We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Character”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charm and Character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

A delightful small hotel in the centre of the spectacular village of Gaucin.Tasteful restoration has included antique and original features to create an ambience of old-fashioned charm and character. From its 600m vantage point, views towards Gibraltar and Morocco - both clearly visible most days - are breath-taking.

If you like lots of plate glass and stainless steel, or to be endlessly fussed over by staff, this may not be for you. But then you probably won't have thought of coming to Gaucin. Owner Luiz is very friendly and welcoming. He also runs a gift/antique shop nearby (worth a visit too) so is often out of the hotel. But he is always available on the phone, speaks good English and is invariably helpful.

While the mountain location ensures there is often a breeze, there is no air-conditioning, nor did our room have a fan, so sleeping in mid-July was not entirely comfortable - the only negative for us.

La Fructosa is `room only' accommodation, so you need to seek brekfast at one of the nearby cafes or restaurants, which aren't always open before 10am. The hotel does, however, serve dinner at the weekends. The cuisine enjoys a justifiably high reputation locally, so booking is essential. We enjoyed a fantastic meal, easily the best of our holiday - it's a bit more expensive than the typical tapas bar, but in a different class altogether, and still decent value by UK standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
125
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

beautiful room and very nice view BUT very warm, no air conditioning at all, even not a fan. The bed was uncomfortable and the service non-existant....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesusgaucin, Propietario at La Fructuosa, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
First, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for expressing your opinion in order to help us improve. In fact, our hotel does not have air conditioning, information that normally it is possible to see in all the web sites where is our hotel. However, there are floor fans available to our clients who request them. Please forgive our error in not informing you of this possibility when you arrived.
As our hotel is very small, with only five rooms, it would make the hotel much more expensive to have someone there each afternoon. However, we always inform our guests that we may be reached at any hour by the mobil phone at the reception desk or at our antique shop, which is very close to the hotel.
We regret very much that we were not sufficiently clear on these details on the day of your arrival. We hope that you will give us a second chance.
One other thing: This is the first time that someone has complained about the comfort of the mattresses. Would it be possible for you to send us an e-mail to our address, lafructuosa@yahoo.es , telling us which room you were in so that we may improve our service.
Again, thank you for having chosen us. We send you greetings from Andalucía.
Jesus and Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have stayed in Gaucin on a number of occasions and eaten on the terrace of this hotel so this trip, we decided to stay the night. The hotel is small and very quirky but utterly brilliant for all that. The proprietors have a really laid back approach to hospitality but it works. The room was a delight with magnificent views to Gibraltar and beyond to North Africa - all visible whilst in the shower! Sadly, the dining room was not open that night but, knowing my wife needed a gluten free diet, Luis had booked is into a nearby restaurant and mad all the dietary arrangements. Simply brilliant but with only five rooms I was tempted not to tell anybody just how good it was in case we couldn't get in next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

You can't get better views anywhere. All the 5 rooms look out over the valley towards the south. In the distance is Gibraltar and further on, the coast of Morrocco. The rooms are large, airy and interesting. Louis is a great host and the restaurant, when open, is excellent. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights. We the room at the top of the hotel next to the roof terrace. Luckily the hotel was not busy and we had the roof terrace to ourselves it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing and had a view you would never we tired of. The room had a fridge, lovely shower and seating area a little dark in the room as the shutters were down to keep it cool but we spent much of our time on the terrace anyway. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and cake and that was served on the lower terrace with views over the valley.

We ate both nights in the hotel, the food was great they had a regular menu and nightly specials. We really enjoyed our meals and the staff are very friendly and caring. Our room was recently featured in a local magazine which the hotel owner Luis proudly showed us. He bought the hotel years ago and did it up himself, he has done a fine job.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpuss_zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
4.6 km away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
31.5 km away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
20.5 km away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manilva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Property: La Fructuosa
Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,888 - ₹ 6,869
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing