We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,398)
Filter reviews
4,398 results
Traveller rating
2,827
1,204
261
75
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,827
1,204
261
75
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le canonnier all inclusive package navigator restaurant le navigator buffet restaurant sea facing room grand baie main bar kids club water sports beach shoes la serenata our honeymoon wedding coordinator sister hotel special thanks table tennis
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 4,398 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Recently upgraded, rooms modern and tastefully done. Beautiful gardens in tranquil setting. Our room was sea facing over the bay but there are other room categories which do not have sea facing views. Staff friendly and accommodating. Excellent water sport facilities and location. We had an all inclusive package which included all meals and selected drinks. Disappointed in the selection of drinks available on all inclusive... only offered 'boxed' Overmeer South African wines, choice of Rose, Grand Cru and Dry red. This wine is not of quality and in South Africa it is not served in any four star hotel or restaurant and we could not drink it at this hotel! After complaining to management, we were offered one option of a South African bottled Sauvignon Blanc wine.The milkshakes were made without ice cream and was just flavoured powder added to milk. The Mojito's and other cocktails on offer were good. Breakfasts were well served with a large selection. Dinners were a problem as the Navigator, an a la carte restaurant and a popular choice, was fully booked for most nights. We did manage to reserve a table there on two occasions. Make sure you reserve a dinner table here in advance of your stay as they are fully booked for at least two nights in advance.The staff at The Navigator are friendly and efficient. The 'Italian' restaurant Serenta, is a huge disappointment! The food served is from the same kitchen as the buffet restaurant and is no different. A small section had been laid out with left over breads and a few condiments from the daily breakfast and lunch buffet. As starters we were offered lasagne (tasteless) and other larger meals. The menu contained no authentic Italian dishes or deserts and can not be labelled exclusively Italian. The evening buffet in the Frangipanier is themed and is the only other choice if the Navigator is fully booked. Lunches at the Navigator were enjoyable with great salads, other dishes and deserts on offer. The only negative is that there were a number of items on the menu which were no longer used such as bacon and crab stick. Early evening music at the lounge/bar area was enjoyable. There were themed 9pm shows which I found lacked the authentic Mauritian traditional Sega and Indian dancing as it was more modernized dancing. The hotel corridors were noisy as the rooms are built next to each other in blocks. Guests shout off their balconies and in the corridors when leaving and entering their rooms. Over weekends there seems to be overcrowding of guests in rooms meant for two persons... This hotel is not an option if you do not have small children and definitely not during the school holidays because of the noise levels. There is also no private or adult pool available or that we were told of or could see, so there is only the option of one family pool area. Overall the setting, gardens, modern rooms and ocean views are superb but the noise levels, restaurant options and 'all inclusive' drink options was a let down. I would rate this resort above average but not a very good as it does not tick all the boxes a four star resort should live up to.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank FBCalitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonnier B, Directeur général at Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good Morning. We thank you for having posted this extensive and comprehensive review after your visit at the Canonnier Beachcomber. Its content has retained all our attention and we shall definitely work on your remarks. We were happy though that you had some good ratings on certain aspects of our hotel and our service. Kindest regards.
Kervyn. General Manager. gm.ca@beachcomber.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The hotel has excellent amenities, good environment, large variety of food, high standard of cleanliness. However, the welcome was blunt, nobody to welcome you, the personnel were surprised to see me at the reception lobby and had to tell them i was just checking-in. No feedback policies on check out as to the stay we had,only a thank you from the cashier. Contrary to Le Victoria where things were very different.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ferfer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonnier B, Directeur général at Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Good Morning. We thank you for your review after your stay at Canonnier Beachcomber. We note that you have expressed your appreciation for our amenities, environment, food and cleanliness. We have also read your comments about your check-in and check-out with much attention. Actually, we always welcome our guests upon arrival when we know at what time they are coming at the resort. As we also have numerous visitors who come at the Front Office during the day for business and hotel visits, we must always ask anyone coming at the Reception the reason of the visit. As regards the check-out, we prefer to let our guests freely post their review on an independent notation site as you have done. We can assure you, as it is apparent on nearly all the reviews, that our service is highly valued by all our guests and that we do everything to be friendly and professional. Kindest regards.
Kervyn. General Manager. gm.ca@beachcomber.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We had the most amazing time here. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Teens club was a stand out element of our trip as the leaders, Ashley and Nathaniel, were incredibly supportive and fun and we made lots of friends. The water-sports facilities were very impressive, with a wide variety of activities. The food was very nice however, there was a limited variety of vegetarian options. Overall we had an incredible holiday here with memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: The top floor was nice
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emilyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonnier B, Directeur général at Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Good Morning Emily. We are so grateful for this review after your ‘amazing summer holiday’ spent at Canonnier Beachcomber. We are happy to learn that this was an ‘incredible’ trip for you and this is the ultimate prize for us. Indeed, our Teens Club is a place for sharing and for fun. It allows so many young from many different countries to have a cool time with all the interesting activities provided by our staff members. Thank you for highlighting their work which they actually perform with so much enthusiasm. We send you our kindest regards.
Kervyn. General Manager. gm.ca@beachcomber.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the staff here. Friendly and professional. The rooms very clean and really comfortable , the outdoor patio space was lovely , and the men who cleaned every day were fantastic (and coped with teenage children with humour). The food was great , and service fantastic - particularly Kevin and Colleen - always smiling. The bar staff were very patient with my nephew who was knocking back the double rums. A truly enjoyable experience .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aedrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonnier B, Directeur général at Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Good Morning. Thank you very much for this review after your ‘fabulous holiday’ at Canonnier Beachcomber. It was indeed a great pleasure for us to welcome and treat you during this stay and we are the more so happy that you enjoyed these days. This is the kind of experience that we always want to offer to all our guests when they check-in: good food, interesting activities, comfortable accommodation and above all the ‘friendly and professional’ service. We believe this is the ideal combination which makes a guest happy and this gives us quite a lot of job satisfaction too. Thank you for choosing our resort and we hope that you will one day come back and renew this ‘truly enjoyable experience.’ Kindest regards.
Kervyn. General Manager. gm.ca@beachcomber.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stayed in a Deluxe Room with ocean view 13 - 27 July 2018 with 2 adults and our little daughter (7 y/o). Overall, the whole stay was excellent.

The room was clean and spacious with a breathtaking view over a palms field and the ocean. From our terrace, we could directly walk up to the ocean through the palmtrees. Beware of falling coconuts! Housekeeping staff was good and made beautiful towel creations on our bed. Free minibar fills (all-inclusive only) everyday.

Absolutely loved the tropical lush hotel garden and relaxing chill-out spot (plenty of hammocks and beanbags).

All-inclusive was okay, but there was sort of a time gap after lunch hours: only option was to have pancakes at Navigator. We loved the cocktails and of course (the best!) cappucinos from Kevin at the Planteur bar! Kevin made sure we always had our glasses filled, thank you.

There are 2 a la carte restaurants: Navigator (beautiful views!) and Serenata (Italian food). Make sure you book in advance. Daily buffet at Frangipanier was nice, especially enjoyed the curry. For kids there's plenty of choice as well from the buffet, and at the a la carte restaurants there was a kids menu.

Animation team was nice, we enjoyed the shows at night.

And last but not least: a special thanks to Soobeeraj (Soobi)! He is such a lovely person, our daughter loved his jokes. Soobi, you made our stay unforgettable. Big hug from our little princess Caitlin!

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms with Ocean View are really worth the extra price
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonnier B, Directeur général at Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Good Morning Danielle. We are indeed very grateful to you for this comprehensive review after ‘excellent stay’ at Canonnier Beachcomber. We have taken much pleasure to offer you and your family the best we could and we are so happy to learn that you enjoyed this ‘excellent experience.’ Actually, our treasure is our people and everyone working on the resort pays a true homage to our beautiful location and our quality offers. This is the edge we always want to have: to bless our guests with the utmost care and attention at all times. Thank you for highlighting the work of our able gardeners who spare no efforts to upkeep our ‘lush garden’. Ware happy to learn that your ‘little princess Caitlin’ had a fun time during this family vacation. We send her our huge hug too. Kindest regards.
Kervyn. General Manager. gm.ca@beachcomber.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews