We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
132
235
163
74
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
235
163
74
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel cloud forest walls are thin stayed for nights eggs lodge town monteverde tour wood adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2022

This was not my first choice hotel for Monteverdi, but I am very glad I stayed here! There are multiple buildings, I think all were 2 stories. The property is beautifully groomed with fountains and flowers. It is off the main drag, so there was less traffic noise. I am a hiker, and I discovered that this made a perfect starting point for many Monteverdi hikes. Local day and night tours are available.
The hotel has a very good restaurant, the food was excellent, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Every morning, there was a raucous flock of keel billed toucans that made sure everybody was awake!
This is a hidden gem that I was glad to discover.

Room tip: Try to avoid the buildings along the back of the property, there are homes with dogs tied up outside that bark 24 hours a day.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fossilprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Orianna Quesada, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Good Morning fossilprep, we really appreciate your feedback!
We are so glad you enjoyed our natural open areas, were you can relax and truly connect with nature that Monteverde provides, including toucans!
You're right! Our hotel has just the perfect location! We are pretty close to several restaurants, souvenirs, tours, supermarkets and pharmacies.
We are pleased that you had a great time while visiting our restaurant. We offer different dishes in order to impart the best service and have a variety of options for all our guests, including vegetarian and vegan diets. Our highest priority is to provide the best service to all our guests!
Again, thank you for taking your time telling us how your experience went! We definitely hope you will visit us again someday!
Greetings from the family of Treebū Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2022

The people were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfy, the food in the restaurant was delicious, the grounds were impecable, wifi worked all the time….what more could you want? We would surely go back.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nories2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Orianna Quesada, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2022

Hello nories2022, thank you for your feedback!
Our main goal is to make sure you have the best experience possible while visiting Monteverde
We are glad to be part of your vacation, and truly hope you'll visit us again soon!
Greetings from Treebū Hotels family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2022

If you travel here crossing Lake Arenal you are in for real treat. The journey is amazing on this scenic stretch of massive water enroute to Monteverde and the Country Lodge. On arrival the lodge has a motel feel about it with its two storey buildings in the pleasing gardens. There are 36 classic rooms and 24 superior rooms. The superior rooms are nice enough but sadly have poor sound insulations qualities which a night can be real pain if you have noisy neighbours (and we did!). I assume the applies to the classic rooms too but the rooms were clean and had a very comfortable bed.

On the up side the staff in the reception and restaurant were delightful. However, use of the pool and facilities at the sister hotel, Poca a Poca, just didn't happen! We were eventually informed that the other hotel was too busy to accommodate us.

Our's was a breakfast only deal which was the high point of the stay here. Good food and service. But as we eat early we had choice of tables and enjoyed prompt service. However, with the breakfast rush the staff found it hard to cope.

Given the range of other accommodation on offer in the vicinity the lodge lacks real character or atmosphere unlike the nearby cloud forest, which it has a backdrop, and is totally amazing.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Orianna Quesada, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hello thepostie2010, thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay!

We are truly sorry for your inconvenience, we would have loved for you to tell us your concerns so we could do something about it.

We are glad our service was delightful, we focus on providing the best experience possible while your visiting Monteverde.

About the use of Poco a Poco's pool, we are sorry, sometimes our hotel is completely booked, and because of COVID-19 and our safety policies sometime, depending on our occupancy we can not allow our guests to use it as well, or it would be crowded.

Our main objective is to make our guests feel relaxed and completely satisfied, while enjoying the beauty that Monteverde provides.

Again, thank you for your time, we hope you have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2022

Starting on a positive... the staff in the restaurant were delightful and the room was clean. Unfortunately, everything else was a little underwhelming. There was very little character or atmosphere and the rooms were quite dark and lacked any warmth. It didn't help that we were there in the middle of a wild storm and the sound of the wind howling around the hotel made sleeping quite difficult - although certainly made our Monteverde visit memorable. It had the feeling of a motel and it was the first time we felt like we were on a tourist conveyor belt. The "offer" that guests can use the pool and facilities at the sister hotel, Poca a Poca, is misleading. We asked on reception a couple of times and were eventually told the hotel was too busy so we couldn't go over there. As it turns out, we went for a walk around the local Hidden Valley and spent the afternoon at the fabulous Cafe Escondido eating delicious wood fired pizzas and being looked after by the lovely staff. So I'm afraid I can't recommend Monteverde Country Lodge but can recommend Valle Escondido!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennysearle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kevin Madrigal, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2022

Hello dear jennysearle56, thank you so much for your feedback.
Please if during your stay there is something that is not getting with your satisfaction, do not hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to offer you more options. Our daily goal is to provide you the best experience possible. Monteverde is a cloud forest area, the wind is par of our weather. The information you can visit our sister property is completely true, but in all our policies is clear, is under the availability of this hotel, this looking to provide you the best service to you enjoy (the pool for example is available from 8:00 am until 9:00 pm, so there is a big frame of time you can choose to go).
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2022 via mobile

Adorable little lodge in Monteverde. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite. Walls are thin and you can hear everything from the neighbors. Hotel was very clean. A bit outside the town but it was a perfect walking location. We loved the flowers and the courtyard of the hotel. Breakfast was very good and plentiful.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank _steph91986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kevin Madrigal, General Manager at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2022

Hello dear _steph91986, thank you so much for your visit and taking your time to sharing your experience with us.
Every day we do our best to provide you the best service possible. Yes, our location is an excellent option to get relax. We love our gardens too, thank you so much.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews