We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 125
US$ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
US$ 118
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 370
US$ 332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
US$ 18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
US$ 73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
US$ 210
US$ 174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$ 103
US$ 87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
51
56
25
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
56
25
9
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Surf city is not a luxury hotel at any rate but a very pleasant place to stay. The staff is very friendly as it is the norm in Sri Lanka. The rooms are clean and has everything you need. No tv in the rooms but you don't need tjis being 10 steps from a fantastic beach and plenty to do. If you want a.c. in room, be prepared to pay $10 a night extra. You actually don't need it as the fan is good enough. I will definitely recommend this place for a budget stay.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chrisvantonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfcityuna, Manager at SurfCity Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thanks for the comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here and ended up staying longer than expected. We had some work to do and the rooms were spacious with desks for us both to work on. The staff were always super friendly and helpful and the bed was super comfy with nice sheets. The balconies had plenty of space and I was even able to roll out my yoga mat and practise. I would highly recommend staying here and it was great value.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scarlet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We got the triple room upstairs. One big bed, and one small. The beds face the ocean! You are at the left corner of the Unawatuna beach stretch, so you get the full view. The windows are massive, can be opened. Small balcony, but not really an issue cos of the big window. The restaurant is downstairs on the beach. They're really friendly. They go out of the way to make your stay comfortable.

It was off season, and we were too late to find a place to find dinner. The bar guys offered to bring us dinner and when we tried to tip, they refused saying they were going anyway.

Private bathroom, but the shower is separate with just a curtain. It was fine though. Definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: view, big room,
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Cheap rooms just next to a wonderful beach , the staff was polite and the rooms okay.
The night I slept there, 4 cockroaches crept on my bed one after another , I couldn't find anyone to complain to during the night ( apparently the nightmanager was getting pissed somewhere else ) so I hadn't had the best sleep.
Left the first thing in the morning and the manager gave me 2 thirds of the room rate back.
If you stay there make sure to stay upstairs, maybe theres no cockroaches there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights with my friends. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was spacious. Staff was very kind and helpful. Shared balcony had a nice view to the beach. The restaurant of the hotel was really good, allthough the staff was a bit lazy.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews