We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
137
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread breakfast was delicious great stories home cooked horse riding costa rica brigitte leon accommodation nature beaches birds land ferry woken
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We, 2 adults and two older children, stayed in one of their two apartments for 5 nights in April 2017. The room was spacious with two doubles and a sofa bed, a basic kitchen and a large bathroom. Outside was ironwood decking and then a grassy area with loungers. The apartment was very clean with insect screens on all doors and windows. The owners were very helpful, suggesting places to go and assisting with bookings. We especially liked the (free) tour of their farm given by Leon. In the trees around the apartment we saw many birds, including Scarlet Macaws and some iguanas. This is a really lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

perfect farm stay for our family of 5 (kids 7,8 and 11)!!On our way coming from Tamarindo. Kids loved the horses, cows and farm dogs. The owners have been super supportive to make best out of our 2 nights stay. Brigitte helped with tips for trips to local attractions Montezuma and Banana beach (both around 30-45 min) and made it possible to havea 2 hour horse back riding for our riders, During that time the rest got a special farm tour with the owner Leon. We picked fresh lemons from the tree and visited the cows including two new borns. The whole stay feels like visiting friends at home. We sit together at breakfast and in the evening. The guests are international. During our stay there have been families from France, Canada, Costa Rica and Colombia, which is no surprise as the owners are fluent in English, German, French, Dutch and Spanish. Highly recommended if you want a farm stay in that region. Cross fingers we can make it back one day! Thanks for hospitality

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We booked 5 nights and we felt so good there we decided to stay all the rest of our vacation. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen is very convenient, especially with a young kid. We were woken up by the sunrise through the trees l, the bird songs and the monkeys calls. The Tambor beach is desert and is probably the only beach safe for young kids (no waves). The area is not touristic at all but you're at 30 minutes from more popular beaches if you miss the crowd.
The hosts are fantastic and very welcoming. They took a lot of time to let our son connect with the animals of the farm, an experience he's not about to forget.
A wonderful place

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We booked a last-minute two nights at Fidelito while driving from Tamarindo to the Southern Nicoya peninsula and consider ourselves extremely lucky for having come across the place, with its unique setting, ideal location, wonderful hosts, and reasonable prices, certainly if compared to other options in Santa Teresa and Malpais.

As a working ranch in the hills above Tambor coast, one gets a rare glimpse into the rural lifestyle that Leon and Brigitte have built for themselves over past 2 decades. And they are more than happy to share their stories and expertise in the area and travel in general. There is a wonderful central outdoor social area which is a natural hub in the evenings. The welcome juice is delicious as is the milk from the farm!

The cabins are spacious, clean, and more than adequate. They are fitted with a small kitchen in the back for preparing breakfasts and even dinners if desired.

The location, about 10 minutes from Tambor beach, is ideal for exploring other parts of Southern Nicoya, including Montezuma, Malpais, Santa Teresa, and Curu. The Paqueras ferry to Puntarenas is about an hour away.

For families, couples, anyone who does not feel the need to be right on the beach, and wants to explore nature from a different perspective, a stay at Fidelito will prove unforgettable.

Thank you Leon and Brigitte - until the next time (God willing)!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I have to say that this was one of our most unique and pleasant vacation stays. We always look for quaint and economical places to stay, and we found just that. The cabins/rooms were huge and beautiful, the location is not the easiest to get to but well worth it. The owners were really the best, we only stayed for 2 nights but we felt like family and were truly sad to leave. This is a place for people that like to go off the beaten path. We drove to the beaches, which are only 15 minutes away as there is only so much to do at Fidelito with kids, but they truly loved it. We drove to a little "sodita" within town and had great meals for next to nothing. The experience was truly unique, we would definetely love to visit this wonderful place again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank happyfamily663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews