We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
230
222
50
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
222
50
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar game drives the river murchison falls boat ride served buffet style national park cold juice air conditioning safari lodge nile view two nights north side ferry schedule great pool ceiling fan early morning
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Murchison Falls National Park has three main attractions:
1) Murchison Falls
2) Animal safaris
3) Chimp tracking in Budongo forest

Being the ONLY lodge on the savannah-side on the Victoria Nile, Paraa Safari Lodge allows for earlier, longer access to the animals and avoids being held captive to the ferry schedule.

In addition to the geographic advantage, Paraa Safari Lodge is a lovely place. It is NOT a luxury safari lodge but it is very, very good. The staff is fantastic! Our driver/guide George was phenomenal. Friendly, knowledgeable and very eager to make sure our visit was as good as it could be (and we definitely thought it was). On the safari, we saw:
Lions
A leopard
Giraffes
Elephants
Hyenas
A python
Hippos
Etc, etc

As a lodge, Paraa is clean, comfortable and calm. It has a can-do staff. The food is good not great (but this is remote Uganda not Paris). Loved this place and would recommend it to anyone. Three days and two nights is sufficient but 3 1/2 days and three nights is better. Don’t miss the chimp tracking. If you have spare time, definitely do the nature walk done by the edge of the Nile. I thought we would be either trampled by hippos or dragged into the Nile by a croc but we weren’t so I am recommending it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank DrFudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We had an incredible time at the Paraa Lodge. We came in the back way to the Lodge, not using the ferry and we saw all kinds of wildlife coming in. When we got to the Lodge the staff was very nice and gave us warm towels and a cold juice drink. We had a little problem at first with our room. (It is a challenge finding hotels that will accommodate more than 2 in a room.) We got settled on the 2nd floor with A/C and the view was incredible overlooking the Nile River. The pool was very relaxing with the awesome view but could use a few more lounge chairs.
We had asked about using the National Park Ranger for a guided safari the next day and were told we should have done that at the Park Entrance. But the lady at the desk was so nice and made a call and arranged that for us. If you have your own transportation that is definitely the way to go! It was awesome!!
The food was very good served buffet style. A wide variety of choices to please a very diversified clientele. We missed lunch our first day and the staff was so nice to make us a boxed lunch to take on our way out.
We took the afternoon river cruise up to Murchison Falls and that was pretty interesting. The young man on the crew was really good at spotting wild life and we saw quite a variety on the trip up. The Falls are pretty impressive even from the distance the boat had to stop at.
Paraa was a great time. A little expensive but if you are only going to do it once worth the price.

Room Tip: If the heat effects you it is worth paying for the upgrade to a room with a/c.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GJLeChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

in a beautiful park you find this peaceful and great place. good service, great staff, good food and of course nature. From the pool you have Nile view.

simple but nice rooms. Some with AC, some without. I prefer without.

Room Tip: Downstair rooms are cooler then upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

When I think of a safari lodge I think small and intimate. Paraa is neither it is in essence a hotel in the National Park. Service was not personalized and even thou the service staff were friendly the food was okay not great and all meals were served buffet style which is necessary when one has 60+ rooms to manage. The hotel reception "concierge" was abrupt and not very helpful until it came time to check out. The rooms were small and basic and have no cooling system which ment we ended up keeping cool in the pool all day and most nights. The pool looked tired and well used. There were blown out bulbs hanging from wires over head, just looked like a maintenance nightmare! For the price we were disappointed! The view is however very nice and the activities we went on with other companies were very enjoyable!

Dylan @ Brandt Safaris

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank brandtsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

First, this is a big lodge. I wasn't expecting that, but the staff is so friendly, they make you feel right at home. The rooms are comfortable. The views of the River Nile are wonderful. The pool is beautiful and has a swim up bar. The food, all buffett style, was all very good. It's fun crossing the Nile on a the little car ferry to get to the lodge and the game park nearby is wonderful, with a HUGE population of giraffes. I have no idea how they do what they do in such a remote location, but they do it wonderfully well!

Room Tip: They all have views of the Nile.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Missmarymacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews