We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Hotels.com
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Travelocity$112
Priceline$124
Trip.com$118
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
351
234
87
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
234
87
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cloud forest night walk original canopy zip line walking trails costa rica nature lovers extra blankets rooms are basic room was large breakfast was included recommend this place feeders wildlife wilberth town guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2022 via mobile

Beautiful views and wonderful staff. The staff were incredible here, both at reception for sorting us out with trips, taxis and information and in the restaurant the waiter was so friendly and lovely, pointing out birds and wildlife and asking about our stay. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms are basic but comfortable. We didn’t have a car and whilst we managed okay (Selvatura offered a free shuttle) it is worth bearing in mind that the hotel is over 2km (all uphill) from Santa Elena. We did the walk from Santa Elena twice as we couldn’t get a taxi and it is a trek due to the incline. So worth bearing this in mind if you won’t have your own transport.

Room tip: Consider the location if you aren’t hiring a car. We found it okay but we’re pretty fit and don’t mind walking.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hollyb660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2022

We are very pleased to have received your comment, we always give our best, so that tourists receive the best possible service and in turn obtain a great experience from their stay in our lodge, we hope that soon they can return to Costa Rica and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2022

My sister and I had lunch and coffee in this hotel. It was one of our best experiences in Monteverde. We saw monkeys while having lunch! The food was delicious (the nachos are out of this world!) and the coffee and pastries were just marvelous. The staff was super helpful and kind. A must visit for our next trip to Monteverde, and I am pretty sure we will stay here.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Li R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

We appreciate your visit and comment, we are very happy to know that your stay at our hotel achieved the goal we always seek, to be able to convey to our clients the importance of being able to live with nature and how important people are to us. We always seek to give the best of each one of us and that visitors have an excellent experience that motivates them to return, this will always be their home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2022 via mobile

Stayed with my family for 3 nights. Nice rustic rooms, clean and nice location. We stayed in C.R. for 2 months and only at this hotel we had a bad experience with the manager, being used to great customer service elsewhere in CR and in around the world, we were totally gobsmacked when the manager decided to tell us off and gave us a ridiculous speech about parental responsibility due to my 1 year old breaking a tiny ornament plate that was in the lobby area. I asked him what was the value of this plate and he said $6!!! And he was strongly suggesting we needed to pay for it. I found this so offensive not only because the plate was worth such a small amount but mainly because of his arogant attitude and speech given to us. It was like something terrible had happened but not it was only a broken plate by a 1yr old!! And only a kind observation to this guy that the plate was placed on a table right next to the children's drawing table, so I kindly suggest you if you dont want any of your precious cheap ornaments to be broken by children, it would be wiser to place them away from the children's " entertainment "area. That's only a small suggestion but second and mainly one Mr. WILBERTH PARAJELES regardless of how long you've managed this hotel for, its clearly you have close to cero customer service skills and you may need some basic training on this as specially in your industry it is not only about making a little or a lot of profit but its mainly about making customers feel comfortable and happy and unfortunately with your silly speech about children's behaviours and parental responsibility you were & are pretty far from reaching the customer satisfaction.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marimorle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jorge Taylor, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

Very sorry for the inconvenience. Our manager has been known for his outstanding customer service for more than 25 years. You just have to read other guest's reviews to verify this information. We are a family oriented property and children are among our preferred guests. It is normal for children to break things, that we know, however one thing is for a child to break something a different thing when he starts throwing very thing at hand to the floor. You mentioned your self upon check in, that your young one was a little restless and had recently had a cast removed from his arm due to his restlessness. It was not our mangers intention to lecture you on parenting, but most of our guest with children assume their responsibility for damages caused by their kids, which you refused to do. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you have enjoyed the rest of your Cosa Rica Vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2022

Stayed for 2 nights and was such a nice and clean stay. Amazing restaurant food and happy hour deals. Adventure zip lining through hotel is a must do! The views are amazing here for a sunset/sunrise. Highly recommend

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank oliviamarie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022
Google Translation

muchas gracias por hospedarse en nuestro hotel, nos gusta recibir los comentarios de nuestros huespedes, ya que estos nos permiten poder mejorar y en este caso nos llena mucho el saber que disfrutaron de sus estadia y que lo pasaron bien, esperamos que un dia puedan regresar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed here with our family on a Christmas trip in 2018. It had taken me this long to write a review as it’s not something I have done before. We as a family absolutely loved this place. The setting is fantastic and the view from the restaurant of the valley below is stunning. We saw the most beautiful hummingbirds, cuckoos & many other birds right beside us, it was incredible. The room was clean & had a lovely area outside where we could sit & watch the wildlife.
On the way to the airport we had a terrible car accident going down the mountain when our brakes failed & the car flipped although thankfully we were all uninjured. We had to sort a lot out that day with the insurance etc & had to go back to the Cloud Forest Hotel that night to stay. The manager of the hotel Wilberth Parajeles was truly amazing. He did not charge us for this nights stay and was so kind and helpful- we will never forget his kindness and would love to return one day!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank poppypatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2022

We stayed here with our family on a Christmas trip in 2018. It had taken me this long to write a review as it’s not something I have done before. We as a family absolutely loved this place. The setting is fantastic and the view from the restaurant of the valley below is stunning. We saw the most beautiful hummingbirds, cuckoos & many other birds right beside us, it was incredible. The room was clean & had a lovely area outside where we could sit & watch the wildlife.
On the way to the airport we had a terrible car accident going down the mountain when our brakes failed & the car flipped although thankfully we were all uninjured. We had to sort a lot out that day with the insurance etc & had to go back to the Cloud Forest Hotel that night to stay. The manager of the hotel Wilberth Parajeles was truly amazing. He did not charge us for this nights stay and was so kind and helpful- we will never forget his kindness and would love to return one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews