We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
11
15
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
15
4
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I can't say enough good things about the restaurant that they have. It is very American friendly and just a short distance to the Hahn airport. It has a great reputation with American military spouses as the place to eat while shopping in Sohren. You can't go wrong with their gourmet salad, which changes seasonally. The staff is outstanding and friendly as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We chose Hotel Schinderhannes as it was only a 10 minute drive to Hahn Airport.

We were arriving late and leaving early so we just chose somewhere cheap and we weren't expecting much. But we were pleasantly surprised that there was a lovely pub attached to the hotel and it was a great place to have a few last German beers and reminisce about our fabulous trip.

Friendly staff, plenty of parking, wifi, great breakfast and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ames L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Sohren, the village, is not exactly a tourist mecca. Wife and I visited over Easter weekend, April 2012, with the intention of spending a few nights in Zell (Mosel). Zell was covered in tourists and parking there is EXTREMELY difficult to almost impossible. We opted for Schinderhannes being nearby and familiar with it (having lived in Sohren in the late 1970s). Schinderhannes and the staff/food/service were predictably superb. The room in the "new" building was of comfortable size and impeccably clean. The beds were very good (beds across Europe can be 'iffy.') The price for food and room were competitive. Parking was ample and free. I suggest you ask for a room 'away from the street.'

Room Tip: The two-lane street nearby can be quite busy.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col_Tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My son and I spent 3 days at the Schinderhannes. It was a visit to the town where he was born 37 years ago. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was great. We had excellent internet service the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

On a 2-week European business trip, we had one day with no meetings. It was therefore critical that we spend all day working with an internet connection to arrange bookings, catch up on email etc. This hotel promised internet, but the wifi did not work. They refused to accept that it was their connection failing and tried to blame our devices. When we pointed out we had three separate devices failing to connect to the internet, all of which had worked fine in many other locations, all they could so was say "it worked yesterday" and try to imply blame on us. When invited to take our devices and show us how to log in they would not even try. Very poor customer service, no trouble shooting skill and basis lack of intelligence when dealing with these problems.
However they did let us use the hotel reception customer. Probably they had the mentality that this would solve the problem as if we just wanted to quickly check our email when actually we needed to work all day and had specifically chosen this place because they allowed refreshingly late check out and had wifi. I spent a long time on the reception computer before they finally asked us to move to another computer which did not work either and they would not/could not fix. Possibly the fact that I spent a long time on the reception computer, rather than did a quick useage, might have explained why they were so rude to us and eventually just made short replies such as they had no time to help before walking off.
For me, this hotel was a total failure although we eventually found internet in a cafe in town.
Positive points: near to Frankfurt Hahn airport, easy free parking, nice (perhaps a bit overpriced) restaurant, good rooms, nice vibe in the rooms and outdoor court. I expect many people had better experiences and I think they had just transitioned to a new internet system.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews