We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A REAL GEM”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David T
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this purpose built property which looks like a signal box. Trains run approximately hourly through the day - we did not find them intrusive. There are commercial properties adjacent, presumably in the former goods yard, but the views are across fields to the hills beyond. Heaven. Ideal for walking and wildlife watching. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona M
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We have found our little piece of heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had our 3rd trip to the Signal Box and again we had a lovely relaxing break. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, cosy and clean. Everything you could need or want has been thought of. The welcome chocolate cake is sublime and the sauna a real treat after a day out.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderobo
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High quality in the highlands”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to spend a week. The views of the mountains are stunning. The trains are interesting, and not at all bothersome. The furnishings are tasteful and comfortable. The log fire (and sauna) are warming. Beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the location.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven.....”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the greatest holidays that we have ever been on. From Isla's warm welcome to the chocolate cake that waited for us on arrival, everything was perfect. The Signalbox is clean, spacious and set in beautiful countryside. We never tired of looking out the windows at The Cairngorms. Our 18 month old son loved the trains that stopped or passed through the station and was in his element exploring the cottage. There is plenty to explore on your doorstep with the Highland Folk Museum about 25-30 minutes walk away and Aviemore a short drive of 10-15 minutes. Further afield, we visited Inverness, Ben Nevis, the Wildlife Park at Kingussie and the nearby Inshriach Nursery that makes amazing cakes. Wonderful, hope to pop back sooner rather than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & people
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing