We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not outstanding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We booked on the basis of all the great reviews of the Due Golfi and yes we would agree that it is exceptionally clean, the service is very good and the views are superb, there were some downsides. The rooms facing the road were very noisy at night if you left the windows open and we also found the beds were too hard. We would have preferred to see much more fresh fruit, rather than tinned fruit at breakfast, although generally the range of choice was quite good. The evening meal varied in quality, with some excellent dishes, but others lacking in flavour. The gala dinner, however, was simple food, beautifully presented and cooked and we would have wished for this quality all through the week. The wine on offer was very good and not overly expensive.

On balance, we would have been better in Sorrento, as we found there was little entertainment and few facilities in the hotel, so we had to go out every day. We made a lot of use of the shuttle bus and public transport, but the buses passing the hotel were often full and didn't always stop.

One excellent, good value restaurant that we found was the Chanticlere between the cathedral and the Piazza Tasso down the via S M Pieta. Our group of six adults had a two course meal with wine, and beer for 62 Euros.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one with sea view. The stunning view is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chirosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    192
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
143
449
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I, both 61, stayed at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi for 7 nights on a half-board basis from 29th August-5th September 2011. We really enjoyed our stay overall. I will split my review into sections for ease:

Check in/front desk:
There were about 5 couples checking in at the same time as us. Check-in was very quick and efficient, and the staff were polite and friendly.

Later on in the holiday we did find that there was an issue with communication/understanding with some front-desk staff.

Room:
We had a partial sea view room at the side of the hotel. The room was a reasonable size, but not particularly spacious. The bed was a good size and comfortable; there was only one pillow provided pp, and although I’m sure you can request an additional pillow, it would be nice if they’d had them in the rooms already. There was one built in wardrobe which was a decent size but did not have hanging space for longer garments (ie dresses) due to the shelving arrangement. There was no storage for the cases, so we put them on top of the wardrobe. There was no chest of drawers/bedside table with drawers, which made storage of smaller items (like electrical items, underwear/swimwear etc) difficult. The safe was included.

The room had AC which was fine for our needs. The bathroom was a reasonable size; the shower had a tropical shower head as well as a regular shower attachment, and the water pressure was good. There were no windows in the bathroom and the extract system wasn’t very efficient. The plug stopper wasn’t working properly on the basin, and though we reported it on the second day, it wasn’t fixed. Towels are replaced if left on the floor, and they provide plenty. They also provide pool towels free of charge.

The room was very clean. Maid service was good on the whole, although one day we didn’t receive it and had to ask in the evening, and on another day the bathroom bin wasn’t emptied.

The balcony was an excellent size; however, it ran underneath the bathroom windows of 2 adjacent rooms which wasn’t ideal. The view was quite good even though it was only partial.

Food/restaurant:

Breakfast: good. The selection was reasonable: the hot selection could have been better, but had the basics (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages), then there was a selection of cold items such as cheeses and meat, as well as yoghurt, pastries, cereals etc. There was freshly squeezed orange juice, and the coffee is the best I’ve tasted.

Dinner: the food was good. There was a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains each night, and then a dessert trolley. The food was hot, nicely presented, and tasty. There was also a salad buffet. The service was very swift; we would have liked a little more time between courses and feel this is something they could improve on.

Drinks:
The prices were reasonable; a beer was approx 4 euros, and the house wine was priced between 9-11 euros per bottle. The house wine was very drinkable, and the bar prices in general were reasonable. If you purchase a bottle of wine at dinner they place a tag with your room number on it, and the following night it was placed on a table so you could collect it as you came in.

Pool:
We only used the pool twice. The pool was clean and a good size and there seemed to be adequate seating/loungers while we were there.

Entertainment:
There was no entertainment programme (day or night) apart from the weekly Gala evening in the restaurant which was brilliant. They had candles on the table which made for a nice atmosphere and they brought in a guitarist who involved the guests, and the staff seemed more relaxed than usual.

Location:
The setting was wonderful, with amazing views over Sorrento.

Sorrento is an approx a one-hour walk downhill, or 30 minutes by public bus, or 20 minutes if you use the hotel shuttle (free; you need to pre-book 24 hours before, and it runs at various times through the morning and evening (with a break in the afternoon); the last one back from Sorrento is at 11.30pm). Taxis are VERY expensive so we didn’t use them. The local buses to Sorrento and Amalfi stop right outside the hotel and you can purchase tickets from reception.

Sant’Agata is walking distance from the hotel. It takes 5-10 minutes, but be wary of the road, particularly the junction outside the hotel. We really liked Sant’Agata, and would recommend visiting some of the bars/restaurants there (we would recommend the Buenos Aires; the food was excellent, you can sit inside or out, and the proprietor was very friendly).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yorkie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is actually in Saint Agata about 20 minutes (by free shuttle) from Sorrento and is on the road to the must see Amalfi Coast. There is a public bus stop at the gate to the hotel from whch you can cath a bus that traverses the coastal road - great for a day trip to Amalfi, Revello, and Positano. The hotel is modern, very clean, bright and friendly. Breakfast very good. Nice pool but water cold and bottom slippery with a fast drop off. Wouldn't let kids swim unattended. Hotel offers free shuttle service to Sorrento which drops you about 5 blocks from the train station from which you can take day trips to Pompei and Vesuvius. There's a great restaurant about 3 miles down the road to Sorrento by the name of Ristorante il Borgo which offers free courtesy van. Try to sit outside for get view. Excellent food.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our first impressions of this Hotel were very good, The rooms, although a little on the small side,were clean with matching curtains and bedding ( Important to us girls ) nice bathroom with large shower.. I have to say the meals here are excellent ( table service with a choice of starters, mains and puddings) Good service too. We had a room overlooking the bay of Naples, beautiful !!
On a more negative note: This hotel is out of the way, the hotel do lay on a mini bus, but you do need to book this ( It was full on several occasions, which is not good ).. the last bus back is 10.00 in the evening, which is way too early ... There is a local bus which stops off at the Hotel (tickets are available from Reception for this) ... WARNING !!! The last bus is midnight, it is hit and miss as to wether they turn up, we had a bad experience and waited at the bus stop from 10.00pm ... the 11.00pm, didnt show, and neither did the 12.00pm ( A taxi cost us 70 Euros ( about £68 ) So not good !!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basildon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

we have just returned from sorrento and i had to write a review for this hotel, to say that it was good would be an understatement it was great. the room was spotless and very spacious, the view was superb the food delicious and with a wide selection, especially at breakfast ,and the staff exeptionally friendly and helpful, special recognition for the restaurant staff and the floor manager who could not have been more helpful. the pool is small and very cold but has comfortable loungers and is not normally to crowded.sant agata itself is nice and quite and if you want more in the evening just take a trip into sorrento, i can highly recomend a trip to see the sorrento musical, excellent fun and great singing, the courtesy bus is best but the local buses run until after midnight. one tip if you are booking directly and not with a tour operator, forget the airport transfer charges and get the bus directly from naples airport to sorrento its 10 euros each and when you get to sorrento station catch the bus to sant agata, ask the girl at the information desk she was very helpful, if you get the one that says via priora or bivio sant agata it stops directly opposite the hotel gates and costs 2.40 euros. all in all we had a great time and will definatley be returning as soon as possible. if you dont enjoy your stay here i would be amazed.

Room Tip: room 202 has a great view of sorrento, anything on that side of the hotel has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darensavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 km away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#3 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.1 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Property: Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,362 - ₹ 14,915
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing