We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland”
Review of Elmhirst's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmhirst's Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Owners went above and beyond to create a once in a lifetime gathering for 27 women. The conservatory was the hub for socializing and activities but the winter wonderland grounds(and lake) were the highlight in affirming why we live in Southwestern Ontario. Great to have the casual relaxation of the welcoming cottages yet the opportunity to treat oneself to sumptuous meals and spa treatments.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, General Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thanks to you and also to "LOVEfoodLOVEwine" for such a warm and heartfelt posting. We felt honoured to have the opportunity to host such a fabulous occasion. It reminds one of all the reasons one loves the hospitality business to be amongst guests who are so genuinely happy to be together. Congratulations to you once again on your birthday and for having so many exceptional friends to share it with. We are so very happy the occasion was what you were hoping for.

Best wishes for many more happy times with your friends.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    55
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
41
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Just had a WONDERFUL weekend at Elmhirst's celebrating a dear friend's birthday. Could not have been better. The food and service was fantastic, Martina's massage at the SPA was incredible. A beautiful setting, and a winter wonderland. Sunday Brunch is not to be missed!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEfoodLOVEwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I celebrated my 60th birthday with 26 girlfriends this past weekend at Elmhirst Resort ..... OMG .... it couldn't have been ANY better! Anne and her team anticipated everything my guests and myself could possibly want .... right down to a picture perfect winters' day (especially difficult to pull off this year!). We enjoyed fabulous spa treatments, delicious food (OMG the food), such comfortable beds in all our cozy cottages, and great fun on our scavenger hunt (not competitive at all) ..... horse drawn sleigh rides beside a picture perfect Rice Lake near sundown. Having our own common room for our own planned activities worked so well in the Conservatory too! Many many thanks to Peter and Anne and all the wonderful staff at Elmhirst's Resort for helping to make my birthday extra special for all of us!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, General Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
1000 pardons, I thought I was addressing the guest of honour with the response to Laurel M's posting (I thought a nom de plume perhaps....). Once again it was a wonderful event to be a part of and we feel honoured by the opportunity. Best wishes for many more good times with your friends. My Grandma always said if you have one true friend you have lived well; you have clearly lived very well indeed....Congratulations and many happy returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you are considering a family friendly resort, a weekend getaway for two, a girls weekend or a spa getaway that offers full spa treatments and services, exercise room, sauna, indoor/outdoor pool and games room. Here you'll find excellent cuisine in both the restaurant that overlooks Rice Lake or the pub, consider the Elmhirst family at Elmhirst's Resort. The Sunday brunch is outstanding! This family resort is situated just outside Peterborough on some 200+ acres where you will enjoy home grown angus beef, free range eggs and meet the sweetest horses (also available for trail rides). Family owned and operated all the staff are considered family to the Elmhirst's and that includes their guests. Come just once and you'll know what I'm talking about. Open year round this resort has plenty to offer in all seasons.

Room Tip: All of the cottages have full bathrooms, 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms, kitchens are full size kitchens with fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queeniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, General Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Elmhirst's. I means a great deal to us when guests notice all the attributes of the resort and it makes a good impression. And thanks as well for noticing the "family touch" we try and put on the property. Most of the family members on the Elmhirst's team live right on site and try to share their love for the place with the guests. Practically all the staff live close by and are like neighbours. We appreciate your support and confidence; we think we offer a good experience but its uplifting and confidence inspiring to hear when guests notice.

Can't wait to see you back at Rice Lake soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our family spent the Thanksgiving long weekend at Elmhirst resort and we’ve had an excellent stay. We have got a cottage with two bedrooms, king size beds and two bathrooms, one with shower the other with Jacuzzi tub. The kitchen was fully equipped, including even a small dishwasher. The cottage also had flat screen TV and DVD player, free internet - each cottage has its own WiFi router. There was also a fireplace and wood was supplied. Everything worked well for us with few minor exceptions like one toilet tank continuously running or BBQ ignition not working but we were able to deal whit these ourselves. All cottages are close to water edge and the view is gorgeous. There are lots of activities available but we wanted to relax so we’ve only rented the pontoon boat and spent a peaceful afternoon on the lake. We did not use the restaurant but we’ve only heard good thing about the food. The staff is friendly and helpful, I have to mention Wilma at the front desk who makes you feel welcome from the first minute there. Overall we had a wonderful long weekend and strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank r_crusoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyclist0093, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback about your Thanksgiving stay. We were certainly blessed with a wonderful weekend which always helps people enjoy the property that much more. I think the fall colours were also at their peak that weekend; a real postcard worthy time. It was a great call to get a little boating in. Wilma was thrilled to be mentioned by name in your review and we are fortunate to have an ambassador like her.

Thanks again for joining us and we will look forward (especially Wilma) to seeing you again soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
23.3 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
101 reviews
19.6 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,525 reviews
16.0 km away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
359 reviews
38.6 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
35.2 km away
Viamede Resort
Viamede Resort
#1 of 1 in North Kawartha
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmhirst's Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhirst's Resort

Property: Elmhirst's Resort
Address: 1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Otonabee-South Monaghan > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,375 - ₹ 26,103
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhirst's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside cottage resort open year round. Fully equipped cottages with fireplace, kitchen, TV & DVD, wifi in cottage; BBQ deck & dock. Dining room & Pub on site; indoor & outdoor pools; boat & motor rentals; fishing guides; golf next door; tennis; sightseeing flights; horseback riding; walking & biking trails. Massages & Spa services. Guided ATV & snowmobile safaris; wine tasting & farm visits. Ideal for family vacations, getaways, weddings, groups & corporate meetings. Family owned & operated. Catering to international guests. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Elmhirst's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhirst`s Hotel Keene
Elmhirsts Hotel Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing