We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Birding Near Kochi”

Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Thattakad
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Birding Near Kochi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stop here if you have only a couple of days to get outside of Kochi, or if you are on your way to Munnar or elsewhere in the Western Ghats. You will easily see dozens of new birds. You will also experience a lowland habitat that is different from much of the Western Ghat region.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rod_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little info.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Fantastic park but no maps or detailed information, much like elsewhere in india.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank adocatdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walk,listen and sharpen your eyes..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Beautiful natural site!Be shure to be there by opening-hour,8 o'clock,I think,to profit from the bird's morning-songs and activities.Not forget your binoculars!
Our wonderful guide Shoda keeps a home-stay within the reservation:so that would have been extraordinary,to sleep there and have a guided tour beginning before sunrise..

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Daigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bird watching paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Just a short drive from Cochin - 2 hours - is the Dr.Salim Ali's Bird Sanctury - Thattakad. As soon as we entered the gates we saw at least 5 Hornbills....We met Dr.R.Sugathan the resident ornithologist who gave us an outline of the history and work being done. 
We stayed at the ''watch tower''. It is a three storied concrete structure with the guest room on the top floor. Fantastic location surrounded by forest and a lake in front. There is no electricity but there are solar lamps.

The watch tower is 2 kms inside the park. The trek was very good. We were also watching out for elephants as there was news that elephants were around. So that pumped up the excitement.
The watch tower is protected by an electric fense which is switched on in case of elephants straying close to the tower. The beauty of the tower is the lack of comforts. Though the bed, sheets & toilet were clean and neat.

We enjoyed hearing the sounds of the jungle....and with the help of our experienced guide Mr.Mani, we spend a lot of time identifying the birds from their calls.

The variety of bird species we saw were diverse. However the Grey Malabar Hornbill, Baza & Ceylon Frogmouth were unique. In the morning our guide took us for a 2 to 3 hour trek which was great. More than 20 varieties of birds were seen. Food was arranged by the guide from the canteen at the entrance of the park.

This is a must visit site for bird lovers and staying at this watch tower completes the experience. Recommended stay is minimum 1 night. Not adviseable if u have kids accompanying you. Lack of TV makes the stay more attractive to genuine nature lovers.

You have to contact the park/forest department for the booking. It is very reasonable in cost. Food to be arranged at the entrance of the park or through the guide allocated by the park..

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank Malabar_Hornbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Totally changed my view of India - this is total relaxation -sunrises and sunsets to die for

Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing