We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect romantic escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pipers Cottage

Cosy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy cottage
Hot tub! Large garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Cosy cottage
Hot tub!
Large garden
Breathtaking view
Bedroom
Stunning in the snow
Log burning fire
Garden with hot tub summer house
Lounge
Entrance Driveway
Kitchen
Twin Gallery Bedroom
Welcome Stone
Lounge
Garden in the snow
One of the stunning views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
d1dolan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic escape”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My husband and I stayed at Piper's cottage for our wedding anniversary, and loved it. The weather was beautiful and we really enjoyed the grounds with the fire pit, bbq and tyre swing! The cottage has everything you need and the open fire is wonderful and cosy. The hot tub was welcomed after mountain biking at Laggan Wolftrax, which is literally 5mins in the car from the cottage. The location is beautiful, and the privacy perfect. Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleycar...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2017.
The location is stunning and the whole time was fantastic .... fulfilled the doctors orders for a complete chill out and perfect get away.
The hot tub is a fantastic way to feel like you are in a luxury resort but the secluded area and cottage location is ideal.
We will be looking at returning to pipers cottage soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan F
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic highland cottage”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Have visited this lovely cottage twice in the last two years, it is located in very remote and beautiful surroundings and makes for the perfect place for a romantic getaway.
Firstly, the owner is extremely helpful and efficient in responding to queries.

The small cottage has a log-fire that warms the entire downstairs of the property however it appears that it is your luck whether the property is stocked fully with logs, fire-starters, matches and kindling - there is a small supermarket not far away for supplies.

There are extremely steep stairs within the property and as previously noted, those with mobility issues may struggle to ascend/descend them. Similarly they may not be suitable for having children around.

The highlight of the property is the hot tub and the mounted TV within the small cabin next to the property - very easy to start/set up and it is the perfect way to enjoy your beautiful surroundings.

There are many great activities surrounding the cottage only a reasonable drive away, similarly there are restaurants, pubs and cafes in the surrounding areas.

The property is well furnished with wifi, a well-stocked kitchen and plenty of DVD's, tv channels and games should you no longer be exploring the outside!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global739...
1 review
“Lovely romantic little holiday cottage”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This is a lovely little cottage located in beautiful surroundings which is perfect for couples wishing a romantic break.

The log fire and hot tub were just what we wanted and the cottage provides a perfect base for road trips to places further afield (such as Aviemore, Inverness or Fort William). There is Sky, wifi, dvds and some games to keep you entertained by the fire. As an unexpected bonus there is also a tv in the summer house and there is a BBQ if you get the weather for it. The cottage is situated just off the main road however given it's location you would not know the road was there and we never heard any traffic.

The cottage is well furnished and the kitchen is perfect for what you need for a your stay. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants in the various towns nearby if you fancy eating out. I would suggest calling before you decide to go though as my girlfriend and I went out on Sunday afternoon to find the first 2 places we wanted to try were both shut despite being advised online that they should be open.

As with others who have reviewed the property I can confirm that the steps to the bedroom are quite steep and consequently may not be suitable for those with mobility issues or young children. As you might expect from the pictures there is a bit of a height issue in the bedrooms and bathroom so you do need to watch how you get in an out of the beds.

I emailed the owner with a number of queries in the run up to my stay and he was very helpful and responded very quickly.

I would definitely recommend the property and hope that we will get the chance to come back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser74...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Highland Getaway!”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Stayed at the lovely and secluded Piper’s Cottage for 4 nights with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it! Really cosy and just the right size for us. Fully equipped kitchen meant we could make dinner every night and eat in front of the open fire in the living area (fold away table also provided which was a lovely bonus!). The Hot Tub was amazing to say the least and such a luxury to have! Decent location with only a 30 min drive to Aviemore where there’s lots to do and see. Only thing I would say is that it may be difficult for people with any mobility issues to go up and down the stairs to the bedroom as they are a bit steep, but there is a sofa bed downstairs as an alternative. Great facilities overall and would definitely recommend! Thank you for our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing