We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Money - Close to the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SurfCity Guesthouse
Ranked #67 of 150 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2015

I didn't have a reservation as I was being spontaneous. I'm used to staying in hostels but I thought I could afford a hotel by the beach. Turns out they gave me a great deal and I stayed for 3 nights!

Room Tip: Top floor, middle room, fantastic view and some breeze could be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abner D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We state here for two out of our four nights in Unawatuna and would definitely go there again if we return to this beach. Location is great! Right on the beach, close to main beach restaurants (including SurfCity's "Black and White" restaurant which was also great). Staff was nice. Rooms were comfortable (including fan, mosquito net, towels and soap). Toilet could have been cleaner.. Wifi was good. The place had quite a few sitting areas - which made it great for meeting and hanging out with other guests.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank OfirKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The SurfCity Guesthouse in Unawatuna is a few seconds away from the beach, what makes is a great place to stay. Kalinga & Asard (the receptionist & manager) were always there for us and ready to help.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

I stayed here for a few nights while backpacking around Sri Lanka. Staff were very friendly, the room was pretty good value, but there isn't any hot water. It was hot so this wasn't a massive deal breaker. I went for a non air con room with a fan and this was fine. There was a couple of holes in the mosquito net though, and this was the only place I visited where this was a problem.

The hotel is pretty centrally located, but isn't as such on the sand anyone, this is down to the fact there is a lot of erosion happening in Unawatuna at the moment and the sand has been washed away. A few years ago this place would have been a lot more picturesque. I had breakfast here a couple of mornings and also I had dinner, the food is good, and drink prices around average for the area.

As has been mentioned WiFi isn't really working in the rooms, but does sometimes, and works in reception and the restaurant. Worth considering but probably if I went back I'd go somewhere located a bit further along which still has sand at the door.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin22y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Surf City guest house for 4 nights at the beginning of April. The staff are friendly, but it wasn't clear who was in charge.
The wifi only works in reception.
I was in the non a/c ground floor room between reception and the cleaning cupboard. The room didn't have a basin, only toilet and shower.
Incredibly hot day and night, plus there was quite a few ants.
Room could have been cleaner. Power cuts everyday.
Mosquito net provided above the bed. No mosquito screen over windows.
I didn't eat at the restaurant.
Things that annoy me are misleading descriptions - there was no hot water, safety deposit and lockers consisted of a lockable filing cabinet behind the reception desk. This meant a tiny drawer, but you couldn't get access unless staff were on reception. Reception was unguarded several hours a day.
Good location, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank MagicalMysteryTour15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 km away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.2 km away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.0 km away
Little Villa Hotel
Little Villa Hotel
#106 of 150 in Unawatuna
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bedspace Beach
Bedspace Beach
#13 of 150 in Unawatuna
27 reviews
0.3 km away
Full Moon Beach Resort
Full Moon Beach Resort
#37 of 150 in Unawatuna
188 reviews
0.6 km away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#14 of 150 in Unawatuna
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfCity Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfCity Guesthouse

Address: Parangiyawatta 275 | Peelagoda, Unawatuna 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: ₹ 1,368 - ₹ 2,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SurfCity Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfCity Guesthouse is located right on the beautiful Unawatuna beach offering a very relaxed atmosphere within comfortable walking distance to the Unawatuna village with shops and a nice selection of original Sri Lankan restaurants.At our SurfCity Guesthouse visitors do find friendly Sri Lankan hospitality with clean and comfortable economy,superior and family rooms comes with Sea view.Surfcity offers free internet, airport pickup (surcharge) and has a best restaurant called Black and White restaurant on the beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your SurfCity Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcity Guesthouse Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing