We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quirky little gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ellenz-Poltersdorf, Rhineland-Palatinate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
667Ann
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A quirky little gem”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Maria and Mike live on site, and nothing is too much trouble for them. The apartment itself is well equipped, very comfortable, with the added bonus of a "bed deck", the first time we have ever slept above the beams looking down into the living space. It is clearly unsuitable for anyone who has trouble with stairs, 55 we counted from the road to our bed, but the climb is well worth it. The views of the vineyards and the Mosel are wonderful, and the apartment is so quiet being one street back from the river.
Ellenz itself is a pretty village, with wineries a plenty and several restaurants. It does have a bakery but there are no shops in which to buy provisions, Cochem about 4 miles away is the nearest town with any amenities including an ATM. As most transactions are still paid for in cash this is something you need to be aware of and plan for.
The cuisine in Germany is very meat based, red and processed meat still rule. There is a limited amount of fish, but very little for vegetarians! Restaurant quality is good but simple, don't expect variety or Michelin stars!
That said, eating and of course drinking out is very good value for money, and our supermarket shop was cheaper than anywhere else we have travelled in Europe recently.
We would certainly recommend Apartment Riesling without hesitation and hope to return again oneday soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accomodation and the area
Liked least: Having to leave and come home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
essex
Reviewed 29 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davewasba...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Real magical taste of Germany”
Reviewed 22 December 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Mike and Maria were fantastic hosts. Little did we know when we booked that they used to live just a few miles away from us! Lol. The House was wonderful with a slight view of the River mosel, and the wonderful timbers of the house open to enjoy. The wine cellar was wonderful as the children played games and we sampled fantastic german wines for a fraction of the price in the UK (when you can get good German wine in the UK, which is rare).

We were there for our anniversary and the weather was so beautiful, we had a wonderful bbq in the garden where they arranges all the things we needed. It is a wonderful memory and a highlight. The town is lovely and not a tourist trap like other towns on the Mosel or Rhine, and it is a great base for exploring the Rhineland, Trier, the Mosel, Cochem and Burg Elz. Fantastic!

Beware though, you better be good with stairs, but it is worth it and a good price too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Virtually everything - but the cellar was a treat
Liked least: More comfortable furnature would have been nice.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building, location and owners. The whole package!
Liked least: Leaving - nothing else comes to mind.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing