We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We would agree that this is nowhere near a 5 star hotel - in fact the worst all-inclusive we have stayed in so far.
Firstly, the air conditioning in our room did not work at all so we requested a move. The next room had air conditioning which was really noisy and had to be 'patched up' to stop it vibrating in order to get some sleep. The air conditioning was not working in either the restaurant areas or the main part of the hotel. There is an internet corner where it is so hot it is unbearable. To sit in the main foyer of the hotel (which we had to do for 5.5 hours), you can only sit by the door in order to get some air. The air con is also filthy which is a concern in the eating areas.
Secondly, 2 of our party suffered from food poisoning towards the end of our stay. This was completely ignored and denied by the management in spite of the fact that we knew of at least 10 english people (english were very much in the minority) who also had the same symptoms the same day. Food hygiene was concerning, especially when the waiters would pick up cutlery which had fallen onto the floor and put it back onto the table. We had to ask for visibly dirty paper napkins to be removed from the table at one meal and there was a human hair in the soup on one occasion. Another concern was the filthy counterpane on the bed and we removed several cockroaches from the room on separate occasions.
Thirdly, one of the reception staff was extremely unhelpful to the point of being rude when we asked if we could extend the booking of the room as our flight did not depart until early morning. We were told this would cost 155 euros in addition to the 45 we had already paid for 9 hours. No concern was shown considering one of our party was vomitting. We can agree with other negative comments made by other reviews and would definitely not recommend this hotel.
The day time animation team however, were the best we have ever had.

Room Tip: The night-time entertainment was very noisy by the bar so avoid any room within range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you gave some of your time to write down useful remarks about your stay in our hotel.
Please be assured hat we rate customer satisfaction as our highest priority. This is why your specific comments, which we received from you upon your departure, are most valuable to us.

We are regret to hear and we are really sorry for the all inconveniences you had during your stay.
We guarantee that we pay special attention to your remarks as these give us the opportunity to look into certain matters more carefully and they help us to improve our standards.

The situation with "food poisoning" is impossible. It can be virus or something else, because our food is all the time under control of the Medical Center.

Thank you for your evaluation and we hope that one day we will be able to prove to you, your contributions to our continuous improvement process.

Hoping to welcome you again in the future we remain.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager,
Volodina Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,652
    916
    313
    124
    71
See reviews for
1,467
884
61
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My main annoyance with this hotel really had nothing to do with service or cleanliness and believe it or not even though I do have some scathing comments, we did have a good holiday, it was the entertainment!

Evenings in family hotels need to be orientated to family entertainment this was not. "OH NO!!!!!!"

Bingo calling shocked me when a no. 10 was called this was Maradonna Number 10 Cocaine!!!!! OMG !!! really suitable for kids!

One of the sketches (which we missed thank goodness) was the leader of the group on stage putting on women Knickers on his head adjusting the crotch so it was over his nose and sniffing it.

Simulating Peeing (called the PEE PEE SKETCH) in several different languages including the UK pee-er with a pint of lager in one hand and a tube hanging out of the guys flies in the other and squirting water on the audience. The African one was no better. He was dressed as a rasta (what that has to do with Africa I really don't know), but he came out smoking a simulated spliff and the rest I can leave to your imagination.

If that wasn't bad enough he then proceeded to ride a scouter through the audience (to do a grease sketch) where the space he had to ride it through was narrow and populated by small children

Another one was where a balloon was used to simulate a condom and pretending to put it ........well another one for the imagination

Miss Rinela Beach, Mr Rinela Beach, karyoki and rock and roll dancingish all by the hotel occupants (really come on, are we in Butlins in 1975 I don't think so)

I am no prude by any means and like a good laugh as much as the next person, but this was unimaginative, lazy entertainment, If it had been billed as "having adult content" then we wouldn't have taken our 7 year old son to see the live shows and I wouldn't be complaining. Kids just love any kind of live shows no matter how bad, but even my son thought it was terrible even the dancing and singing were poorly choreographed and all songs were mimed badly

and if this wasn't enough the animation team spent nearly all their time trying to sell you raffle tickets, tombola tickets, bingo tickets T shirts (they worked on commission and it became really annoying, I would rather be on a beach with genuine hawkers that put up with that again.)

SACK THE ENTERTAINMENTS MANAGER PLEASE I BEG OF YOU!!!!

I would like to point out though that The Rinela Beach Hotel is very clean, in beautiful grounds that are well maintained and in a pleasant spot on the coast, but I would never say that this is a 5 star hotel and should not be advertised as so.

On arrival having filled in forms after a long days travelling (not too impressed) and had to lug 3 suit cases and a very tired little boy to our room, we were greeted by an air con unit that was so loud I would have complained about it if I was 3 doors away! this however was soon fixed by wedging a piece of cardboard under the cover to stop it vibrating.

Next morning at breakfast you are in a free for all, get it while you can attitude, of most of the other hotel occupants, to be honest it really felt like most of them hadn't eat for over a week and they just couldn't get to the food quick enough or put enough on their plates. The dining room is too small and badly laid out (plus no air con and very hot)

Most meal times were the same and due to the fact that every lunch time menu and evening menu were pretty much exactly the same after just a couple of days it was like GROUND HOG DAY and we mixed it up with the Taverna and the Chinese restaurants which were ok, so it made it a little more bearable. (You had to book these by 8am in the morning too)

Sunbeds were all pretty much taken by 8ish in the morning so we had to be up early too.

This hotel lacks finesse those finishing touches that make a 5 star hotel stand out from a 3-4 star hotel one.
Mini bars in rooms only stacked every couple of days, we had a room for 3 and only had two of each drink including water (no alcohol either)
Noisy Air Con
Slamming of doors constantly (the room doors were heavy fire doors, and when slammed made an almighty bang which echoed in the marble lined corridors) really annoying at 10pm, 10.30pm, 11pm etc etc until about 1am.
Really poor food choices in the main restaurant
Food at the pool bar was only toasted sandwiches, which you had to wait in endless queues, later on on the day it was only crepes and the queue was even worse for those.
Water was from the tap, but I was assured that it had been filtered

All things considered for the price this was a cheap and cheerful holiday, but don't expect 5 star even by Greek standards it isn't ( I have been to 2, 4.5 star hotels within the last 12 months on other Greek islands and this one doesn't compare at all to those (see my other reviews)

Take it for what it is, a cheap break and you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: Try to get a family room if you had 2 kids, otherwise you will get a room with 3 beds and a camp bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraceyA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-in-makerfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Booked this hotel on strength of the reviews on here so thanks to everyone who posted because we had a fabulous holiday. Stayed for two weeks returning 26/7/12 all I can say us if you have booked to go get very excited and enjoy it. We had a room in the main building with a view of the mountains to be fair we did ask for a bigger room but we ending up staying it was a bit cramped with 4 of us but due to time of year all family rooms were booked so check with your agent if you have a family rooms because otherwise you won't get one however this did not ruin our holiday at all. Plenty of activity for little ones and some sport for teens but most teens were more interested in the wifi in reception to Facebook back to uk!! Food great I agree that it's worth a 5 min wait for an outside table as very warm inside. Nikos at the Taverna has his restaurant running smoothly and the sunset is so beautiful book in a day before for lunch or dinner it's worth it. The Chinese is brilliant we found the amounts plentiful and so tasty we liked the fact that in all restaurants the food was cooked fresh in front of you the omlettes at breakfast were fabulous. Plenty going on around the pool we preferred the beach when the breeze picks up the waves are great and you can go out a bit still waist high. The hotel does have a no reserve beds policy so if you leave your towels for a few hours expect to have them neatly folded by other guests as they will exercise the hotels policy to do this not a British thing to do but at this hotel Brits are in the minority which we did not see as a problem at all. We loved the fact that from 5.30pm the bar was waiter service Stelios Spiros and Gorgia were our favourites always happy and smiley and remembered your tipple having been to other all inclusives were bar closes at 11 and min of two drinks this made for a more relaxing evening and the only time your drink is served in a plastic cup is around the bar and beach which is totally understandable. The hotel is spotless infact the baby pool is emptied everyday and cleaned with soapy water daily before being refilled I have never seen this done in any previous hotels I stayed at. So go/book and be reassured you will have a fab time and will come home relaxed and with a feeling you got value for money. One last tip don't forget to tip the staff they deserve it !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Mitsis Rinela Beach Hotel.
Please be assured that we rate customer satisfaction as our highest priority. This is why positive and so detailed feedback like we received from you is most valuable to us. It proves us that we are progressing in the right direction.
Also we are thank you for a such warm words about our staff.
We would deeply appreciate it if your stay here would also prompt you to reccomend our resort to your family and friends.
Thank you again for your kind evaluation. Hoping to welcom you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager,
Volodina Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We arrived late and were told they had put a sandwich in the minibar for us. Nice touch, the little things matter
Don't normally go to a hotel twice but will be back here again

Your loss if you don't go

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Mitsis Rinela Beach Hotel.
We would deeply appreciate it if your stay here would also prompt you to reccomend our resort to your family and friends.
Thank you again for your kind evaluation. Hoping to welcom you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager,
Volodina Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

It may seem hard to believe that this hotel truly deserves all of the over-the-top reviews but doubt no more! From the idyllic location to the quality of service to the amenities on site the hotel meets one's highest expectations due in large part to the attention to detail paid by its staff and proprietors.
In choosing a hotel on Creta, I was looking for a hotel with, of course, great reviews from tripadvisor contributors, a gorgeous view, an outdoor hot tub and a nice pool. Rinela Hotel exceeded all expectations on every front and more. It is not only a magnificent location but, as you will note from other reviews, the hotel is operated with great generosity of spirit as well as professionalism. This contributes to the feeling of being a truly valued guest in every sense of the word.
Rooms are charmingly appointed and spacious and clean with private balcony or terrace overlooking to the sea or to the pool!
While no formal restaurant on site, light snacks and breakfasts are delicious and there are many restaurants on the island to explore for dinners.
The view (at anytime, really, but especially at sunset) is gorgeus! There is also bus service almost at the door for those who don't wish to rent a car to explore the island.
In sum, romantic and charming and one of the loveliest places in the world to visit.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zamfir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Mitsis Rinela Beach Hotel and that you liked our sea view so much!
Please be assured that we rate customer satisfaction as our highest priority. This is why positive and so detailed feedback like we received from you is most valuable to us. It proves us that we are progressing in the right direction.
We would deeply appreciate it if your stay here would also prompt you to reccomend our resort to your family and friends.
Thank you again for your kind evaluation. Hoping to welcom you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager,
Volodina Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1.7 km away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
11.2 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 179 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
6.8 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa
56.7 km away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
42.6 km away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,977 - ₹ 15,955
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing