We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cooking vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Certificate of Excellence
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
“cooking vacation”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel as part of a cooking class that was organised by a organisation called Cooking Vacations. The hotel itself was quite okay but I am not sure what the rates are to just stay there as a normal paying guest and whether is is good value in that respect. I had a package deal which included cooking classes and meals. I was disappointed in the meals as we only could choose from a menu that really didn't change for the 6 days I was there and so the food became boring in the end. This trip worked out too be about 500.00 US per day and I really couldn't see the value. The cooking lessons ended up being a bit farsical as the chef, who was the cooking instructor wasn't there for the second 2 days of lessons. The cooking classes were way too basic and really just a waste of time. I was very disappointed. When I contacted Cooking Vacations on my return to Australia, they were unhelpful and uninterested in the problems that I encountered. I would not recommend doing any holiday arrangements with this organisation. They get you to sign all this stuff before you go which states you have to contact them from the hotel, at the time of any problems, which is not really an ideal thing to be doing, especially when you are trying to make the best of things. As for the hotel as a stand alone destination. It is in a lovely area that I hadn't travelled to before in the Maremma region of Tuscany. Depending on the actual stand alone rates it is probably a reasonable place to stay. The staff were certainly considerate and friendly. There is a day spa connected to the hotel and the rates for treatments seemed reasonable, although I didn't have any of their treatments. There is also a riding school attached to the hotel which I probably would have been interested in but the riding was only in the mornings at the same time as the cooking classes.
I would probably recommend this hotel to friends but I would definately not recommend and holiday organised by Cooking Vacations!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    253
    60
    17
    13
See reviews for
92
366
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marina di Campo
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Very friendly and efficient services. Beautiful location with a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. Excellent food. We will be back. Thankyou
302CDLI

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesareditel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We spend a pleasant week in one of the apartments in Borgo degli Ulivi.
Nice view, nice staff etc

But..
- the kitchen "area" (if you can call it like that) was really small.
- the bed in the living room incomfortable - my daughter had some problem sleeping on it.
- But the worst thing were the insects.. especially near the pool (I think it was due to the horses..).
- the prices in the restaurants a little too high. Very small portions (during the day in the bar at the swimmingpool) . It's a pity beacause the food is really good

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marghe_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is an excellent place. We had a room with a balcony, looking out over the valley. It was beautiful. The restaurant was excellent as was the service. Were we to be in the area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed in the apartments beside the hotel. They are lovely, clean, and very suitable for us as we have 3 children under 10. They have 2 pools and also horseriding on site which my daugher did every morning. I will definitely go back there. The village of scansano isnt great.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scansano
15.4 km away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
800 reviews
9.3 km away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
339 reviews
28.7 km away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
33.4 km away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
301 reviews
36.4 km away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano

Property: Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Address: Localita Castagneta SNC, 58054, Scansano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Scansano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scansano
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,162 - ₹ 40,645
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embedded in a fascinating countryside and close to the old village of Maremma, you will be guest of the four star Resort Antico Casale di Scansano, which emerged from the restoration of an ancient farm, in Tuscany. In the hotel, the spa is based on the oriental ideal of harmony between body and mind. You can discover the secrets of Maremman cuisine (the resort offers also cookery course), while enjoying an unforgettable horseback riding adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antico Casale Di Scansano
Hotel Resort Antico Casale Di Scansano Province Of Grosseto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing