotel (Saint Agata)is the only place to walk to at night unless u make your own way to Sorrento (46 euros in a taxi one man told us one way!) This is a very local place for local people we got stared at a lot!
The hotels main attraction is the stunning views you get the pool is lovely and sunbathing area the pool is ice cold though!
I can see the attraction for many people who like quaint quiet hotels etc , personally if you are a same sex couple in this hotel then I wouldn't go and wiuld jot recommend it we did not feel comfortable other guests stared (not the British ones but other nationalities ) restaurant staff were lovely but reception staff as I said weren't .we felt that our honeymoon was not acknowledged although we got talking to another honeymooning couple who had received a different service. Luckily we made some lovely friends who made our time there great. We only felt comfortable going to the village and bar (orlandos was the best very friendly and cheap drinks) when with other couples /holiday makers so we didn't stand out as much. We did write to the hotel directly when we got home about how we felt and our disappointment, we got a reply 2 weeks later (after a 2nd email was sent)although we did not receive an apology of any sort or an explanation etc and it basically said thank you for your feedback and we'll use it for training! they even called me the wrong name! Never mind!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Geekykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend have just got back from a 8 night stay in the Jaccarino and have finally had a night of unbroken sleep!

Hotel
The hotel and the grounds are nice although dines out on the the fabulous grounds across the bay. This hotel based anywhere else would be quite average.

Rooms
We had a terrible experience with the rooms we were allocated. Our first room was in the attic and suffered from both nearly no sunlight and no sound proofing. The lift was opposite the room. This meant every time the lift opened and shut it was loud enough to constantly wake you up. We then asked to move to another room which was much lighter but looked out on the alleyway next to the hotel. This too suffered from a total lack of soundproofing and was opposite a maids cupboard which meant we were constantly woken up by moving furniture at 6am in the morning which is quite tiresome for 8 nights. The rooms themselves were clean but way too loud.

Food
The food was so disappointing. Given the amount of fresh ingredients in the local area it was a
shock to get the tired bland food everyday. Towards the end of the week we just decided to eat out

Service
None of the staff other than the barman was particularly friendly particularly after our complaints with the rooms we were made to feel almost guilty for asking to move.

Overall
We were really disappointed with our stay the views were awesome but the rest of the hotel hugely disappointing given the amount of choice in the nearby area for a similar price. Certainly won't be returning

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This is an absolutely delightful hotel with amazing views of the Sea of Naples right across to Vesuvius. Our room was fabulous being in the front of the hotel with the said view. My one negative comment was that the evening meal menu was definitely focused on the British with little if any local food. We only at in once but decided to eat out thereafter. There are plenty of good local restaurants in the local village which is a simple walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

what this place needs is a good shake up rude staff offhand waiters unhelpfull reception
bland food no signage ie wheres the restaurant! wheres the tiolets! only here for a week and will not be back wife lost ring some people were stuffed down in the staff accomadation right by the road and then moved to a box room ;sh##e

Room Tip: do not accept any room dont go
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank userdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews