We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$110
View deal
Hotels.com$134
Priceline$146
Travelocity$134
Trip.com$138
ZenHotels.com$129
Agoda.com$115
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveller rating
652
600
214
64
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
652
600
214
64
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team pool bar beachfront bungalow sea view salt water great holiday main building close to the airport evening entertainment water polo aqua gym games room chicken nuggets minutes from the airport plenty of sunbeds heraklion airport main bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

Loved the hotel. The property was at full capacity so you would expect to have issues with meal times and sun beds but this was not the case. We were lucky enough to be given a comp upgrade to a seafront bungalow with its own private pool. This was fully utilized by my 5 year old who never got bored once in 7 days. Between the pool, ocean, beach, water park, kids club and live evening entertainment we never had the need for anything else.
The food was great and always something new to try. I think for us though the highlight of the trip was the friendliness of the staff. Always happy to help with a smile on their faces.

A few minor things that we felt could be improved upon. The AC was not great to start but after contacting the front desk all of a sudden it started working better which makes me think it is limited via a central control unit.
The pillows were uncomfortable. So maybe pack your own.
There is only 2 English tv stations being bbc world news and French news in English.

I would love to think one day we will revisit this hotel .

Room tip: I would recommend booking a sea front bungalow with a pool.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Abainborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ariadni Chnara, Sales at Arina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and experience on this site following your recent stay with us.
We would also like to thank you for all the comments written and assure you that we will take them into consideration in order to ameliorate our services even more in the future!
We are looking forward to accommodating you again in the near future and offering another holiday experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2022

My family and I (2 adults and one 6 yo) we were at Arina for 7 night in July.
We arrived at the hotel around 10 30 in the morning due to an early flight an along with others we received the room around 14 30. Even though there were a lot of other guests that had no kids, we and another couple (small kid, pregnant wife) were the last to get the rooms. On the other side, the check in was starting at 3 pm and we were allowed to go to the restaurant.
Once we got in the room we had to wait 10 min for the plumber to fix something in the bathroom.
We had a double superior room with sea view with a king size bed and a single bed for the kid. The room was large and clean, big flat screen tv with news channels in general (we were not here to watch tv anyway). We were able to see a nice sunset form the balcony and we had a beautiful view.
On the first day we were unable to go to the pool/beach because we were too tired so we decided to have dinner and go for a swim the next day.
The food was very nice at first since the resort was not full. Had a very diverse choice of dishes, from local ones to pizza and focaccia, pasta with 3 types of sauce to noodles, fish and seafood, grilled pork, chicken, beef and turkey. The deserts were also varied, some very nice, some simply bad. There are 2 additional restaurants: an a la carte one and a fusion chinese one that you can go to if you make a reservation from the reception. We went there once, the food was really modest with not many things to chose from.
Once the resort got crowded, the quality of food took a deep dive: pork that the knives were unable to cut, fresh pasta but not cooked at all (and that was a real pity because you don't get freshly made pasta in many places) that you could easily turn into a ball of dough, gyros present daily. Worst part: after drinking water at breakfast (the only common thing we all consumed), we got enteritis. We consumed nothing from outside of the resort except for bottled water which we had since first day without any issue. We addressed the situation to the restaurant manager but he denied that there was any issue with their products (like any manager will ever admit that). As a coincidence, the same night we needed a doctor, one was visiting another child in the resort and was unable to visit us because that kid had to be taken to the hospital and the toilets near the big pool looked like someone lost a war against diarrhea. But that is just a coincidence, right? Also, saw in the news that enteritis is a problem in Crete these days. We visited the doctor that they have at the hotel in the morning (120 euros fee for the consultation, we hope to get this covered by insurance) and he pointed that it looks like viral enteritis (he was 100% right) and this is taken from water or dishes not properly washed.
The room was properly taken care of in the beginning but later even if we pressed the "clean the room" button, for two days straight no one came to do the cleaning. No toilet paper or shower gel were delivered and we had to ask for those 5 days after we got to the hotel. Not quite ok to go ask at the reception for toilet paper or shower gel at a 4 star hotel.
The sheet that was on the kids bed was removed when they cleaned the room but we did not get one back. Also there were some issues with the shower that when used normally, the bathroom was getting flooded.
Three days into out stay, the weather changed and the was windy. The red flag was up on the beach meaning no one was allowed in the sea. But hey! we got the pools and the big one has salted water and we can go there, right? WRONG! The pools schedule was from 10 am to 6 pm because this was the lifeguard schedule. Too bad we saw NO lifeguard during our stay. There was one on the beach but none at the pools (the big one and the heart shaped one). Anyway, going at the pool around 9 am, we as many others were unable to find any empty sunbeds (some guess were coming to the pool, looked around (saw around 10 people present and over 80 sunbeds covered with towels) and left.. They were all covered with towels even the rules said that this was not allowed. But also there was NO ONE there to see that the rules are applied. So we went to the reception and asked how can we use the facilities if basically we cannot get a sunbed. Of course nothing changed and we had to go for a walk that day since the pool was off limits. The main issue was that at the heart shaped pool all the sun beds were taken and there were 5 people there (took pictures, showed them at reception, shoulders raised, nothing happened) for the whole day. The big pool, same situation. More than 70% remained unoccupied but with towels on them and no one took care of this. So if you got a red flag, better get up at 7 am, get a towel on the sunbed and this is how you get access to the pool. This is actually one of their biggest issues and the hotel has no interest on educating their guests on this matter.
The staff: at the restaurant they were ok. At the bar, another perspective. If you do not tip them day one, don't even think they will answer to your salute and appreciate that you take the used cups to them. Say hello -> get ignored. On the other hand a tourist that tipped them was treated differently "hello! how can we serve you today? we have this and this" and so on. Education at its best! As a piece of advice, the tips are given on the services you provide and not the other way around.
But even so, we left a tip for the cleaning lady (5 euros) and yet the service was still bad.
The problems began when the resort got crowded. We understood that there are 300 rooms in different buildings and it seems there is not enough personnel. Simply there are not enough employees to take care of the most vital issues there. Seems at some point they extended without much thought. Tbh I still have no idea why there is a bar at the kids pool and none at the heart shaped pool for example.
They also need to admit that there are some issues and act accordingly. We had to spend the last 2 days in our room due to getting sick and 2 days we had to go away because we had no sun beds at the pool. At least form the room we had a nice view.
In general the resort is looking very nice, clean and spacious. They also had an indoor pool (can't take the kids there if they cannot be totally silent which is understandable), PC with internet connection which is very ok, a car rent desk that also have kids car seats, small shop where you can find anything you need at a very good price. To move around you can get the bus or a taxi, the reception will call one for you. There are also lots of other facilities, you just need time to discover them all.
If you want to go there, just go and maybe you will have more luck. The place is nice, the staff needs to do better and some of the staff needs basic common sense. But you can't get everything, right?

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexCr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ariadni Chnara, Sales at Arina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2022

Dear Guest,
kindly note that we are of course disheartened to read your comments but please rest assured that our ultimate goal is always to offer a quality holiday experience and reach to the needs of our guests in every single moment.
Our guest service levels are of the utmost importance to us and we are really astonished by the comments raised over the professionalism of our staff as we always endeavor to exceed our guests’ expectations. Please allow us to reassure you that we have every desire to address the needs of our guests and we welcome any kind of constructive criticism that will help us improve at what we do.
We must though say that your perception regarding our staff is overwhelming since we always receive positive feedback when it comes to our staff and their services.
As our guests do, consider our food quality a major issue , we are on top looking into it daily .Food is a very important matter for our hotel and the comments you raised really surprised us as none of our quests have made any comment about it.
Hotel runs with high occupancies since the beginning of season & really, we are really surprised by the comments raised by your end since we operate with the same consistency at all times.
Health and safety awareness is one of the most highly prioritized practices and always closely monitored as our guests’ safety is our number one concern at all times.
We hope we will have another opportunity to restore your faith in Arina Beach and we look forward to welcome you back in our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2022

6 night trip with 3 small kids and have to say the hotel, room, facilities and staff were all top class. The food is great and the water park kept the kids entertained throughout! Reception staff are outstandingly welcoming and we also had a massage in the lovely spa where Katarina was excellent as well as the the front desk staff who were exceptional. Evening sunset views were phenomenal. I never got to meet Vera who was so helpful even before arrival but overall can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. Great memories created. Areas to improve, pillows could be better and drinks could be stronger but doesn't deter from a 5 out of 5!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 206jagdeepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ariadni Chnara, Sales at Arina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Dear Guest,
We are glad to read your comments about your experience here with us. It is our pleasure to ensure that our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay and we are pleased that we were able to assist in creating a nice holiday experience.
We are thankful for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2022

We stayed at the Arina hotel for 5 nights, a family with 2 children , 5 years old. We got a room with private pool which was nice, clean and spacious! The hotel's area is not great as its surrounded by old buildings but overall the hotel is big, modern with nice common areas. The food is lovely with plenty of choice and freshly cooked! the snack bars serve food and snacks almost every day which is a plus! The waterpark is also fun and great for all ages. However we believe that kids club needs a lot of improvement in matter of staff and also activities as we found some activtities repetitive . The staff also wasn't enough for the amount of kids participating. We also found the entertaining at night a bit boring with a lot of foreign music and not enough traditional cretan music/dancing.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annaandreou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ariadni Chnara, Sales at Arina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and experience on this site following your recent stay with us.
We would also like to thank you for all the comments written and assure you that we will take them into consideration in order to ameliorate our services even more in the future!
We are looking forward to accommodating you again in the near future and offering another holiday experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

We really enjoyed a 7-night stay that was a sensation with exceptional accommodation in a room with its own pool. The room was particularly clean, otherwise the pool was cleaned daily and the cleaning staff were very kind. The food very good for everyone's taste and very diversified. A very big advantage is that the Hotel is located on the sandy beach and close to the city of Herklion and the airport where the transfer to this location is very easy and fast. I was pleasantly impressed by the entire staff who takes care of the clients of the resort and especially the Hotel Manager, Mr. George Baxevanis, who supervises from the shadows all the activity within the resort, showing a high level of professionalism, an occasion for which we are personally grateful. We will return with great pleasure to this place with so many wonderful people !

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 694ovidiut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ariadni Chnara, Sales at Arina Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a nice review about your stay at the Arina Beach Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. It is our aim to meet all our guests’ expectations and it is a reward for our efforts when we read that our guests have had such a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews