We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T DO IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SurfCity Guesthouse
Ranked #66 of 149 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We checked in here on New Years Eve and immediately left upon walking into our room! We paid AUD$80 a night, and for that I at least expected something clean. I expected basic, which is what I got; but definitely not something as disgusting as this. The bed itself was fine, however the pillows were mouldy and had a mouldy smell to them. I couldn't even bare to walk into the bathroom as the shower was COVERED in mould and algae. We paid for a room with aircon and it didn't work. The wifi signal is only available in the lobby, which did not work at the time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara_j93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Surf city is not a luxury hotel at any rate but a very pleasant place to stay. The staff is very friendly as it is the norm in Sri Lanka. The rooms are clean and has everything you need. No tv in the rooms but you don't need tjis being 10 steps from a fantastic beach and plenty to do. If you want a.c. in room, be prepared to pay $10 a night extra. You actually don't need it as the fan is good enough. I will definitely recommend this place for a budget stay.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chrisvantonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfcityuna, Manager at SurfCity Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thanks for the comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here and ended up staying longer than expected. We had some work to do and the rooms were spacious with desks for us both to work on. The staff were always super friendly and helpful and the bed was super comfy with nice sheets. The balconies had plenty of space and I was even able to roll out my yoga mat and practise. I would highly recommend staying here and it was great value.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scarlet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We got the triple room upstairs. One big bed, and one small. The beds face the ocean! You are at the left corner of the Unawatuna beach stretch, so you get the full view. The windows are massive, can be opened. Small balcony, but not really an issue cos of the big window. The restaurant is downstairs on the beach. They're really friendly. They go out of the way to make your stay comfortable.

It was off season, and we were too late to find a place to find dinner. The bar guys offered to bring us dinner and when we tried to tip, they refused saying they were going anyway.

Private bathroom, but the shower is separate with just a curtain. It was fine though. Definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: view, big room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Cheap rooms just next to a wonderful beach , the staff was polite and the rooms okay.
The night I slept there, 4 cockroaches crept on my bed one after another , I couldn't find anyone to complain to during the night ( apparently the nightmanager was getting pissed somewhere else ) so I hadn't had the best sleep.
Left the first thing in the morning and the manager gave me 2 thirds of the room rate back.
If you stay there make sure to stay upstairs, maybe theres no cockroaches there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 km away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 km away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 km away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#106 of 149 in Unawatuna
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bedspace Beach
Bedspace Beach
#13 of 149 in Unawatuna
25 reviews
0.3 km away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#36 of 149 in Unawatuna
188 reviews
0.6 km away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#14 of 149 in Unawatuna
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfCity Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfCity Guesthouse

Address: Parangiyawatta 275 | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: ₹ 1,362 - ₹ 2,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SurfCity Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfCity Guesthouse is located right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach offering a very relaxed atmosphere within comfortable walking distance to the Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of original Sri Lankan restaurants.At our SurfCity Guesthouse visitors do find friendly Sri Lankan hospitality with clean and comfortable economy,superior and family rooms comes with Sea view.Surfcity offers free internet, airport pickup (surcharge) and has a best restaurant called Black and White restaurant on the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your SurfCity Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcity Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing