We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderfull ,on the waters edge views...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Cabanna

The Cabanna and Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cabanna and Garden
The Cabanna and Garden The Cabanna and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
The Cabanna and Garden
The Cabanna and Garden
The Cabanna and Garden
The Cabanna and Garden
Ocean view
Chill out Gazebo
Chill out Gazebo
Chill out Gazebo
Steps down to private sandy beach
View over the bay
Connecting steps
View from veranda
View from veranda
Dining room and kitchenette
Living room and dinning room
Dining room
Local delicacy
Entrance
Steps up to bedrooms
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
View from bedroom terrace
View from bedroom terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bobbo Z
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad, don't stay here”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed at The Cabanna for 3 nights. It was seriously so bad. The room was very dark and the lights were wrongly placed. The bed was very moist and damp. Every morning there was water (condensation) on the fan that dropped into the bed. I slept on a dry towel and every morning it was wet from the bed. Both me and my boyfriend has asthma and had much trouble with breathing because of all the mold in the bed.
The balcony was rotten and many of the board/plank were broken in many places so we didn't want to go out there. Many things were broken and didn't work.
My boyfriend got an electric shock when he was putting the cord to the bedside lamp in the wall socket.

Keep in mind that the bathroom with the toilet is not in a separate, room it's in the same room so you will hear and smell everything. Its open between the wall and the roof so you will have daily visits from squirrels in your room and hear everything from the people in the next room.

The staff was never too be seen. Just for breakfast. They didn't inform us about anything. We didn’t now if and when the gate was closing and couldn't ask about anything. They didn't change the linens or emptied the trash during the whole stay. We were checking out at 11 am and the staff new this. We could not find them any were and were looking all over. We got the idea to go over to the neighbours and found all of the staff sleeping.

We will never stay here again and we visit Sri Lanka often. We are not recommending this to any one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nej.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a bad mixed feeling”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just to let you know that we have been quite disappointed by the overall poor staff services and by the house.

Great location with sea view but with high traffic road behind the house ( nobody told us the heavy noise day and night ) !! and very poor furniture ( no real sofa , neither wine classes, no kitchen utnsils just a fridge )...

we use to go to Bali and frankly, the bad quality of services , location and overall house environment have no real and serious comparation...even if we had to pay premium price.

not to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea view
Liked least: not really at home at this house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

MaggieTC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderfull ,on the waters edge views to die for very comfortable too.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We throoughly enjoyed our 3 weeks in the Cabana and will return.Staff were friendly discreet and helpfull the cook was marvellous when we got the hang of not trying to cater for ourselves it was cheaper and better to use the cook and staff their barbecued fish was spectacular!
The honesty and trusting of the staff and management was first class.We didnt even need to lock our doors! which took a bit of getting used to !We highly reccommend The Cabana .
The staff organise tuk tuks immediately to anywhere for next to nothing and for longer journeys we used the driver and car belonging to the Cabana .We used thr pool next door too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelshTrav...
Haverfordwest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Relaxing”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I was one of three older people who took this house for three weeks. We wanted three rooms, all en-suite, which is harder to find than you might imagine. We were very, very happy with what we found. The staff were a delight, always very helpful and totally trustworthy. The rooms themselves were large, with enough shelf and hanging space for my needs and the beds were netted. The garden runs down to the sea wall, and their are steps down to the shore, mainly rocky at this point. There is, as the picture shows, a shaded place to lie in, and sun loungers you can move about the garden for those who like being in the sun. Although in theory this is a self catering place in practice the staff can buy and cook cheaper than we could, and so we let them. We ate out most evenings, but had friends in for supper a couple of times and the staff barbecued fresh fish for us, which was delicious. Although not birdwatchers in any serious way we did enjoy the many birds, including both types of kingfisher, that inhabit the garden and shoreline, and were very fond, by then end of the stay, by the enormous lizard that meandered across the lawn from time to time. All in all this was an ideal spot for us and I hope to return again for another winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The walk along the road to the shop and restaurant.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna_Frei...
Barcelona, España
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Las habitaciones, las vistas y la piscina del vecino .
Liked least: La playa de delante de la casa.
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing