We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location & Pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptune Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Bay Hotel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Unawatuna
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location & Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Perfect location in the centre of Unawatuna and only seconds walk from the beach. We stayed on the first floor next to the good sized swimming pool which gave great sea views and overlooked the lovely restaurant serving great breakfasts, fresh fish and authentic curries. The manager, Thushara and his team of friendly and helpful staff did everything to make our stay really enjoyable and comfortable – we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great mid-budget option

Room Tip: Book rooms next to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImmeWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    40
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
22
52
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My family and I (wife and an 11yr old daughter) saw the new year from 2011 to 2012 in this hotel on a 6 night, 7 day stay. Location is perfect and access to beach easy...watch out for the zooming tuk-tuks though!!...although they are always ready with a quick toot of their hooter. Initially we had small issues that threw us a bit, but our room on the 2nd floor ws more than adequate and spacious enough. The one damper however was the view...all magnificent bar the awful sight of the top of the roof of the Hotel Restuarant...does little to add to the ambiance. What I however found most encouraging about this little hotel is its newly appointed Manager...Mr. Thushara Kodithuwakku. He brings with him a wealth of experience and it shows. He is extremely professional and very approachable. Primarily because of him and his drive to improve the hotel, will I return. Any comments other guests shared with me ref the Manager were always positive. A quick example...old years day, I came down with food poisoning (not from this Hotel's food)...with the entire Unawatuna beach in party mode and crazy-like traffic conditions prevalent, not to mention demanding guests constantly at his door, he never broke stride. He arranged for a doctor to come out for me, from Galle, and see me at the hotel...within 15 to 20 mins. After medication did not seem to be working that effectively, he called the doctor out again when the new year just broke...(you can imagine the traffic he was required to negotiate). The doctor came out as quickly as he could and after a strong injection I rapidly recovered. If you have ever been to any of the beach area's in Unawatuna, you will know that in normal periods the traffic can be quite maddening...that time it must have been near impossible...yet the Manager arranged this with quiet aplomb, even ensuring that the doctor follow up on me on new years day with a phone call...as well as checking in himself. This is but one example, but it speaks volumes. This is a little hotel with a very lucrative furure, if Mr. Kodithuwakku stays on...and from our conversations, it appears he will. WE will return. C. W. Stoddart and family (Michelle and Raiyn).

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor...balcony is expansive. Also check articulately what the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Nice room with balcony + sea view but the rest of the hotel is very dated and the reception staff not too helpful. On our first night we returned at 21:45 to find a padlock on the front door! A security guard let us in after 15 mins of wandering the garden and on entering I tripped over the night porter who was asleep on the foyer floor! On our 2nd night we returned at 21:30 to discover a ceremony taking place in the hotel foyer (the chanting continued until 5am!) AND our airco was broken. After 1.5 hours and visits from 4 different staff we were given a new room at the back of the hotel which was dirty and extremely damp. On day 3 we moved to a hotel on the beach side + wished we'd moved earlier.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We enjoyed the food at the restaurant, without any doubts the best breakfast we had in unawatuna and you should try their delicious rice and curry (spicy or not, up to your choice), but also their other dishes are very good, including various seafood dishes. The view is nice, staff and manager are very friendly. And ok maybe if you pass this place your are not attracted by the this spot cramped in between the road and the sea, but have a look at the unawatuna-bay-view, relax, have a cool beer, and as long as the food is yummy we will return later this year, can we already order our rice and curry, Sri-Lankan style and spicy please?

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tamara_arjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

The room was very nice. It was on the 2nd floor with lovely balcony with sea view. Comfy bed and clean. However it was only cleaned twice during our 9 night stay which became a bit of private joke between myself and my husband. Every morning when we left we wondered if the two room boys would come and clean the room... but no. We didnt eat an evening meal at the restaurant mainly because we thought there were far nicer restaurants in Unawatuna. We had breakfast there each morning but the rubble and rubbish on the sea edge was off putting. It would have been so easy for the staff to remove this rubbish. There was rubbish left on the restaurant roof. Also on some mornings the restaurant hadnt been swept from the night before and obviously (staff?) had had a bit of a party eg empty beer bottles and bottle tops all over the floor near the entrance to the kitchen. Our sleep quality was poor due to very late (4.45am finish) at some of the bars in the resort and beach parties. We think the sound just carried all around the bay so probably wont make much difference where you stayed. However, we were also kept awake one night by tuk tuk drivers and shop staff having a loud party and playing a damn drum, smoking dope, on roof of a building opposite our room. Overall the staff and the manager were pleasant. The female receptionist quoted us a higher price than the manager did for taxi and excursions. This happened twice. We were quite comfy and happy here but it wasnt cheap by resort standards and I suspect we could have stayed somewhere a bit nicer. It could be much better if the management paid a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leelananda p, Public Relations Manager at Neptune Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Our committment to investing in our property will continue this winter with renovations to our banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Saskatoon!
Best Regards,

Sanjeewa Fernando
RESERVATION MANAGER
NEPTUNE BAY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.5 km away
Peacock Hotel
Peacock Hotel
#19 of 28 in Unawatuna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.3 km away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#20 of 28 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 km away
Prime Time Hotel
Prime Time Hotel
#21 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 km away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#8 of 28 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Bay Hotel

Property: Neptune Bay Hotel
Address: Yaddahimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,899 - ₹ 6,361
Hotel Class:3 star — Neptune Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neptune Bay Hotel Unawatuna ! Neptune Bay Hotel is located in the heart of Unawatuna where guests enjoy superb rooms and a relaxing, peaceful atmosphere only 2 minutes away from the beach and the cute Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of restaurants and bars. Our Neptune Bay Hotel stands for dedicated family hospitality at International standards with modern, clean and spacious rooms, clean and all immaculate to ensure an amazing time right on wonderful Unawatuna Beach. Unawatuna Unawatuna is a coastal village in Galle district of Sri Lanka. Unawatuna is a major tourist attraction and famous for its beautiful beach and corals. Unawatuna beach, a crescent shaped shallow beach situated further south to the famous town of galle and its famous harbour and towering roomassala mountain. It is protected by a natural reef from the open sea and due to the semicircle shape of it forms a perfect natural swimming pool with aquamarine colour gentle waves crashing on the golden sandy beach.Unawatuna Beach was named the world's best beach by The Discovery Channel in 2004. That may be a stretch today, but Unawatuna is undoubtedly the best beach in Sri Lanka-none other offers the same combination of golden sand, a protected bay that offers.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Neptune Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing