We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$118
Hotels.com$112
Priceline$124
Travelocity$112
Trip.com$118
Tripadvisor$112
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
351
234
87
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
234
87
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cloud forest night walk original canopy zip line walking trails costa rica nature lovers extra blankets rooms are basic room was large breakfast was included recommend this place feeders wildlife wilberth town guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2022 via mobile

Stayed with my family for 3 nights. Nice rustic rooms, clean and nice location. We stayed in C.R. for 2 months and only at this hotel we had a bad experience with the manager, being used to great customer service elsewhere in CR and in around the world, we were totally gobsmacked when the manager decided to tell us off and gave us a ridiculous speech about parental responsibility due to my 1 year old breaking a tiny ornament plate that was in the lobby area. I asked him what was the value of this plate and he said $6!!! And he was strongly suggesting we needed to pay for it. I found this so offensive not only because the plate was worth such a small amount but mainly because of his arogant attitude and speech given to us. It was like something terrible had happened but not it was only a broken plate by a 1yr old!! And only a kind observation to this guy that the plate was placed on a table right next to the children's drawing table, so I kindly suggest you if you dont want any of your precious cheap ornaments to be broken by children, it would be wiser to place them away from the children's " entertainment "area. That's only a small suggestion but second and mainly one Mr. WILBERTH PARAJELES regardless of how long you've managed this hotel for, its clearly you have close to cero customer service skills and you may need some basic training on this as specially in your industry it is not only about making a little or a lot of profit but its mainly about making customers feel comfortable and happy and unfortunately with your silly speech about children's behaviours and parental responsibility you were & are pretty far from reaching the customer satisfaction.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marimorle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jorge Taylor, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

Very sorry for the inconvenience. Our manager has been known for his outstanding customer service for more than 25 years. You just have to read other guest's reviews to verify this information. We are a family oriented property and children are among our preferred guests. It is normal for children to break things, that we know, however one thing is for a child to break something a different thing when he starts throwing very thing at hand to the floor. You mentioned your self upon check in, that your young one was a little restless and had recently had a cast removed from his arm due to his restlessness. It was not our mangers intention to lecture you on parenting, but most of our guest with children assume their responsibility for damages caused by their kids, which you refused to do. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you have enjoyed the rest of your Cosa Rica Vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2022

Stayed for 2 nights and was such a nice and clean stay. Amazing restaurant food and happy hour deals. Adventure zip lining through hotel is a must do! The views are amazing here for a sunset/sunrise. Highly recommend

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank oliviamarie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022
Google Translation

muchas gracias por hospedarse en nuestro hotel, nos gusta recibir los comentarios de nuestros huespedes, ya que estos nos permiten poder mejorar y en este caso nos llena mucho el saber que disfrutaron de sus estadia y que lo pasaron bien, esperamos que un dia puedan regresar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed here with our family on a Christmas trip in 2018. It had taken me this long to write a review as it’s not something I have done before. We as a family absolutely loved this place. The setting is fantastic and the view from the restaurant of the valley below is stunning. We saw the most beautiful hummingbirds, cuckoos & many other birds right beside us, it was incredible. The room was clean & had a lovely area outside where we could sit & watch the wildlife.
On the way to the airport we had a terrible car accident going down the mountain when our brakes failed & the car flipped although thankfully we were all uninjured. We had to sort a lot out that day with the insurance etc & had to go back to the Cloud Forest Hotel that night to stay. The manager of the hotel Wilberth Parajeles was truly amazing. He did not charge us for this nights stay and was so kind and helpful- we will never forget his kindness and would love to return one day!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank poppypatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2022

We stayed here with our family on a Christmas trip in 2018. It had taken me this long to write a review as it’s not something I have done before. We as a family absolutely loved this place. The setting is fantastic and the view from the restaurant of the valley below is stunning. We saw the most beautiful hummingbirds, cuckoos & many other birds right beside us, it was incredible. The room was clean & had a lovely area outside where we could sit & watch the wildlife.
On the way to the airport we had a terrible car accident going down the mountain when our brakes failed & the car flipped although thankfully we were all uninjured. We had to sort a lot out that day with the insurance etc & had to go back to the Cloud Forest Hotel that night to stay. The manager of the hotel Wilberth Parajeles was truly amazing. He did not charge us for this nights stay and was so kind and helpful- we will never forget his kindness and would love to return one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2021 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at the cloud forest lodge. It’s quite, well maintained, peaceful and so serene. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, plenty of space, well kept grounds and lovely walking trails. You can see many birds and wildlife around the lodge. It’s close to the city center and easily accessible by a taxi.
Breakfast is delicious, with limited choices but always very good service. The service is always good and staff is very helpful. At night you can see the clouds moving in! It’s so so different from everywhere we’ve stayed before.
Will love to come back!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bluepetalfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Thank you very much for the visit and your comments, we are very happy to receive you and to know that you had a good time,
We hope that if one day you return to Costa Rica, you can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021 via mobile

We had a great time at this lodge starting with our airport pick up by Jorge. As birders, nature lovers and hikers our experience was exceptional. Wilberth and his friendly staff arranged an experienced local birding guide. We went with him on 3 trips. As a life long resident of Monteverde his knowledge went way beyond birds. This fact added tremendously to our enjoyment of the area. Land around the lodge has beautiful trails and a waterfall that attract an abundance of birds. The viewing areas in the restaurant are breathtaking and birds are everywhere. Some are encouraged to linger at the feeding platforms and sugar water feeders.
In the creature comfort department, little is lacking. Our cabin, with king bed, was spacious, beautifully constructed with high ceilings and lots of light. The cabin was very clean. We had a porch with chairs where we birded. After hiking in altitude the massages, arranged by the staff, were welcome. The complimentary breakfast was generous. The dinner menu was extensive and we enjoyed all the home cooked meals. The staff was very attentive and decorated our cabin with a birthday banner for my husband and a complimentary bottle of wine. Everyone who saw us that day gave him birthday wishes. Our dinner that night included cheese cake with a candle and a serenade by our waitress and the lodge owner. We can’t wait to return.
We can’t wait to go back.

Room tip: Bring rain gear and shoes.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank flicker15210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

We are not the most luxurious or deluxe hotel in monteverde, we always tell our guests that our seal of quality is peace and harmony, since we are located in one of the most privileged points of monteverde, each and every one of the staff understands that our job is to do our best. All comments are very important to us, in this it fills us very much to receive it and to know that we managed to make you understand and accept that when people talk to us, they communicate openly and clearly, we can always give and receive what better: Elizabeth really was a great pleasure to receive you and have Paul celebrate one of his birthdays at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews