We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemstone! Great room, refreshing pool, delicious food!”
Review of Hotel La Colombaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Colombaia
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Agropoli
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We absolutely loved La Colombaia - and wish we could have spent more than one night - but they were fully booked the following night.

The road up to the hotel made us wonder if we were on the right track, but once parked we were stunned by the beauty of the location and the hotel. The swimming pool was nice and refreshing and really sets the calm and relaxing atmosphere.

The rooms are personal with air condition and blinds to keep the morning sunlight out. The bathroom was like most Italian bathrooms, small, but clean and welcoming. Plenty of towels (they have special towels for swimming by the pool) and what you need with regard to soap/shampoo.

Do not miss eating dinner here! We had gourmet meal in the evening (even though we arrived late, and dinner was supposed to be finished). We discovered the Michelin recommendation at the door the morning after - which made perfectly sense. The food was delicious! So was the breakfast buffet. If you wanted dishes not in the buffet they could be ordered separately.

The next day we took a walk in the old town - and also went back there the following evening. A charming area, and highly recommended place to spend a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Plan in good time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kakaduen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is situated high on a hill with beautiful views of the sea. The drive up to the hotel is very steep and bumpy, but when you arrive, the hotel and its gardens more than compensate for the white knuckle ride!! . Luigi is an attentive host, the food is wonderful and our suite was elegant and super clean. We used the hotel as a base for the Amlalfi Coast and found the drive a bit too far, however if you are looking for peace and quiet you will find it at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piccolo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed with my 11 year old son for 2 days. The hotel is situated up a bumpy lane on the hillside above Agropoli, about 10 minutes drive from the centre of town. (Not suitable for walking into town from). It was fine and friendly, with fantastic swimming pool and views.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AManFromBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We came down to the Salerno area to do some research on the Allied landings in September 1943, and found Hotel La Colombaia in the gorgeous hills above Agropoli. Luigi runs the daily operations here and treats everyone like family. Our accommodations were awesome, the pool and view from the terrace spectacular, the flowers and floral displays beyond belief, and the food...absolutely wonderful! I know this sounds a bit superlative but this place is QUITE superlative and will not disappoint! From the time you dip in the sparkling pool through a day on the beach or at Pompeii and through the impeccable dinner....Prepare to be endulged!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We want to thank Luigi and his staff for a fabulous vacation at his hotel. Luigi not only drove us every where, but gave us history lessons, share personal stories, and made as feel welcomed at all times. We still talk about the dinners we had at the romantic terrace, and the view from our room. After learning that we were trying to visit my husband's grandmother's house, he made calls to the people who currently own the place (in Rome!), and took us for a personal tour: all this while a wildfire was burning the hills surrounding the hotel! We left planning our next trip to Agropoli, and we have recommended the place to friends and family. If you want to understand why Italians are the best hosts, please book a room at La Colombaia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agropoli hotels
6.8 km away
Hotel Insonnia
Hotel Insonnia
#7 of 14 in Agropoli
171 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#4 of 14 in Agropoli
305 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Il Ceppo
Hotel Il Ceppo
#8 of 14 in Agropoli
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Le Terrazze Residence & Resort
3.0 km away
Hotel Mare
Hotel Mare
#5 of 14 in Agropoli
264 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Serenella
Hotel Serenella
#2 of 14 in Agropoli
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colombaia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombaia

Address: Via Piano delle Pere | Zona Moio, 84043 Agropoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Agropoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agropoli
#6 Family Hotel in Agropoli
Price Range: ₹ 5,255 - ₹ 8,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Colombaia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from the legendary Paestum, in the green Park of Cilento, Hotel La Colombaia offers its guests a spectacular view of the Gulf of Salerno, the Amalfi Coast and the island of Capri.The rooms, all with sea view with balcony or terrace, are equipped with all modern comforts.The Relaxation Room, the Bar, a large swimming pool, covered parking, gardens and a wide range of included services, complete the offer for demanding, exclusive and refined guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Colombaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colombaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing