We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Vill San Pietro - San Giovanni Rptondo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pietro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Nice clean room, friendly staff, Thin "sheet like" towels... have to adjust to the "new" feel.... Minimal breakfast with no rolls or bread, good coffee. Free WiFi. Small TV in the room, not all channels you see at the lobby are available in the room. Lots of free parking area. Good place to start trips to the area down to Bari, Alberobello etc.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Uzi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were here only one night, but it was a very nice place. Nice room with comfortable beds and clean. Most people come here for the St Pio Sanctuary, which is within walking distance. Staff is nice and very helpful. We ate at their restaurant, which was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LasVegasDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This hotel is very conveniently located if you come to San Giovanni by bus and your main concern in visiting the area is to visit the St. Pio Sanctuary. It is just 10 minutes walk from the bus station (downhill), so it won't really be difficult even if you have luggage. However, going back to the bus station (uphill) if you're carrying luggage will be very difficult, hence you'll need a taxi for this. As the bus station is also very near St. Pio Sanctuary, the hotel is really an ideal location for pilgrims.
The hotel itself is basic: there's not much in the room except the beds and a small table, but the room is clean and the beds comfortable. Ours is a 4-bed family room, and it's not really that cramped inside. The thing that we liked best is the bathroom; it's big and clean with a nice rain shower. The shower cubicle itself is also quite big.
The staff at the reception is varied in terms of their treatment with guests. One is accommodating while another one is a little bit cold; maybe because that other one cannot speak English well. The lady at the souvenir shop, although not speaking English as well, is especially accommodating and friendly. She even gave us a few trinkets as gifts.
The breakfast in the hotel is your average breakfast in most hotels in this region: sweet pastries, sweet croissant, coffee and juice, and nothing more. Lunch and dinner are average, and with average price as well: steak for 11 Euros and pasta for 6 Euros. In case you get thirsty at night, there's a vending machine near the reception where you can buy bottled water and some potato crisps. As the area is near St. Pio Sanctuary, restaurants and other shops can be found in the area for other food options.
One experience that got us annoyed while staying in this hotel happened when we're already leaving. As it will be difficult to carry our luggage uphill, we requested for the free shuttle to the bus station. The man at the reception said the vehicle is not available at the time as it "crashed" (we assume it got into accident). As there's no option, we rented a taxi instead. The hotel informed us that the fare is 4 Euros, but the driver took 5 Euros instead. That's not the main issue however. While at the bus station waiting for our bus, we saw the shuttle with the name "Hotel Villa San Pietro" ferrying passengers to and from the St. Pio Sanctuary. That's just sad. They could have just told us truthfully that the vehicle is busy and cannot be used for the "free" service.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rolando Jr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay here. There was a man at reception who was particularly helpful with English; he even helped us translate the menu during dinner in the restaurant. The staff was so helpful and gracious.

Rooms were very clean: this is not your five star hotel so furnishings are sparse and simple though dated. For us, it was the perfect place for a one night stay because we really didn't need all the frills-do any pilgrims need more than clean rooms and beautiful hospitality?

7 euros/day for parking. Just about 10 minutes walk slightly uphill to the shrine of Padre Pio. If you don't want to walk, they offer free shuttle services 9-4. Great stay!

Stayed: August 2016
2  Thank Mystique777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Home away from home!!! Villa San Pietro is highly recommended! 100% family owned & operated hotel. The rooms were decent size, very modern Italian style with marble floors and bathroom counters with elegant faucets, shower heads, bidet, etc. It has a very functional design with space saving drawers and closets.The room is well appointed. It is newly furnished with a very comfortable bed, wall mounted flatscreen TV & Free wifi.

Grandpa Pietro, was on night duty at the front desk and greeted us warmly when we arrived close to midnight. His wife, Genera headed the dining area during breakfast that came free with our booking. We learned that they have 7 children, all helping in hotel operations, 2 of whom we met, Constancio & Antonio, who shuttled us to the Chiesa di Padre Pio. Constancio's wife, Teresa is so wonderful, caring & such a multi-tasker: would be by the hotel's front desk or the gift shop & if need be, has also shuttled us back & forth to the Chiesa di Padre Pio.

We enjoyed their very healthy lunches & how Jenny & Pietro ( one of the granddaughters & grandson) took excellent care of us in the dining. We didn't get the name of their uncles who prepared, cooked / made our meals so fresh - their organic mixed greens, arugula with olives, simply tossed in oil & balsamic vinegar, sautéed fresh scallion, zucchini & funghi, pasta with homemade marinara sauce, grilled homemade Italian sausages ( so lean & yummy), brick oven pizza, etc, too many to mention since we also ordered off menu & they so graciously accommodated to make it just for us!
We've seen how their family would sit down & have breakfast & lunch together.
Even the little ones were part of the business - special mention to lil Rosa & lil Pietro who welcomed us to play with them on their junior pink + navy blue motorcycles.

Beyond 5 stars would be our rating for them! Excellent place to stay! We totally felt loved & cared for! Yes, home away from home! We'll definitely be back with more, family & friends next time! Thank you so much, Villa San Pietro!!!

- New Jerusalem prayer group: Fr. August, Bobby, Ruby & Aldrina

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aldrina829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Giovanni Rotondo hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Fini
Hotel Fini
#1 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
1,225 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#3 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
1,571 reviews
0.2 km away
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
Centro di Spiritualita Padre Pio
#2 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel degli Angeli
Grand Hotel degli Angeli
#11 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
86 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#7 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
529 reviews
0.1 km away
Ariae Hotel
Ariae Hotel
#4 of 41 in San Giovanni Rotondo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pietro

Address: Via Sibilla SNC, 71013 San Giovanni Rotondo, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > San Giovanni Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in San Giovanni Rotondo
Price Range: ₹ 2,965 - ₹ 15,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing