We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”

Review of Glentruim Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glentruim Castle is beautiful whatever the season
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Glentruim Castle is beautiful whatever the season
The newly built Orangery offers a fantastic space for celebrations
Relax in the elegant and inviting Drawing Room
Be enveloped by the warm, cosy atmosphere of the Smoking Room
Enjoy dining with family and friends in the lovely Dining Room
Make an entrance as you sweep down the beautiful staircase
At the end of day, enjoy a drink from the bar
The stunning new kitchen is a fantastic space for family meals and great conversations
Sleep like a king in the glorious four poster in the Master Suite
Bath like a queen in the enormous Master En Suite
Sweet dreams in the Princes Room
Double aspect windows provide stunning views in the Tower Room
The Yellow Bedroom is a warm and cosy bedroom
Showering is a pleasure in the huge walk in shower room en-suite in the Yellow Room en suite
A great nights sleep is to be had in the Servants Room
relax in the bath and enjoy the stunning mountain views
Two small double beds mean this twin room can accommodate a various combinations of guests
The Army Room en-suite
Work out in the gym!
Relax and be pampered in our Beauty Treatment  Room
Enjoy bathing in the hot tub on the front patio(hire can be arranged)
Why not dine out at the fantastic picnic area on the estate?
And enjoy the stuning views from the Picnic Area
Wander the paths around the estate
Sample a malt whisky at Dalwhinnie Distillery only 9 miles away
The Cairngorm and Monadhliath Mountains are on the doorstep
There are lots of short local drives to beautiful locations
Take in the views in the beautiful local area
Ruthven Barracks is just a short drive away
Red deer on the surrounding hills
Loch Laggan is several miles along the road
Dalwhinnie Distillery is on the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
8 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
John C
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Glentruim Castle in stunning late May sunshine was the venue for our daughter's wedding... and what a venue! Perfect... there's no other word for it, just perfect.

All our guests, many of whom had never visited the Highlands previously, were completely blown-away by Glentruim... the castle, the estate, the scenery and of course Deidre's & Ackie's amazing 'nothing is too much trouble' hospitality.

Right from the start, Deirdre and Ackie were incredibly helpful. Calm, collected and expert, they helped us ensure that every last detail of the 'big day' was planned and delivered brilliantly. They really couldn't have been more helpful.

A fairytale venue delivering real-world excellence... perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are thrilled that everything was perfect for your daughter's wedding, and that the amazing weather added to the entire event. The Big Day was a beautiful fairytale from start to finish.
Hopefuly we might welcome you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daviddevo...
Stamford
1 review
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Glentrium is a perfect house in a magical setting. The views are breathtaking and the standard of accommodation is extremely high. Dierdre and Ackie could not be more helpful. They manage to combine being extremely efficient with creating a really friendly and welcoming tone to the whole stay.
The house, the setting, the warm welcome, the attention to detail, the high standards all combined to create an outstanding wedding weekend and stay.
A huge thank you to Dierdre and Ackie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Glentruim Estate, and we are delighted that you found the property, and the wedding weekend, to be outstanding in every way. We delight in welcoming guests to this beautiful place, and hopefully enticing them back again in the future.
Kind regards
Deirdre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l0ttieswi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical week in a magical venue!”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at Glentrium for a very special wedding weekend and could not be more complementary. Glentrium is an absolutely beautiful house in an idyllic location. It combines all of the comforts of home with the magical scenery of a fairytale. Deidre and the team were all so welcoming and professional and made our stay even more special. As well as enjoying all that Glentrium has to offer, we explored the local area and found that there was something to offer for all ages and interests. Overall, it's the perfect holiday destination for large groups of families and friends. We certainly made many unforgettable memories! Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2018
Thank you for your magical review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Glentruim, and hopefully we will welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callum W
1 review
“Whyte Wedding - Dream Come True”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Where to start?
Everything about Glentruim is absolutely perfect! My fianće and I hired the venue over 3 nights for our wedding. Both the castle and its grounds could not be more idyllic and the staff were 5* quality. The manager, Deirdre was always on hand to solve any issues - including when our coach company cancelled the night before the wedding! (white wedding are gorgeous but can come at a price!). Rest assured, everything worked out absolutely perfectly. All of our guests agreed it was the most magical wedding they'd been to.

Thank you again Glentruim for giving us the happiest day of our lives!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
It was a great pleasure to host your beautiful winter wedding, and we are so glad that, despite the issues the weather threw up, you still had the wedding of your dreams.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lidiascot...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Dream come true.”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We held our wedding celebrations at Glentruim Estate in Summer 2017 and are simply filled with the warmest memories of our stay and our Wedding Day. The estate managers/hosts Deirdre and Alec completely facilitated the Wedding of our wildest dreams and all the special moments that happened there for us throughout the week. We won't ever be able to thank them enough and we really feel like a part of the Glentruim ‘family’!

We hired out the entire estate for the week to facilitate having all of our closest friends and family stay with us and it was truly amazing. The estate felt like our own little place in the world and made for a very relaxing lead up to the wedding day. Would highly recommend a whole week stay.

The level of effort that all of the staff at Glentruim put in was outstanding and the attention to detail not only on the wedding day but during our whole stay at Glentruim was first class. The managers and staff truly went above and beyond our expectations and it was an absolute pleasure to go through this process with them, from the first enquiry email to Deirdre to saying goodbye on the last day. Glentruim will always have a special place in our hearts and our wedding memories. This is a first class location, in a beautiful part of Scotland and it simply does not get any better than this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that your stay at Glentruim was everything you could have wished for for such a special occasion as your wedding, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing