We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
219
124
25
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
124
25
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chic suite tuk tuk coconut restaurant sri lanka infinity pool incredible stay indian ocean sound of the waves beach access boutique resort facing the ocean small pool small hotel very nice stay highly recommend staying here sister hotel wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Clean and pretty nice small hotel in good location if you want to stay out of the big cities. The main road and traffic in area next to hotel is crazy, be sure to choose room with sea view, not view to the street. All you hear is the sound of a sea and waves, it's beautiful. Aqua Chick room was ok but it's time to do some renovations in room. Hotel's restaurant is very good! All the currys and food from the grill was delicious. Price is quite high but the quality is really good. Staff was helpful and very kindly. We're staying in hotel in off-season and there was no beach access from the hotel, next to hotel was superb beach but you have to walk about 200m on street to access the beach.

Room tip: Definitely room with the sea view, do not choose the room on street side!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeZolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cantaloupe Aqua, and got to experience the signature Aqua Chic room. The view of the ocean right from your bed is an experience you don't want to miss during your travels.

We do appreciate your comments about renovation, and please trust that we conduct bi-annual maintenance on our properties to keep up with the regular wear and tear of being a beachfront property. We will take your comments into consideration and make sure to pay special attention to the Aqua Chic room. We do hope that your next visit will show some improvements.

We hope you are able to visit us again and experience our property in the Rumassala Hills, Cantaloupe Levels. It is a multi-leveled property overlooking the city of Galle and is a short walk down to beautiful Jungle Beach.

Hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here...the hotel needs a bit of maintenance here and there but they were doing a few bits whilst we were there so they may have been done now. The view from the room and pool were lovely and it was so peaceful. It was so nice walking to the beach in the day. The food at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was fab. I feel what made our stay so memorable was the service, everyone was so friendly and so helpful. Sandun was such a lovely guy and made us feel so welcome and special. I would recommend for a relaxing few nights.

I would give the service and food 5* but it needs tidying up in order to match the service!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Abbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Abbie,

Thank you for your great review of Cantaloupe Aqua. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from the room, the pool and the beach.

Also since our seafood is always fresh, we are happy you got to sample some of Sri Lanka's cuisine made by our passionate kitchen team.

Thank you for the feedback about the maintenance, since we do have a bi-annual maintenance schedule to keep up with the every day wear and tear of a beach property. We do hope the next time you visit that the hotel is up to your expectations.

Please come again and let us know what you think!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights and had a very nice time. The room (Aqua Zen Deluxe) was comfortable and clean, the food was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from the room is awesome and you can sleep very well to the wonderful sound of the ocean that is right in front of you.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi Patrice,

Thank you for your review of Cantaloupe Aqua and the Aqua Zen Deluxe Room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view, the food and got a good night's rest with the ocean just a glance away from your bed.

We do hope you are able to come again and to stay in our Aqua Chic room with your own Jacuzzi and special view of the ocean.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We stayed in this hotel for a few days during our trip in Sri Lanka. The hotel is good because of its location and especially because of the food. Furthermore, the staff is always friendly and willing to help. Sandun prepared a birthday party for my brother with a birthday cake, which was very nice!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kristofeggermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Public Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

We are so happy to hear that you were able to celebrate your birthday with us at Cantaloupe Aqua during your time in Sri Lanka. We want to make every guest's stay memorable, and what better way than to celebrate your birthday with you! Please do let us know the next time you are in Sri Lanka and we would love to have you stay with us at one of our sister properties along the Southern Coast.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The hotel was nice, clean, staff gracious, and in a good location, BUT they were not upfront about the fact that they had lost their liquor license because they were serving with an expired one. We would have stayed elsewhere had we known this upfront as were expecting to have access to a full bar while at the pool or restaurant. Checked out on April 7th and this had not been resolved. Hotel denied our request for some compensation for the inconvenience.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews