We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
135
88
54
20
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
88
54
20
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant direct pool access frosted glass the penthouse wear and tear degree view free shuttle service indian ocean tuk tuk sri lanka unawatuna beach breakfast was amazing for making our holiday outdoor shower sitting area rain shower our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Wonderful hotel! Superb staff! Made to feel so welcome by all! No job was to much for them! Made valentines and my anniversary the most special then upgraded us to penthouse on the last night! Amazing

Room tip: Choose Delux room but be prepared for the bugs at night on balcony
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLA THAWTHISA T, Manager at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Gemma,

It was really nice to have you and your boyfriend with us at Villa Thawthisa. You were super positive couple that all our staff remembered for a long time. We tried to do our best to ensure your special requests were attended and you enjoyed your stay to the fullest.
We will be more than delighted to welcome you again at our hotel to make your stay even more special and enjoyable.

Looking forward to see you again!
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

This is a powerful boutique hotel, has a panoramic view of Unawatuna beach, Galle. Good food, excellent staff and service..always ready to help and go the extra mile in service. No unnecessary issues of timings to use the pool...it's a great place with and a very chilled out ambience ...

Special mention for the service rendered: Lana - Guest Services .. Your service with a smile was very appreciated
Samanth - Food & Beverage .. Your special cocktails .. Yummy ;)
Anuradha - Front office ... Seamless !!!!

Thank you for a wonderful stay
Travel dates : March 12th - March 14th, 2016

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kash_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLA THAWTHISA T, Manager at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Kashyap,

It was really nice to welcome your family in our hotel and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our services.
Please come and visit us again so that we would be able to treat you even better.
We will be delighted to have you as repeated and regular guests.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Location: its a tiny little road, so be careful if you are driving. Villa is located at the end of the road. There is no big parking area, but luckily we got a spot right in front of the reception area. Hotel looks newly built out side. And there is no rush at all. They have a good manager, who is taking care of everything personally. And right after the check in I felt awkward, as hotel staff (chefs, labourers) everyone was making a big noise.

Room - We got a room downstairs, with a private pool. It was simple and lovely. everything is white and mirror, so be careful. This hotel looks like it was built by monkeys. No neatness at all. All the plugs, switches, bathroom fittings and walls are not up to a quality. Someone has just built it without any quality. There was a power failure in our room. The manager addressed our issue and gave an upgrade right after, without wasting our time. Then we got a room in upper floor. Room is with a view from the balcony and a jacuzzi. Apart from the open room/bathroom concept its just a normal hotel. They don't have carpets or towels on the floor, so be careful.

Food - Nothing special. Breakfast buffet was just pain, average. They have nice terrace restaurant, but its really hot and sunny. They dont have blinds to cover the sunlight.

Service- Service is really good. Its not professional, but they are very friendly.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chathini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLA THAWTHISA T, Manager at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Chathini,

Thanks for taking your time to post a review about our hotel.
We are sorry if you had a bit of negative experience in our hotel though we tried to do our best to make it enjoyable. The road to the hotel is naturally quite steep, as we are located on the top of the hill, but it is all worth the beautiful view which you get on the top. We are working on improving the road though, to make it more comfortable for our guests to go up and down. There are two parking lots so that all our guests could park the vehicles conveniently. The room doors are made of glass in hi-tech style therefore some noise might come in through the door in busy times of the day or evening, but it is very quiet late in the evening and night. The maintenance issues are addressed to and we are constantly working on improving them, as well as the food quality and other hotel services. The top floor 200 Degrees restaurant is offering an amazing panoramic view on the Unawatuna bay and surrounding areas, therefore, we are not covering it with any shades to let our guests have this enjoyable experience.
Let us thank you again as your feedback is extremely important and valuable for us on the way of improving and developing our hotel services.
We will be happy to give you a better service if you decide to visit our hotel again.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

The villa thawthisa is a new and very nice hotel.
The Rooms are spacious with a fantastic view and a different buildup with open air toilet and shower and some rooms even have jacuzzi on the balcony.
The staff is nice and very helpfull and will go a long way to tend to you needs.

Althou the hotel still have some opening issues , one is the power in the evenings when all the lights and aircon is running.
Another is if you want a dark room when you want to sleep.

But all togheter we can recomend this hotell

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLA THAWTHISA T, Manager at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Dear Christian!

It was really pleasant for us to welcome you in our hotel and Thank you for your positive review after your stay.
We are continuously working on improvement of our services in Villa Thawathisa The Boutique Hotel and always consider our guests' opinion. Regarding the electricity cut problem, we do admit that it really exists in the whole Unawatuna area, but from our part it is sold by using a powerful generator not to cause our guests any inconvenience at all during the power cuts. The lights could also be adjusted and put off if you addressed this problem to us as an individual request. We are always glad to assist our guests with anything at all. Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel to make your stay even better with our improved services.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

This hotel was an amazing start to our holiday. We only booked a standard room but it was more than adequate except for the generator noise which was our only complaint about the hotel. We only advised the staff of this on our last night but they still organised an upgrade for us for that night at no extra cost. Although it is a little way up from unawatuna (bout a 10 minute walk) it gave the place an air of a higher star hotel and was away from all the traffic noise. We tended to walk down and catch a tuc tuc back. Breakfast was amazing with a choice of curry, English, cereals, pancakes and omelettes. The restaurant also has amazing views right over unawatuna. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful, with a friendly smile wherever you turned. They have two pools to choose from and a shuttle bus that will take you to its sister beachfront hotel. I would highly recommend it

Room tip: Deluxe rooms have bathrooms open to the elements which although private, May not be to everybody's taste.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyM1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLA THAWTHISA T, Manager at Villa Thawthisa The Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Nicky,

Thanks for your positive review about our hotel and services.
Our team was more than happy to assist you with anything you requested as we are always on the way of developing and improving our services and try to do our best to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and unforgettable stay with us. That is why we upgraded your room category to make your stay more comfortable for you and make you try a different experience within our hotel.

Always happy to welcome you again at our hotel to give you even a better level of service and special treatment as per our concept of a boutique hotel with personalized service.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews