We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lauren & Billy's wedding”

Review of Glentruim Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glentruim Castle is beautiful whatever the season
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Glentruim Castle is beautiful whatever the season
The newly built Orangery offers a fantastic space for celebrations
Relax in the elegant and inviting Drawing Room
Be enveloped by the warm, cosy atmosphere of the Smoking Room
Enjoy dining with family and friends in the lovely Dining Room
Make an entrance as you sweep down the beautiful staircase
At the end of day, enjoy a drink from the bar
The stunning new kitchen is a fantastic space for family meals and great conversations
Sleep like a king in the glorious four poster in the Master Suite
Bath like a queen in the enormous Master En Suite
Sweet dreams in the Princes Room
Double aspect windows provide stunning views in the Tower Room
The Yellow Bedroom is a warm and cosy bedroom
Showering is a pleasure in the huge walk in shower room en-suite in the Yellow Room en suite
A great nights sleep is to be had in the Servants Room
relax in the bath and enjoy the stunning mountain views
Two small double beds mean this twin room can accommodate a various combinations of guests
The Army Room en-suite
Work out in the gym!
Relax and be pampered in our Beauty Treatment  Room
Enjoy bathing in the hot tub on the front patio(hire can be arranged)
Why not dine out at the fantastic picnic area on the estate?
And enjoy the stuning views from the Picnic Area
Wander the paths around the estate
Sample a malt whisky at Dalwhinnie Distillery only 9 miles away
The Cairngorm and Monadhliath Mountains are on the doorstep
There are lots of short local drives to beautiful locations
Take in the views in the beautiful local area
Ruthven Barracks is just a short drive away
Red deer on the surrounding hills
Loch Laggan is several miles along the road
Dalwhinnie Distillery is on the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
8 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Shirley R
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lauren & Billy's wedding”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Glentruim was beyond everything we expected of it. We viewed it a year previously at the beginning of the refurbishment and believed in Deirde's vision - she didn't let us down!
The viewpoint is breath taking but sadly the weather let us down and the the bride & groom were unable to say 'i do' there, they planted a cherry tree there to mark the date they married. We will return lots of times to see it grow.
Glentruim should be on everyone's bucket list!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
It was an honour to be chosen as the venue for Lauren and Billy's wedding in May,and we are thrilled that the estate lived up to all of your expectations. It really was the most beautiful of occasions and we are so proud to have played a role in making it a very special day for you, and for forging new friendships and help creating treasured memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorvernSh...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“The one and only place we could imagine getting married and perfect in every way”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were back again this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary 3 years on from our amazing day in the stunning surroundings of Glentruim and once again were blessed with the most wonderful snow and the brilliant comforts of the cottages.
We have stayed at Glentruim in all of the cottages and the castle on the estate over several years and each is as lovely as the next in their own unique little ways. So when it came to planning our wedding Glentruim was the only place we wanted it to be. The whole estate and castle itself is simply magical and Deirdre, the estate manager could not have been more welcoming or helpful on any of our visits to both stay for holidays or when we popped up to run through details for our big day.
In 2011 we had the most magical day for our wedding with just a perfect amount of snow on the ground and every last detail was taken care of by Deirdre and her team so that we could simply enjoy our special day. We booked the whole estate for the full weekend to make it a perfect family weekend of celebrations and everyone commented on how beautiful the surroundings were, from the amazing castle interiors, cosy fires and wonderful cinema room to the beautiful surroundings, walks right on your doorstep and amazing wildlife Glentruim is now known in our family as the most magical of places, we have celebrated all of our wedding anniversaries and our first holiday since as a little family and we will be back for many years to come.
We simply can't recommend Glentruim highly enough for anyone planning their wedding or for a wonderful family holiday. I think the biggest compliment for how brilliant it is is that when my sister was planning her wedding nearly 2 years after ours there was no question that she too would want to get married at Glentruim and Deirdre once again went above and beyond to help our family to host another amazing weekend and seeing all of the amazing renovation work that has taken place over the last year made both of us wish that we could have our special days all over again in the most amazing of places :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful welcome, amazing surroundings and beautiful yet homely cottages and castle
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bona fide 5 stars”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Bona fide 5 stars. Wonderful stay. Lodge was charming but also very comfortable, clean and high end, for self catering. Friendly and helpful people who made us feel very welcome. Fishing on the river (Spey) was a dream come true for our 6 year old, so the loan of the fishing rods was a real gift. Our 2 year old had so much fun sledging. We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you and your lovely family, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Glentruim Estate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Glentruim Gate Lodge winter wonderland - wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Glentruim Gate Lodge was wonderfully presented in its snowy landscape for the perfectly relaxing, winter-wonderland break. Lovely to have some snow before Christmas. The Estate Manager's welcome and attention to detail was fantastic, the cottage was beautifully decorated with a pretty Christmas Tree, and everything one could possibly need is provided. Quaint kitchen area with all mod cons, great log burner in sitting room, dining area. Lots of fluffy towels in bathroom, wonderful hot power shower, deep bath and very warm, no draughts and generous with central heating (thank you!), and a very comfortable bed Log store and good parking area. Lovely walks in main house grounds with snow 1' deep in some areas. Interesting developments at the old shooting lodge house, with a large orangery added recently, a new kitchen and refurbishment throughout (we visited and stayed here 4 years ago). We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again, thank you Dierdre, for making our stay at Glentrium so great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good value, fabulous location
Liked least: Changes to the old shooting lodge, not sure about these
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard G
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was the most fabulous house in an outstanding location. Every aspect of our stay was above expectations .

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space in the property was brilliant for a large party without being overwhelming
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that we more than fulfilled your expectations, and would love to welcome you back to an even more spectacular Glentruim Estate once the refurbishment is complete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing