We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cute little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Orquideas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #5 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Its a cute little bed and breakfast place. Its a family-run house with the rooms opening up to a common TV and dining area. The view from the deck is AWESOME, but the room doesn't open up to the deck (the entrance is from the kitchen). The people barely speak english, but they are pretty helpful and friendly. Elisa, the owner, cooked breakfast to order (scrambled eggs and toast) and served tea and OJ. She also helped us book a tour and allowed us to checkout late since our tour finished in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    68
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
103
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at Las Orquideas this past June and had a lovely stay. The room was rustic, with carved wooden beds and basic accommodations. My husband and I stayed in one room, while our children had an adjoining room with a bunk bed and there was also another twin bed in the room. They preferred the bunk beds, of course. The staff is helpful and friendly, and the owner exemplified this, as well. It seems that there was pride and care taken in making guests feel comfortable and we certainly appreciated this. That said, the breakfast that was the best! Everyday we were treated to a homemade, freshly prepared breakfast (a nice variety that included eggs, omelets, typical Tico rice and beans that were so flavorful, fresh fruit, coffee, hot cocoa, etc.) We enjoyed our stay in Santa Elena and walked to the town everyday while we stayed at in the Monteverde area of Costa Rica. For us, Las Orquideas was a nice place to stay and to begin our Costa Rican adventure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way out of San Jose. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the property is beautiful. We enjoyed the pool. This hotel is not close to anything so you're forced to eat at the restaurant. The food was ok, a little over priced. The staff were quite kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great hotel! Great locations! And the owners are so sweet, hospitable, and know from experience all that the beautiful Costa Rica has to offer. We had an unforgettable stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

For the price, it's a great deal. It's not luxurious but it is a nice place to stay. It's close to town. The owner is very helpful in organizing excursions and the place has a cozy feel. Breakfast is made to order which is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TresaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 km away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.4 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Property: Hotel Las Orquideas
Address: | 300 meters south of Santa Elena, frente a la Caballeriza el Rodeo, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,775 - ₹ 7,367
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Orquideas is owned and operated by a local Tico family that lived in U.S. for 29 years. We are located at the entrance of the Monteverde area, only 300 meters from the small town of Santa Elena, the commercial center of Monteverde, as you drive in from the Pan-American Highway. Here you will find unique, breathtaking views of the local waterfalls right out back with a private trail. The Tilaran mountain range where both, the Santa Elena and Monteverde Cloud Forest reserves are located, the Ecological Sanctuary, the San Luis Valley and the spectacular Gulf of Nicoya, all at one location. All rooms equipped with large windows to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Monteverde and the surrounding areas. We have two styles of rooms, rustic and modern. Beds are outfitted with therapeutic mattresses and hypo-allergenic sheets and comforters. Breakfasts are prepared and served right before your eyes. Come and visit us and feel like being on vacation in the comfort of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Orquideas Santa Elena
Las Orquideas Hotel Santa Elena
Hotel Las Orquideas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing