We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, interesting experience, learnt something new!”

Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class
Ranked #4 of 128 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Description: If you want to get to know Sri Lankan cuisine you're in for a treat. Check out delicious culinary experiences with Susanthi who is the lady owner of the Sea Waves apartment and also an excellent cook. She will teach you how to prepare a genuine Lankan dishes so you can take the taste back home. The fee includes a tuk tuk ride to and from Galle green's local spice, fish and vegetable market.
Restaurant details
Description: If you want to get to know Sri Lankan cuisine you're in for a treat. Check out delicious culinary experiences with Susanthi who is the lady owner of the Sea Waves apartment and also an excellent cook. She will teach you how to prepare a genuine Lankan dishes so you can take the taste back home. The fee includes a tuk tuk ride to and from Galle green's local spice, fish and vegetable market.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to take a visiting friend to Sea Waves Cooking Class as a birthday experience - something new to try!

The owner, Susanthie, was super friendly and easy to speak to on the phone and offered to organise some birthday related surprises for my friend (even though we were a small group).

When we first got there, the entire place was decorated with streamers and balloons and even a happy birthday banner - which was so cute!

We then started off by heading to the Galle market to pick up some fresh vegetables (and fruit! Cause we wanted to make a mango curry!!) -this was a fun additional outing.

Got back to Sea Waves and started cooking. She took us through each step and each recipe. We took notes and helped with the cutting and measuring (though Susanthie is a pro and knows her measurements). We made 5 delicious vegetable curries (which we picked ourselves). Being Sri Lankan myself I’ve come across many of these curries but was excited to learn how to make a mango curry and an aubergine salad (which was delicious! And super easy to make!)

After all the cooking was done we sat down for a delicious meal, and was then surprised by a wonderful cake to top it all off!

Had a really good experience at Sea Waves cooking class. Can’t speak for the set menus or western menus as we hadn’t tried any of that - but the rice and curry was 5 star! And I’ve eaten a lot of rice and curry in my time.

Side note: give yourself plenty of time for this class. The entire process from market to cooking to eating takes about 4 hours. We’d come straight after a morning surf session so were quite tired by the end of the day.

Thank Sourkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanthi S, Owner at Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi mam!First of all i am really thankfull you to take your valuble time for writing us a nice feedback.i hope you really enjoied the cooking lesson and got new experience about sri lankan cooking.thankyou for joining with us and for visiting our place.hope to see you back in sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018

As a Sri Lankan I am often frustrated that one cannot find an authentic rice and curry in tourist areas. Susanthie's Sea Wave Restaurant provided a brilliant rice and curry that was as authentic as it gets.

The cooking class was also excellent. We took a trip to the local market and, upon return, were taugh exactly how to make 5 different curries that all turned out to be varied and delicious. Susanthie speaks excellent English and does genuinely try to teach you the methods, tip and tricks you need to recreate these dishes at home. The kitchen was very clean and everything was very well organized and laid out. We were very pleased!

We will definitely go back for more classes and delicious Sri Lanka food!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank princeraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanthi S, Owner at Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thankyou for taking your valuble time to write us a possitive feedback.im really happy to have you in my cooking class and you have done your best.i hope you will be able to manage the cooking back in your home.hope to see you back again in sri lanka.thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant as was a 5 min walk from our hotel, lovely friendly ladie and daughter family run restaurant. About 5 tables set on a verander with the little kitchen to the side. Surrounded by tropical plants (remember your insect repellent!!!) We arrived and there had just been a cooking class there the food looked amazing. We had 4 children 2 under 2, no high chairs as is common for most of sri Lanka. They got us some cushions to pop on the chairs for the babies. The kindly cooked the kids a child friendly none spicy Dahl and served it first so they weren't waiting. All the food was so yummy, proper traditional Sri Lankan food. the Dahl's were amazing, as were the wraps and fries rices.and was such good value for money a curry and rice for 400 rupees. We enjoyed it so much we went bk for lunch the next day which was the Sri lankan new year, they were very happy to accommodate us dispute this fact. We just wish we had discovered it sooner And eaten more meals there. Best food we had in our 2 week stay in Sri Lanka. Thank you for having us and good luck in the future.

Thank Steffe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanthi S, Owner at Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

First of all I would like to say thankyou for taking your valuable time to write us a such a lovely feedback.we were so glad to have you in our restaurent.you were one our best custemers and hope you enjoyed our food and happy with our service.we always give our best to the custemers.hope to see you back agin in Sri Lanka.thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Booked cooking class after recommendation. So glad we did! Started with tuktuk to Green Market for fresh produce (you are asked what veggies you would like to use/eat) then a stop at the seaside fish market to pick up a tuna fish for the meal we were about to make. Were supposed to make 5 dishes as part of the class but Susanthi snuck in a banana flower at the market as I showed some interest in it. We then had the opportunity to make a 6th dish using the banana flower. With a 12 & 8 year old in tow, we all had a fantastic afternoon learning about the cuisine & helping prepare the best meal we have had in Sri Lanka (eggplant salad - yum!! - tuna curry, dahl, gotu kola salad, devilled sweet potato, coconut sambal, banana flower curry, rice & poppadums). If you love food & cooking, book this in. Our whole family loved the experience. I booked it via PM on Facebook. Response was quick & they were waiting for us on the day despite us not confirming our class closer to the day.

Thank Dena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanthi S, Owner at Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thankyou mam/sir to taking your valuable time to write us a positive feedback.it was a nice experience for me as well cause of your kids.they were really good in cooking and very intelligent.thankyou for you as well for giving me a good support to do the cooking class.i hope you enjoyed it.now you can go back home and cook traditional Sri Lankan foods.Hope to see you gain in Sri Lanka.thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I, on a whim, passed this restaurant the other day and saw the posters for a cooking class. Between Sea Waves and the restaurant opposite, who's name I don't actually remember who also offered classes, we felt a much more personal and welcoming vibe off Susanti (The owner & master chef).
To our delight, we were fortunate enough to have chosen a quiet day where Susanti kept the class to just the two of us.
It was incredibly informative, interactive and fun. I don't think I've had such fun cooking, especially for one of my favourite cuisines in, what felt like, a home rather than a restaurant. A true Sri Lanka dining experience.
It was great to then feast on all the "fruits of our labour" in a quiet meal for two. Left in peace, as if we had then stepped into a restaurant.
It was truly a great way to spend our final night in Sri Lanka and we're so grateful we got to take away the recipes for our own "attempt" at home.
Many Thanks to Susanti :)

Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanthi S, Owner at Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

First of all I would like to say thankyou for taking your valuable time to write us a nice feedback.im really happy that you enjoyed the class and the food.i always try to give my best to the custemers and I hope you got a new expereince of Sri Lankan food.sad to say!you frogot your pack of food Which you wanna take with you back.anyway hope to see you again in Sri Lanka.thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Sea Waves Restaurant & Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing