We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Comba(Moura)(Great Value!)
US$ 54
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Passagem do Sol(Moura)(Great Value!)
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
73
104
38
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
104
38
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful buildingold buildingcharming hotelfirst floorbreakfast roomone nightnatural lightsmall poolno liftorange treeshidden gemformer conventmain sightsfurnituregardenwificountryside
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

A grand old building, tastefully modernised and ideal for a short off season stay to enjoy Moura. Plenty of parking both in the street in front or in a large unmetalled carpark space behind with direct if unsecured access to the hotel. Reception staff helpful and friendly. No lift but only one floor up and a long corridor above the beautiful courtyard.
The room was huge, large comfortable bed. Only drawback was the individual reverse cycle Air conditioning unit, which was old and kept coming in and out like a rheumatic symphony Orchestra all night, and was positioned above one side of the bed, blowing directly down.
Water was hot and good pressure in the modernised bathroom, but no shower cabinet but over the bathtub. My wife was not impressed with the 100W built in hairdryer. This should be upgraded.
The breakfast room was light and airy with a wonderful relief plastered ceiling. Bread fruit and pastries were more than enough, but the coffee was from a tank, so I had to go out for a real Portuguese coffee straight after.
A really nice hotel, and great value for money.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoura, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel de Moura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Mr. Paul, we would like to thank you for choosing us. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay with us, in particular the Hotel and our staff. However, regarding your references they are of most importance, in which allows us to evaluate the quality of our service, as well as, taking of measures towards continuous improvement. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and if there is something that we can do for you in your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us! Best regards, Hotel de Moura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Okay first the bad: I did the reservation pre-payment over Booking. When we arrived at the hotel the person by the reception claimed (very educated and politely) that they dint receive any payment yet. I shown the receipt, booking confirmation and payment transaction however the person didnt offer to check with booking. After checking in I had to call booking support to get this sorted out. After the situation was solved out between booking and the hotel management but I think that the establishment should be more straight forward with trying to solve this instead of waiting for the customer. (They did lend us an umbrella :) )...

Now the best: The hotel room! The BEST HOTEL ROOM ever. Check out the pictures!!! Just for the room I would give 5 stars.
The rest of the hotel is quite decent/beatiful and on the level from an old renewed palace.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoura, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel de Moura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Mr. Pedro, thank you for taking your time to share such a detailed review and for your preference in Hotel de Moura. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, in which you stayed extremely satisfied with your room. However, regarding your references deserve our biggest attention and we will take the necessary measures in order to avoid happening again. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards, Hotel de Moura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We stayed for one night on our trip around the Alentajo. Our room was failry large with a big comfortable bed, a separate sitting room and a large bathroom. Only issue was the complete lack of natural light in the bedroom . This was OK for one night however not for any longer. Some natural light did get into the sitting room however the view was of a wall. Room itself was very modern, clean and comfortable and for the price we paid including breakfast it was a steal. Room had Tv, WiFi, Fridge and aircon which was needed.No issues with room (other than lack of light).
Welcome was wonderful and the reception area opens up towards an old and impressive central stairway. There are numerous view points/sitting areas dotted around. There is a small bar but no food.
Hotel is old and could in parts do with a bit of money being spent on it. Large car parking area towards the rear.
Garden and pool area is however a bit of a let down. We walked through orange trees and unkept gardens to a very depressing pool area which (this was early June) would have provided a welcomed dip. We did not/could use the pool which was a shame.
Staff front of house were always cheery however some of the domestic staff appeared less welcoming.
Some tables in and around the hotel were not cleared promptly, cups left and ashtrays full which we do not appreciate.
Breakfast was served in a large dinning room which would have benefitted from some background music. Food was standard but fine.
Well located to walk into Moura.

Room Tip: Rooms will all vary. Need to have a look before committing
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoura, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel de Moura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to post such a nice review about your recent stay. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, specially our Hotel. However, we will take in consideration you references in order to provide a better service to our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and if there is something that we can do for you in your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us! Best regards, Hotel de Moura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I stayed for just one night, on a business trip, at this hotel.
Wonderful, beautiful building, with a nice roof top terrace with nice views of the Alentejo. The stairway hall is impressive, with its tower.
My room was small but I never felt any kind of lack of space. Clean and comfortable, with the air conditioning functioning right (this is important as in this region the temperature can rise to the mid 40's Celsius during the day).
Breakfast was average but it has the wonderful local bread available and also some locally produced jams and pastries.
Staff is friendly, helpful.
all in all an excellent deal.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo Sérgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoura, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel de Moura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mr. Paulo, thank you for your wonderful review and for your preference. There is nothing better to know that your experience meet your expectations We appreciate very much your kind words and we already look forward to welcome you back! Do not hesitate to contact us if there is something that we can do for you! Kind regards, Hotel de Moura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This is a wonderful building which looks as if a lot of it has been recently renovated. I understand from the reception that they may start doing meals next year but that many things have been done recently. It is a great place to stay, really beautiful. The only thing which brought our score down from excellent was the odd arrangement for the toilet and shower facilities in our room which were either side of a floor length window overlooking the main street with no privacy curtain only thick ones so that you couldn't have any natural light in at the same time as having a shower, or only if you wanted to risk horrifying locals with some interesting sights! Apart from this and breakfast not being great it was a wonderful place to stay with the added bonus of a small pool through an orange orchard to even some free oranges!

Room Tip: ask for one with a toilet area away from a floor length window!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMoura, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Hotel de Moura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your preference and for sharing your great review. We are so glad to read that found our Hotel great to spend your time with us and the service provide by our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards, Hotel de Moura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews