We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take ear plugs with you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take ear plugs with you”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have just returned from the hotel where a friend and I stayed and the week in the hotel was dreadful. The noise during the night was bad all this was on the 3rd floor. We went on a coach trip so were exhausted when we arrived there was a football team of German teenagers who were running the corridors banging on doors until 3 or 4 am we did complain but nothing was done. We had a room on the street side of the hotel and that did not help 1.30 in the morning we would hear the bottle collectors coming passed emptying the rubish, then 5 am the road sweeper. The noise was dreadful and to be honest we were glad to get home for a good night sleep. The food is not too good plenty of choice if you like pasta pig or fish (do not know what fish it was), chips were plentyful, the puddings were the best to eat. There are no tea making facilities in the room so take a travel kettle, also no air conditioning as standard you have to pay for it and be ripped off. Local shops are cheap if you barter, The train station outdside is very quiet and no problem with noise from there and it is good for getting around and very reasonably priced. Our holiday was good value for money and I do realise you only get what you pay for so bear this in mind. We would not go back and just put it down to experience

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jms71050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    202
    210
    127
    129
See reviews for
282
291
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just returned from a very good week at Sorra D'or hotel and had a very good time Hotel is very nice well set out and clean booking in was easy rooms are small but clean we had a pool view was nice hotel was full and busy when we were there the staff where all very nice and hard working food was good limited choice but there was plenty always ate well ( but no fried eggs as everyone has said ) there plenty of other things staff are cleaning tables all the time for what we paid it was just right nice sitting out area facing the square very good to people watch all in all a good holiday good hotel shops just up the road railway station next door

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

just back from Hotel Sorra D'or last night( Sunday 3rd June),its 3* and that is about right,No complaints bout the staff,the dining room staff are incredibly hard working,the bar staff are top notch,they serve people in turn and don't allow q jumpers, but the real star is Raphael the night-shift dude on reception (he dont suffer fools or noisy folk gladly!)the food is exactly what you would expect from a 3*,loads o choice,but they are catering for 100's,so it aint the Ritz,(wheres the fried eggs!,there were lots of youngsters there for a footy tournament,so if you want a quiet time ,well you know the rest.
The train station is next door,you can get trains up to Barcelona(takes bout 1hr 20),and are clean and spacious ,a day trip up there is great,it's a wonderful city,get the official tourist bus and you can go right round the city,buy a ticket at the station and you get return journey and trip round city for 24E(last train back is 22.59),the beach is'nt great,but when your sunbathing at 19.30 ,who cares,.if your looking for a cheap holiday with no pretences,then this is for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed with a friend between 20th-27th May 2012. Paid around £200 for the hotel itself which represented good value for money for an all inclusive option and also no single room supplement (each had separate rooms). Expectations of the hotel was of somewhere cheap to stay and also convenient for exploring towns along the Costa Brava as well as for travelling into Barcelona.

I was allocated a fifth floor room which I can't really fault in any way and had good views across the town. Room also looked like it was intended for disabled guests so the bathroom was huge, perhaps one of the largest I've ever had! Housekeeping was also done daily although did find that the floor could have been a wee bit cleaner (feet got a bit dirty if walking on it barefoot). Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable. One problem I did find is that there seems to be a lack of decent sound-proofing so you can hear other doors slam and some noise from other rooms. Friend also had a room near to the lift which could be heard (although did quieten down after 11pm)

I did notice that rooms below us looked onto rooms the other side (hotel is arranged in a courtyard style with the swimming pool in the middle) so that might not be ideal. Otherwise there is the option to opt for superior rooms which overlook the beachfront.

The swimming pool is a good size although you do need to catch it at the right time of day. As its in a court-yard type area some parts of it can be shady during certain times of the day and hence not that warm.

The food on offer is ok although could do with more variety. Also as noted by some other reviews on here I also found it warm and not that hot and also the pasta was slightly underdone. Having said that there is enough to keep you going through the week I found. Range of drink on offer was good and the Estrella beer was nice. The hotel also has a pleasant seating area which looks onto a small square and the coffee served was very good.

Service in the hotel I generally found to be ok. Head waiter at meal times was polite and friendly although some of the other staff did look a bit demoralised. The hotel does seem to attract a few rude guests though with no manners so I can understand why.

Evening entertainment is a bit on the limited side and really only consists of music being played on a sound-system in the bar. Generally people seemed to get as many free drinks as they could before 11 (on the all inclusive option) and then it all goes quiet after that as people disappear!

Location of the hotel is good as it is within easy distance to explore the old part of town and also for along the sea-front with its many tourist-tat souvenir shops! Beach is also right in-front of the hotel as well as the train station. I didn't find any problem with noise from trains. As for travelling into Barcelona, the train is cheap (8.60 euros) although does take quite a long time (about 1 hour 10 minutes). Is definately worth it though as I thought Barcelona was a lovely city and well worth the visit.

To conclude, I found that the hotel offered good value for money. Yes, there were a few niggles, but nothing that would majorly put me off staying there. Possibly I would look elsewhere for next time though as once the immediate area has been explored there isn't a great deal to see there and also Barcelona itself takes a while to travel into.

Room Tip: Room on the 5th floor if facing the court-yard type area (views over town) otherwise Superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
se,london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

stayed here in may for a week the weather was cold but the hotel was good it was full all the time even spanish stayed here so it cant be to bad the food was edible there is a micro wave so you need it sometimes , all the staff were ok, right next to the station 1 hr to barcelona 8 euros rtn,good for shopping if you want the normal tat , would go back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.5 km away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
885 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
359 reviews
1.1 km away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
797 reviews
0.5 km away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Ad...
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
94 reviews
1.4 km away
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#8 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel

Property: Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Address: Passeig de Llevant 1-5, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,556 - ₹ 13,645
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malgrat De Mar
Sorra d Or Hotel
Hotel Sorra d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing