We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hostel, pushy owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Tucan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Tucan
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine hostel, pushy owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights and the place was fine. There wasn't anything special about it but there were clean rooms and a big kitchen. They provide breakfast in the mornings that you cook yourself. The owner, Tony, greeted us right off of the bus in Santa Elena and promised better prices and bigger rooms than Pension Santa Elena across the street. He said he had a "room for $10" which sounded too good to be true and it turned out to be $10 per person, only $5 cheaper than the other hostel. The shower provided mostly hot water and the staff at the front desk was helpful. The hostel is centrally located so it got really noisy with street traffic at night and in the mornings. The town itself is pretty small so don't be afraid to look around for other places.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    33
    18
    34
See reviews for
4
61
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I arrived in Monteverde and after checking out several hostels, my friends and I decided El Tucan was the place for us. The owner was very friendly and the hostel's staff incredibly helpful when it came to tours and bus schedules.
Our room was clean, the beds very comfortable, ample blankets were provided due to the cold weather, and best of all, the bathroom was near spotless. The kitchen was clean and properly stocked with any utensil, pan or pot you might need.
The only thing I did not like was that the walls were very thin, and you could hear people talking downstairs and in the adjacent rooms. However, at exactly 10pm, everything quieted down and I got a wonderful sleep. The hospitality of the staff and owner, the cleanliness of the hostel and the quality of the beds and general upkeep of the hostel by far made up for the bit of noise.
I highly recommend this hostel and if I ever make a trip back to Monteverde, I will for sure be staying at El Tucan.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We loved this hostel!!! We were immediately greeted by the owner, and offered a fair price. We saw that the rooms were clean and well taken care of. The hostel is located in a great area, central to everything in Santa Elena/Monteverde. There are many places to sit and relax, and the kitchen is open for everyone to use. The staff is fantastic, and they offer information on all tours offered in the area. They can book everything for you, but do not pressure you into taking any tours. They are often available for questions and they are so easy to talk to and have great conversations with!!! We loved the atmosphere!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on one of the outer walls. The motorcycles can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Terrible experience at this hotel!!! Thin wooden walls through you hear all the guests talking in their rooms and loud noise from the television at the communal room which is located underneath the rooms.
Furthermore,I was locked outside my room (trying to go to the bathroom) when reception was closed and there was no phone and no number to reach the owner.Finally,with the police help,I located the Guy who shouted at me on the phone and only the policeman persuaded him to come!
The owner is very aggressive -be aware of the fact and stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank urga41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royner L, Director of Sales at Hotel El Tucan, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
It is very easy to write a bad review of a hostel when you are the customer, but why you don't has explained to the visitors that you was drinking alcohol and drugs into your room and then you was crying and making lot of noise touching the other customers doors? The other people from the hostel called the owner at midnight to notify him that you were disturbing at night, and then the police came and took you out of our hostel because you were very drunk. We always want to keep our customer in a very safe area and we are not going to tolerate any people trying to disturb the other customers at the hotel. The police in this case was the in charge to fix this problem and this normally never happens. Your bad feedback is affecting the other readers to think about what you wrote, so I hope Trip Advisor will be able to delete your message and penalize you for writing things that are not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The staff at El Tucan is great! They will help you organise all your activities at good prices. The rooms are clean, the kitchen is very functional and the prices are very affordable with breakfast included (eggs, toasts and fruits).
The owner (who speaks a very good english) is always around to help if you ever need enything.
We did the bungee and canopy which is definitely worth the stop in Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 km away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#5 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Monteverde Country Lodge
Monteverde Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#8 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tucan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tucan

Property: Hotel El Tucan
Address: Town Center, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,028 - ₹ 2,056
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Tucan is a perfect solution for travelers under a limited budget, we offer our customer very clean, comfortable and nice rooms under a very cheap cost. Cabinas El Tucan is located in Monteverde Costa Rica right on the Monteverde downtown. cabinas el tucan offer rooms with share and private bathrooms, all the bathrooms come with hotel water. Tv area, Game area, relaxing area, internet area, WIFI connection and breakfast include are a few of the great things offered by Cabinas El Tucan in Monteverde Costa Rica ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tucan Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing