We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing accommodation”
Review of Athena Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athena Apartments
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

just got back from a 1 week holiday in Stalis, staying at the Athena Apartments, which are slightly away from the centre. The apartments are very basic as you, we only had are towels refreshed once and we did not have our bed linen changed at all - and the bins only emplied once. its a small hotel and wasnt full so they had no excuses. The owners were very police etc. Stalis itself is nice enough, good place to go if you want a chill out break, more suitable for families the beach is lovely - but there are only a few decent bars - we had to go the Hersonissos for the nightlife.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HullJSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

We have just returned from a scorching 2 week break at the Athena appartments. This is our sixth visit there and each time it gets better and better. The apartments are family run and Joanna, Demitri,Theo and not forgeting Tulla (the family pet dog) make you feel welcome. The rooms are spacious and clean and the swimming pool is a real sun trap with plenty of loungers and a bar that serves drinks and snack foods throughout the day, the bar will also remain open at night as long as there are guests who wish to have a drink there. The beach is a short stroll away (10 minutes maximum), and this is where you will find all of the restaurants to dine in during the evening, personal recommendations are Maria's golden beach (serves both traditional and commercial food), The Nine Muses and Hellas tavern (both serving the more traditional greek food).
The Athena are great apartments to stay in if you are a couple or a family with children.
If you are a group of young people who want the rowdy lifestyle then neither The Athena or Stallis are really the ideal as it is a little of the beaten track, Malia would be a far better alternative.
I have read reviews with people saying that the bins are emptied once a week, if you are that bothered about you bin then empty it yourself in the comercial waste bin which is situated just over the road, also I have read reviews that the owners are always telling people to be quiet, the only time that I have ever known this is when people have been very rowdy or noisy particularly in the middle of the night and yes they have been spoken to but this is only to ensure that other guests are able to enjoy their holiday in relative peace.
If you stay at the Athena you will speak to guests who visit year after year, ourselves included and we will be returning to Athena next year hopefully for three weeks.
These are lovely apartments and the family that run them do work long hours to ensure that the guests are taken care of and that the accomodation is up to standard.
An excellent location and excellent accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We have just come back from Athena Apartments, Stalis. Worst apartments we have ever been in in all our years of different apartments. The loo paper has to be put into bins as with whole of Greece. Bins in our apartments were emptied once in 7 days. The bin in the kitchen was overflowing and the cupboard it was in was full up with rubbish. Towels were changed once and the bath mat not at all. Maria and her family who run this Thomas Cook apartment block never did anything all day ! So unfriendly they never even said goodbye to us when we left. We had to use an airfreshener spray when she did mop the floor on the one occasion because the whole apartment stank afterwards. The air con never worked properly and was not sufficient for a two bedroomed apartment so we sweated all night in 32 degree heat. This is no way a 3 star apartment block as advertised by Thomas Cook online and in their brochures.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanditOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

nice trip hotel at first ok then it all changes we had 3 adults 2 children also in another apt 2 adults 1 child son quite ignarant mother face no freimdly daughter same husband no english at all so no conversation aaaaaapt basic a little out of the way nikos nicer

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xfactor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

When i stayed at Athena Apartments i was very unhappy with the service. I stayed for a week and the bedding wasn't even changed at all. I got 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel to last me 4 days, i found this very unhygenic as when its hot you like to have alot of showers through out the day. Then when i asked if i could get a clean towel i was moaned at by the staff for asking. The shower is just a base and you have to hose your self down as its not a proper shower. you get 1 toilet roll to last you a week and if you run out you have to buy yuor own.There is no settee in the living area and no T.V for rent. There is a shop round the corner called Maria's and the people in there are brilkliant,very friendly and helpfull.Stalis in Crete is a beautiful place and i will definatley be going back again but just not to this apartment.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NICNICNICNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.3 km away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
462 reviews
1.3 km away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#6 of 52 in Stalis
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#14 of 52 in Stalis
242 reviews
2.2 km away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,352 reviews
1.1 km away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#23 of 52 in Stalis
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Apartments

Address: 24 Ippokratous, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Price Range: ₹ 1,225 - ₹ 17,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athena Apartments is a cozy, home-like, three-star holiday accommodation collection of 20 self-catering apartments found in Stalida, close to famous Malia and Hersonissos. It is strategically located to combine serenity and calmness with the famous nightlife of the area. Surrounded by the green color of the well-kept gardens, under the light blue of the day sky, the heart of the hotel beats at the shimmering zephyr water of the pool. All apartments have a view of the gardens or the pool. Rewind while enjoying a refreshing soft-drink, a light snack or an ice-cream under the Cretan sun during the day or an alcoholic beverage at the pool bar of the hotel at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Apartments Hotel Stalis
Athena Apartments Stalis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing